New York Times Bestseller

A 2015 Newbery Honor Book
Going to school and making new friends can be tough. But going to school and making new friends while wearing a bulky hearing aid strapped to your chest? That requires superpowers! In this funny, poignant graphic novel memoir, author/illustrator Cece Bell chronicles her hearing loss at a young age and her subsequent experiences with the Phonic Ear, a very powerful—and very awkward—hearing aid.
The Phonic Ear gives Cece the ability to hear—sometimes things she shouldn’t—but also isolates her from her classmates. She really just wants to fit in and find a true friend, someone who appreciates her as she is. After some trouble, she is finally able to harness the power of the Phonic Ear and become “El Deafo, Listener for All.” And more importantly, declare a place for herself in the world and find the friend she’s longed for.

PRAISE FOR EL DEAFO
STARRED REVIEWS
"A standout autobiography. Someone readers will enjoy getting to know."
--Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Worthy of a superhero."
--Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"This empowering autobiographical story belongs right next to Raina Telgemeier’s Smile (2011) and Liz Prince’s Tomboy."
--Booklist
Paperback, 248 pages
Published on September 2, 2014 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 1419712179
ISBN-13: 9781419712173
58 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • gummybear10
    gummybear10Tuesday, September 12, 2017 at 6:16 pm44 stars
    I completely recommend this book to any age, I like it because it describes how life really is. it shows the natural conflict between friends, and the ability to remake and make them......
    • jaz123713
      jaz123713Monday, May 1, 2017 at 4:59 pm55 stars
      Cece Bell is a kid diagnosed with meningitis, but now she is a brave adult who isn't afraid of telling people what her story is even if it makes her look crazy. I admire those kind of people
      • bebopbasilSunday, March 19, 2017 at 2:30 pm
        it is the best could not turn away
        • basilSunday, March 19, 2017 at 2:13 pm
          so hard to turn away I can not belive her story
          • SharpieThursday, March 9, 2017 at 2:51 pm
            I really enjoyed this book. I do not normally like graphic novels I enjoyed this story. It had a good sequence and keep it myself and my friends glued to this book until we finished El Deafo. good book
            • cocoisdaboss
              cocoisdabossWednesday, March 8, 2017 at 8:48 pm
              this book is great but a bit sad
              • typo1234$$$$Monday, March 6, 2017 at 1:23 pm
                i loved reading the book
                • malWednesday, March 1, 2017 at 6:49 am
                  awesome!!!!!!!!!
                  • jenny12345678
                    jenny12345678Wednesday, March 1, 2017 at 5:34 am55 starsFeatured
                    This book is definitely a favorite of mine. I have read this many times. The author Cece Bell wrote about her real childhood. Cece was a normal kid before she got diagnosed with meningitis. Meningitis is a disease when the brain swells. She has to stay in the hospital for days. She was sometimes lonely but she got plenty of presents. When she gets out of the hospital, she finds that she can't hear. Throughout the book, there are many exciting and happy moments for Cece, but there are also times when Cece feels sad or angry. At school, people make fun of her and she was usually very lonely. I would recommend this book to people who want to learn more about Cece and people who like reading short graphic novels. I personally really enjoyed this book and couldn't stop reading it.
                    • harrypotter87
                      harrypotter87Sunday, February 26, 2017 at 4:40 pm55 stars
                      this was a really great book

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Parismilli wrote:

                      I have not read it but I think I...
                      Double Down

                      antwal1718
                      antwal1718 wrote:

                      i think the book was very good i...
                      Wormwood Mire

                      robin13
                      robin13 wrote:

                      me+like=agree
                      The Losers Club

                      robin13
                      robin13 wrote:

                      ok so my sister told me this was...
                      The Losers Club