Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8X2.717071
New York Times Bestseller

A 2015 Newbery Honor Book
Going to school and making new friends can be tough. But going to school and making new friends while wearing a bulky hearing aid strapped to your chest? That requires superpowers! In this funny, poignant graphic novel memoir, author/illustrator Cece Bell chronicles her hearing loss at a young age and her subsequent experiences with the Phonic Ear, a very powerful—and very awkward—hearing aid.
The Phonic Ear gives Cece the ability to hear—sometimes things she shouldn’t—but also isolates her from her classmates. She really just wants to fit in and find a true friend, someone who appreciates her as she is. After some trouble, she is finally able to harness the power of the Phonic Ear and become “El Deafo, Listener for All.” And more importantly, declare a place for herself in the world and find the friend she’s longed for.

PRAISE FOR EL DEAFO
STARRED REVIEWS
"A standout autobiography. Someone readers will enjoy getting to know."
--Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Worthy of a superhero."
--Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"This empowering autobiographical story belongs right next to Raina Telgemeier’s Smile (2011) and Liz Prince’s Tomboy."
--Booklist
Paperback, 248 pages
Published on September 2, 2014 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 1419712179
ISBN-13: 9781419712173
77 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • luvmylipgloss
    luvmylipglossMonday, May 20, 2019 at 2:04 pm55 stars
    This is a book about a deaf girl. She meets maybe -not-so-friendly friend. She makes friends with friends with a girl named Martha. Then, their relation crashes. Will they be friends again? Or is it the end?
    • ajg16
      ajg16Saturday, May 18, 2019 at 8:23 am33 stars
      Cece was just a normal four years old girl and she loved wearing a red bathing suit. But one day she got really sick and the doctors said she had Meningitis and her brain might swell. She starts not be able to hear so she gets a special box with ear buds and she can kinda here people again. And then at the beginning of first grade she gets a 'Phonic Ear®' she can here way better and she even gets "super powers" (she can here the teacher at far distances because the teacher where's an microphone) She goes through many ups & downs and has some hard times with friendships. I would recommend this to 11+ (Also this is a true story partially because some things are changed from the author) thanks for reading -Ajg16's reviews
      • cassie_1007
        cassie_1007Tuesday, May 14, 2019 at 12:23 pm55 stars
        it was great entertainment and good when u are bored
        • LeylanieSunday, November 4, 2018 at 8:17 pm
          Have you ever seen the book El Deafo? If you haven’t you should. It’s one of the best books. It’s funny and it’s also kind of sad. It’s a big book with all kinds of feelings and stuff. The characters are Cece, and her friends also her parents too. The places that are in the story is her house, her school and also all of her friends houses. Cece doesn't like the fact that people say mean stuff about her hearing aids and her phonic ear. It makes her feel really bad. One of the reasons why I like El Deafo is because she is brave and doesn't let all of the mean comments go to her head. In my opinion, you will always want to read more. For example, when we were reading and we had to stop, I wanted to read more. Another reason is that the book always gets more and more interesting every time that I read the book El Deafo. Also every chapter there's a different part to the story. You should read El Deafo because it is a great book. I read El Deafo on Epic. there's many different books there too.
          • djThursday, October 4, 2018 at 6:50 am
            This book is awsome
            • softballThursday, October 4, 2018 at 6:06 am
              i thought this book was amazing . :)
              • Mood.yWednesday, October 3, 2018 at 10:49 am
                I loved this, book, ad I totally give it a five stars! Great book, please do read if you have the chance.
                • braelins05Wednesday, October 3, 2018 at 7:29 am
                  i love this book sooooo much! it tells a story about a girl who overomes her disability!
                  • sofiablanco
                    sofiablancoMonday, September 24, 2018 at 12:09 pm55 stars
                    i love how it explains her way she went deaf and how she had to adapted to figuring out how to read people lips and learning to adapt to what she has. This book is probably my favorite book i have ever read.
                    • dorks_r_us
                      dorks_r_usFriday, June 22, 2018 at 6:08 am55 stars
                      This is a book that stays with you forever! So this book is a kind of like a biography because the story is based on Cece Bells life. So let me summarize. First, Cece is sick and she stays in the hospital for a long time. Next, she finds out she's deaf. Then, she goes to school and is in a special class for deaf kids. Than adventure awaits!