Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8X2.717071
New York Times Bestseller

A 2015 Newbery Honor Book
Going to school and making new friends can be tough. But going to school and making new friends while wearing a bulky hearing aid strapped to your chest? That requires superpowers! In this funny, poignant graphic novel memoir, author/illustrator Cece Bell chronicles her hearing loss at a young age and her subsequent experiences with the Phonic Ear, a very powerful—and very awkward—hearing aid.
The Phonic Ear gives Cece the ability to hear—sometimes things she shouldn’t—but also isolates her from her classmates. She really just wants to fit in and find a true friend, someone who appreciates her as she is. After some trouble, she is finally able to harness the power of the Phonic Ear and become “El Deafo, Listener for All.” And more importantly, declare a place for herself in the world and find the friend she’s longed for.

PRAISE FOR EL DEAFO
STARRED REVIEWS
"A standout autobiography. Someone readers will enjoy getting to know."
--Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Worthy of a superhero."
--Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"This empowering autobiographical story belongs right next to Raina Telgemeier’s Smile (2011) and Liz Prince’s Tomboy."
--Booklist
Paperback, 248 pages
Published on September 2, 2014 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 1419712179
ISBN-13: 9781419712173
74 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • LeylanieSunday, November 4, 2018 at 8:17 pm
    Have you ever seen the book El Deafo? If you haven’t you should. It’s one of the best books. It’s funny and it’s also kind of sad. It’s a big book with all kinds of feelings and stuff. The characters are Cece, and her friends also her parents too. The places that are in the story is her house, her school and also all of her friends houses. Cece doesn't like the fact that people say mean stuff about her hearing aids and her phonic ear. It makes her feel really bad. One of the reasons why I like El Deafo is because she is brave and doesn't let all of the mean comments go to her head. In my opinion, you will always want to read more. For example, when we were reading and we had to stop, I wanted to read more. Another reason is that the book always gets more and more interesting every time that I read the book El Deafo. Also every chapter there's a different part to the story. You should read El Deafo because it is a great book. I read El Deafo on Epic. there's many different books there too.
    • djThursday, October 4, 2018 at 6:50 am
      This book is awsome
      • softballThursday, October 4, 2018 at 6:06 am
        i thought this book was amazing . :)
        • Mood.yWednesday, October 3, 2018 at 10:49 am
          I loved this, book, ad I totally give it a five stars! Great book, please do read if you have the chance.
          • braelins05Wednesday, October 3, 2018 at 7:29 am
            i love this book sooooo much! it tells a story about a girl who overomes her disability!
            • sofiablanco
              sofiablancoMonday, September 24, 2018 at 12:09 pm55 stars
              i love how it explains her way she went deaf and how she had to adapted to figuring out how to read people lips and learning to adapt to what she has. This book is probably my favorite book i have ever read.
              • dorks_r_us
                dorks_r_usFriday, June 22, 2018 at 6:08 am55 stars
                This is a book that stays with you forever! So this book is a kind of like a biography because the story is based on Cece Bells life. So let me summarize. First, Cece is sick and she stays in the hospital for a long time. Next, she finds out she's deaf. Then, she goes to school and is in a special class for deaf kids. Than adventure awaits!
                • tessa2007
                  tessa2007Tuesday, May 15, 2018 at 7:38 am
                  I think this book would be a very good book to read and it sounds like a good one to
                  • rishi_venky
                    rishi_venkySunday, April 15, 2018 at 1:28 am55 stars
                    The story of a girl's life and how she overcomes her disability of being deaf. Her deafness is what drives the plot of the book. It is very touching and based on a true story. It is packed with so much emotion it makes you want to cry. And the author has achieved this range through the form of a graphic novel. Awesome!!
                    • masterchefcass
                      masterchefcassWednesday, March 7, 2018 at 10:50 am44 stars
                      This is about a child named Cece Bell who became ill and deaf. She has to wear hearing aids and she goes through the struggles of being deaf in school. She has some trouble with friends, and the daydreams about herself as the superhero El Deafo, and how she would honestly speak to people if she had the courage. I recommend this book to anyone who wants a great story.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Huffypuf wrote:

                      Wow, this is an awesome book!
                      Squirm

                      Huffypuf wrote:

                      Wow, this is a super awesome book!
                      Squirm

                      Nathan wrote:

                      The book is amazing after i read...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...

                      not that cool wrote:

                      i would not by this it will be s...
                      Weird But True Christmas: 300 Fe...

                      Our Apps and Plugins