Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8X2.717071
New York Times Bestseller

A 2015 Newbery Honor Book
Going to school and making new friends can be tough. But going to school and making new friends while wearing a bulky hearing aid strapped to your chest? That requires superpowers! In this funny, poignant graphic novel memoir, author/illustrator Cece Bell chronicles her hearing loss at a young age and her subsequent experiences with the Phonic Ear, a very powerful—and very awkward—hearing aid.
The Phonic Ear gives Cece the ability to hear—sometimes things she shouldn’t—but also isolates her from her classmates. She really just wants to fit in and find a true friend, someone who appreciates her as she is. After some trouble, she is finally able to harness the power of the Phonic Ear and become “El Deafo, Listener for All.” And more importantly, declare a place for herself in the world and find the friend she’s longed for.

PRAISE FOR EL DEAFO
STARRED REVIEWS
"A standout autobiography. Someone readers will enjoy getting to know."
--Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Worthy of a superhero."
--Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"This empowering autobiographical story belongs right next to Raina Telgemeier’s Smile (2011) and Liz Prince’s Tomboy."
--Booklist
Paperback, 248 pages
Published on September 2, 2014 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 1419712179
ISBN-13: 9781419712173
82 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • inmemoryofcpr
    inmemoryofcprTuesday, July 23, 2019 at 2:21 pm44 stars
    From the author's memoir... When Cece loses her ability to hear at a young age, she encounters many new problems. From making friends to struggling to fit in, Cece must face them and solve her problems. But many obstacles prevent her from doing things she could do and she is discouraged. But after watching an encouraging movie, Cece's spirits are lifted and finally knows whats to do so she calls herself...EL DEAFO with a new sense of the world around her!!!! I would recommend this for ages 9+ This graphic novel was pretty good but the pace needs working on. The descriptions were really nice and the perspective was written well. Some parts were awkward but other than that I really enjoyed this book and would recommend this for fans of Raina Telgeimer and the book Wonderstruck which is super awesome.
    • pizzagirl7
      pizzagirl7Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 4:25 pm44 stars
      Cece finds out she is now deaf so she has to wear this big thing about to help her hear but she is embarrassed by it😣 but in this book she make friends loses friends and gets less embarrassed 😳 of her hearing aid 👂 also she likes this boy and he kinda likes her back you'll have to read to see what happens!I loved this book so so so so much!😆I think kids around 10 and 13 would like this book and I rate it 4/5 stars 😁 😁 Pizzagirl7 😁 😁
      • skiler400
        skiler400Monday, July 1, 2019 at 5:34 pm55 stars
        I keep coming back to this book it is sooooooo good if you are looking for a good short read this is for you.
        • chloeyeetMonday, June 10, 2019 at 7:55 am
          this book is amazing!!!
          • applemango
            applemangoWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 5:19 pm55 stars
            This is a book about Cece and she (a bunny rabbit) is suddenly discovered that she cannot hear. She meets many friends and she decides which friends are right for her and truly respect her and which friends that actually aren't really friendly.
            • luvmylipgloss
              luvmylipglossMonday, May 20, 2019 at 2:04 pm55 stars
              This is a book about a deaf girl. She meets maybe -not-so-friendly friend. She makes friends with friends with a girl named Martha. Then, their relation crashes. Will they be friends again? Or is it the end?
              • ajg16
                ajg16Saturday, May 18, 2019 at 8:23 am33 stars
                Cece was just a normal four years old girl and she loved wearing a red bathing suit. But one day she got really sick and the doctors said she had Meningitis and her brain might swell. She starts not be able to hear so she gets a special box with ear buds and she can kinda here people again. And then at the beginning of first grade she gets a 'Phonic Ear®' she can here way better and she even gets "super powers" (she can here the teacher at far distances because the teacher where's an microphone) She goes through many ups & downs and has some hard times with friendships. I would recommend this to 11+ (Also this is a true story partially because some things are changed from the author) thanks for reading -Ajg16's reviews
                • cassie_1007
                  cassie_1007Tuesday, May 14, 2019 at 12:23 pm55 stars
                  it was great entertainment and good when u are bored
                  • LeylanieSunday, November 4, 2018 at 8:17 pm
                    Have you ever seen the book El Deafo? If you haven’t you should. It’s one of the best books. It’s funny and it’s also kind of sad. It’s a big book with all kinds of feelings and stuff. The characters are Cece, and her friends also her parents too. The places that are in the story is her house, her school and also all of her friends houses. Cece doesn't like the fact that people say mean stuff about her hearing aids and her phonic ear. It makes her feel really bad. One of the reasons why I like El Deafo is because she is brave and doesn't let all of the mean comments go to her head. In my opinion, you will always want to read more. For example, when we were reading and we had to stop, I wanted to read more. Another reason is that the book always gets more and more interesting every time that I read the book El Deafo. Also every chapter there's a different part to the story. You should read El Deafo because it is a great book. I read El Deafo on Epic. there's many different books there too.
                    • djThursday, October 4, 2018 at 6:50 am
                      This book is awsome