Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8X2.717071
New York Times Bestseller

A 2015 Newbery Honor Book
Going to school and making new friends can be tough. But going to school and making new friends while wearing a bulky hearing aid strapped to your chest? That requires superpowers! In this funny, poignant graphic novel memoir, author/illustrator Cece Bell chronicles her hearing loss at a young age and her subsequent experiences with the Phonic Ear, a very powerful—and very awkward—hearing aid.
The Phonic Ear gives Cece the ability to hear—sometimes things she shouldn’t—but also isolates her from her classmates. She really just wants to fit in and find a true friend, someone who appreciates her as she is. After some trouble, she is finally able to harness the power of the Phonic Ear and become “El Deafo, Listener for All.” And more importantly, declare a place for herself in the world and find the friend she’s longed for.

PRAISE FOR EL DEAFO
STARRED REVIEWS
"A standout autobiography. Someone readers will enjoy getting to know."
--Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Worthy of a superhero."
--Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"This empowering autobiographical story belongs right next to Raina Telgemeier’s Smile (2011) and Liz Prince’s Tomboy."
--Booklist
Paperback, 248 pages
Published on September 2, 2014 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 1419712179
ISBN-13: 9781419712173
67 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • tessa2007
    tessa2007Tuesday, May 15, 2018 at 7:38 am
    I think this book would be a very good book to read and it sounds like a good one to
    • rishi_venky
      rishi_venkySunday, April 15, 2018 at 1:28 am55 stars
      The story of a girl's life and how she overcomes her disability of being deaf. Her deafness is what drives the plot of the book. It is very touching and based on a true story. It is packed with so much emotion it makes you want to cry. And the author has achieved this range through the form of a graphic novel. Awesome!!
      • masterchefcass
        masterchefcassWednesday, March 7, 2018 at 10:50 am44 stars
        This is about a child named Cece Bell who became ill and deaf. She has to wear hearing aids and she goes through the struggles of being deaf in school. She has some trouble with friends, and the daydreams about herself as the superhero El Deafo, and how she would honestly speak to people if she had the courage. I recommend this book to anyone who wants a great story.
        • Mack-Lilly27Wednesday, March 7, 2018 at 9:44 am
          The title of this book is El Deafo. The author is Cece Bell and she uses her in the book because it’s a autobiography. 2015 was when this book was awarded silver but I think it should have gotten gold. Cece Bell wrote this book and made it about her life maybe added a little bit but it talked about her point of view she told us how she made friends and lost friends. She talks about herself as a superhero. I would give this book 1000 out of 5. I think this book would be a 3-up or reading level 3.5 up. I think boys and girls would like this book.
          • tori3ghoul
            tori3ghoulSaturday, November 25, 2017 at 4:18 pm
            Cece Bell tells the story of her childhood being deaf. When Cece is forced to go to school with kids who can hear well, life gets pretty bumpy. From first sleepovers to bossy friends to a broken Phonic Ear, Cece faces many challenges in finding true friends.
            • lovebug101
              lovebug101Tuesday, November 7, 2017 at 5:59 pm22 stars
              I chose to read this book because my good friend told me that it was good. This book is okay but it does seem very sad in the beginning.
              • ellieanaMonday, October 30, 2017 at 5:07 pm
                i love this book it was amazing
                • grapefruit
                  grapefruitFriday, October 27, 2017 at 10:54 pm55 starsFeatured
                  Cece Bell wrote this book about her childhood when she was deaf, and I love it because of the cute comics and the super-real feelings. I am not deaf but I can feel the hurt and hope in her heart. She can be selfish and silly sometimes but we all are. I love how you can feel what she feels about her crummy life and you can really read it like you are her facing the same situations. It is a great book about the ups and downs of a childhood where you can't hear anything except for the noisy chattering nonsense of the world around you.
                  • cutecat6
                    cutecat6Friday, October 27, 2017 at 10:40 am55 stars
                    Why I read this book because I want to know about Cece Bell how her life is when she was a child. When I read this book, I felt really sorry for her. I wanted to know how she gotten deaf. It was really harsh for her.😭 If I were her, I would have a hard time to right? Right.
                    • gummybear10
                      gummybear10Tuesday, September 12, 2017 at 6:16 pm44 stars
                      I completely recommend this book to any age, I like it because it describes how life really is. it shows the natural conflict between friends, and the ability to remake and make them......

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      seniorgato12345

                      This sequel to Ungifted was disa...
                      Supergifted

                      seniorgato12345

                      This is a hilarious book where i...
                      Bad Kitty

                      seniorgato12345

                      This is a funny and creative boo...
                      The 13-Story Treehouse (The Tree...

                      bunny_ball
                      bunny_ball wrote:

                      This book was awesome! I recomm...
                      Toy Academy: Some Assembly Requi...