New York Times Bestseller

A 2015 Newbery Honor Book
Going to school and making new friends can be tough. But going to school and making new friends while wearing a bulky hearing aid strapped to your chest? That requires superpowers! In this funny, poignant graphic novel memoir, author/illustrator Cece Bell chronicles her hearing loss at a young age and her subsequent experiences with the Phonic Ear, a very powerful—and very awkward—hearing aid.
The Phonic Ear gives Cece the ability to hear—sometimes things she shouldn’t—but also isolates her from her classmates. She really just wants to fit in and find a true friend, someone who appreciates her as she is. After some trouble, she is finally able to harness the power of the Phonic Ear and become “El Deafo, Listener for All.” And more importantly, declare a place for herself in the world and find the friend she’s longed for.

PRAISE FOR EL DEAFO
STARRED REVIEWS
"A standout autobiography. Someone readers will enjoy getting to know."
--Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Worthy of a superhero."
--Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"This empowering autobiographical story belongs right next to Raina Telgemeier’s Smile (2011) and Liz Prince’s Tomboy."
--Booklist
Paperback, 248 pages
Published on September 2, 2014 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 1419712179
ISBN-13: 9781419712173
62 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • lovebug101
    lovebug101Tuesday, November 7, 2017 at 5:59 pm22 stars
    I chose to read this book because my good friend told me that it was good. This book is okay but it does seem very sad in the beginning.
    • ellieanaMonday, October 30, 2017 at 5:07 pm
      i love this book it was amazing
      • grapefruit
        grapefruitFriday, October 27, 2017 at 10:54 pm55 starsFeatured
        Cece Bell wrote this book about her childhood when she was deaf, and I love it because of the cute comics and the super-real feelings. I am not deaf but I can feel the hurt and hope in her heart. She can be selfish and silly sometimes but we all are. I love how you can feel what she feels about her crummy life and you can really read it like you are her facing the same situations. It is a great book about the ups and downs of a childhood where you can't hear anything except for the noisy chattering nonsense of the world around you.
        • cutecat6
          cutecat6Friday, October 27, 2017 at 10:40 am55 stars
          Why I read this book because I want to know about Cece Bell how her life is when she was a child. When I read this book, I felt really sorry for her. I wanted to know how she gotten deaf. It was really harsh for her.😭 If I were her, I would have a hard time to right? Right.
          • gummybear10
            gummybear10Tuesday, September 12, 2017 at 6:16 pm44 stars
            I completely recommend this book to any age, I like it because it describes how life really is. it shows the natural conflict between friends, and the ability to remake and make them......
            • jaz123713
              jaz123713Monday, May 1, 2017 at 4:59 pm55 stars
              Cece Bell is a kid diagnosed with meningitis, but now she is a brave adult who isn't afraid of telling people what her story is even if it makes her look crazy. I admire those kind of people
              • bebopbasilSunday, March 19, 2017 at 2:30 pm
                it is the best could not turn away
                • basilSunday, March 19, 2017 at 2:13 pm
                  so hard to turn away I can not belive her story
                  • SharpieThursday, March 9, 2017 at 2:51 pm
                    I really enjoyed this book. I do not normally like graphic novels I enjoyed this story. It had a good sequence and keep it myself and my friends glued to this book until we finished El Deafo. good book
                    • cocoisdaboss
                      cocoisdabossWednesday, March 8, 2017 at 8:48 pm
                      this book is great but a bit sad

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      grapefruit
                      grapefruit wrote:

                      Mia has a beautiful future--a mu...
                      If I Stay

                      missknowitall

                      All the Dork Diaries are awesome...
                      Dork Diaries 7: Tales from a Not...

                      missknowitall

                      All the Dork Diaries are awesome...
                      Tales from a Not-So-Talented Pop...

                      missknowitall

                      All the Dork Diaries are awesome...
                      Dork Diaries 5: Tales from a Not...