Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8X2.717071
New York Times Bestseller

A 2015 Newbery Honor Book
Going to school and making new friends can be tough. But going to school and making new friends while wearing a bulky hearing aid strapped to your chest? That requires superpowers! In this funny, poignant graphic novel memoir, author/illustrator Cece Bell chronicles her hearing loss at a young age and her subsequent experiences with the Phonic Ear, a very powerful—and very awkward—hearing aid.
The Phonic Ear gives Cece the ability to hear—sometimes things she shouldn’t—but also isolates her from her classmates. She really just wants to fit in and find a true friend, someone who appreciates her as she is. After some trouble, she is finally able to harness the power of the Phonic Ear and become “El Deafo, Listener for All.” And more importantly, declare a place for herself in the world and find the friend she’s longed for.

PRAISE FOR EL DEAFO
STARRED REVIEWS
"A standout autobiography. Someone readers will enjoy getting to know."
--Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Worthy of a superhero."
--Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"This empowering autobiographical story belongs right next to Raina Telgemeier’s Smile (2011) and Liz Prince’s Tomboy."
--Booklist
Hardcover, 248 pages
Published on September 2, 2014 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 1419710206
ISBN-13: 9781419710209
94 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Victorias secreSaturday, August 29, 2020 at 5:42 pm
    I think it is good because people might not know but this story is true!!
    • hedgeguin2
      hedgeguin2Saturday, August 1, 2020 at 7:47 pm55 stars
      Now I probably am being boring saying this again, but I love graphic novels! This book, El Deafo, is about a girl named Cece. Life was normal for her, until she got very sick, and as a result lost her hearing. Now, she has to wear her new hearing aids/Phonic Ear to school everyday, where she worries people will judge her. But soon, she discovers she can hear her teacher everywhere, even in the bathroom! Cece thinks she’ll use her new powers to help her classmates, but it’s not as easy as it sounds. This book is amazing, the illustrations are very detailed, and I love the story!! I wou,d totally recommend you read this, as it can help move people who actually are deaf, and make them know that it’s okay to be different, and you can help somebody too! :D
      • willow123goma
        willow123gomaFriday, May 29, 2020 at 8:09 am
        I know we all hate hearing our siblings blast music we HATE. But what if we couldn't hear the music at all? You might say that is awesome. Yeah, it would be if you could just turn on and turn off your hearing when you wanted to. But the main character in this story can not hear at all. If I was in the main character's position where I could not hear without huge hearing devices and hearing aids, if I had to persevere being stared at and being treated like you didn't have an functioning brain when you did, I would probably just give up on the world. But the character in this book does persevere, and finds ways to connect and bond with people around her. This book taught me to be compassionate about people who are born with disabilities, and treat them as equals.
        • pizzagirl7
          pizzagirl7Wednesday, May 27, 2020 at 5:36 am44 stars
          Me day when Cece was four she started to not feel well . The doctors were worried...they said something about her brain could be swelling . Now she is sent home . She is really confused on what is happening . She can't hear anyone ! How she has to get a hearing aid. A lot happens in this book cece starts to like someone . Her best friend drifts away from her....you'll have to read the book to find out. I recommend this book to all ages . Thank you for this review! -Pizzagirl7😁
          • patrish_oof_hq
            patrish_oof_hqTuesday, March 10, 2020 at 7:16 am55 stars
            This is a great book!! but there's only five in are library but i got it and 5/5 i think ages 9 to 11 would love this!
            • fortniteoop60
              fortniteoop60Friday, January 17, 2020 at 11:27 am
              It’s such a great graphic novel
              • jyroligykunixy
                jyroligykunixyThursday, December 19, 2019 at 10:46 am55 stars
                It is so special
                • clover5
                  clover5Saturday, November 16, 2019 at 12:39 am44 stars
                  it's so moving, and it,s fun to read because it's a COMIC BOOK! the main character, Cece, is so positive. it makes me want to be fiends with her.
                  • applebutter
                    applebutterMonday, October 14, 2019 at 10:02 am44 stars
                    This is a Great book! About a girl with school, friendship, and hearing troubles. After Reading this book I no longer judge people who have small or large disabilities. This is a spectacular book for all ages
                    • LogicSunday, October 13, 2019 at 8:08 pm
                      Very good book but parent advisory is required.