Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.442383
Junior high really sucks for thirteen-year-old Vladimir Tod. Bullies harass him, the principal is dogging him, and the girl he likes prefers his best friend. Oh, and Vlad has a secret: his mother was human, but his father was a vampire. With no idea of the extent of his powers, Vlad struggles daily with his blood cravings and his enlarged fangs. When a substitute teacher begins to question him a little too closely, Vlad worries that his cover is about to be blown. But then he faces a much bigger problem: he's being hunted by a vampire killer.

Watch a QuickTime trailer for this book.
Hardcover, 182 pages
Published on August 16, 2007 by Dutton Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0525478116
ISBN-13: 9780525478119
27 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Priti chouhan Thursday, August 15, 2019 at 10:47 pm
    Great review
    • PersonThursday, August 15, 2019 at 5:04 pm
      Eighth Grade Bites is an amazing book. I had to read it and do a report on it in 2 weeks and i wiped out the book in 2 days. It is really short and a really good book that leaves you on a cliffhanger in my opinion. I didn't think I would like the first book but i did and now i am really mad that i didnt buy the bundle of the 5 books.
      • SpCy_NeoNinjaSaturday, March 23, 2019 at 2:02 pm
        I thought this book was great and i would highly recomend it to others
        • AshleyThursday, December 27, 2018 at 11:14 pm
          Great review! It made me want to read this book!
          • ajg16
            ajg16Friday, December 21, 2018 at 1:49 pm55 stars
            Vladimir Tod (a.k.a Vlad) is a thirteen-year-old Half-Human, Half-Vampire (!) He lives with his 'Aunt' Nelly who helps him keep his secret a e takes blood from the hospital she works at so Vlad doesn't have to bite people. Anyways, while being a vampire isn't hard enough he also has to deal with bullies and also his crush is kinda more info his best friend Henry. When a teacher he actually likes is declared missing the new substitute teacher Mr. Otis is very interested in Vlad and keeps asking questions like "Why does he live with his Aunt?" And "Where are his parents?" With all this happening now can he does even begin to coop with vampires hunting him for his father's crimes!? I absolutely-definitely recommend this book! Thanks for reading - Ajg15's Reviews
            • bookstory13
              bookstory13Tuesday, December 25, 2018 at 5:20 pm55 stars
              Great review! I think more people will read this totall-tastic-aweso-cool-splending-rushing-bold-wonderful book because of your review! Thanks!!
              • ajg16
                ajg16Wednesday, December 26, 2018 at 10:21 pm55 stars
                Thank you! And I hope so! Never would've found this book without your review - so thank you! (Again)
            • joeycollin13
              joeycollin13Monday, December 10, 2018 at 12:31 pm
              added this to my to-read list!
              • bookstory13
                bookstory13Monday, December 10, 2018 at 2:37 pm55 stars
                I have one of those too, lol! It's getting kinda long...
              • Heather Wednesday, December 5, 2018 at 10:10 am
                This book was amazing and I just got done reading it. The author really deserves something for this beautiful work !!! Thanka and like my comments and read my books they're getting to be pretty popular to.
                • jasonbob808
                  jasonbob808Friday, November 30, 2018 at 2:15 pm55 stars
                  I agree with slytherinfan, this book does sound insane! But it also sounds interesting
                  • bookstory13
                    bookstory13Friday, November 30, 2018 at 2:01 pm55 stars
                    P.S. also one of those books where I REALLY REALLY REALLY wish the main characters were real!
                    • bookstory13
                      bookstory13Friday, November 30, 2018 at 1:57 pm55 stars
                      Vlad feels the whole world is ganging up on him. First, it's the *spoiler* fact that his parents were murdered. Next, it's the bullies. As if that weren't bad enough, the girl of his dreams has a thing for his best friend, Henry. Last but not least (haha should've mentioned this first)....Vlad is a VAMPIRE! (And in my opinion a totally cute and why-is-he-bullied vampire) Well, half-human half-vampire anyway. Things start to go even worse when the only good teacher is found dead and is replaced by a strange man who is WAY too interested in Vlad. Strange things happen. Things that can only be determined by one thing: Is this new man a friend....or a foe? Find out by reading this amazing tale told by a totally awesome and sweet and friendly but all-but-regular vampire, Vladimir Tod! --BKS reviews
                      • ajg16
                        ajg16Saturday, December 8, 2018 at 11:30 am55 stars
                        Your book review is so good! I must read this!!
                        • bookstory13
                          bookstory13Saturday, December 8, 2018 at 4:37 pm55 stars
                          The book is really good! As for my review...that's a different story lol. So you know how there are those books where you shrug and say "Oh that was nice..." ? Then there are those awesome ones like Harry Potter and The Hunger Games....and the Vladimir Tod Chronicles! I love them so much! I've been whizzing through them and am trying to find Twelfth Grade Kills. My teacher doesn't have it!!! *whispers* Why??? So yeah anyway to wrap up, this book series is like the best I've read all year! I REALLY REALLY LOVE IT! Everyone should read it! I hope you have fun!
                          • ajg16
                            ajg16Friday, December 21, 2018 at 1:48 pm55 stars
                            This book definitely earned its spot next to Harry Potter and the hunger games! I loved it SO much!