Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.940625

Art, mystery, fun and friendship, combine in this illustrated middle grade series debut. Sixth grader Edmund Xavier Lonnrot, codename "Eddie Red," has a photographic memory and talent for drawing anything he sees. When the NYPD is stumped by a mastermind art thief, Eddie becomes their secret weapon to solve the case, drawing Eddie deeper into New York's famous Museum Mile and closer to a dangerous criminal group known as The Picasso Gang.

With page-turning adventure and fun characters, this first installment in the Eddie Red series is a must-read for any fan of puzzles and mystery.A Spring 2014 Indies Introduce New Voices selection

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on April 1, 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544238338
ISBN-13: 9780544238336
41 Book Reviews
  • KK_ROXSaturday, July 11, 2020 at 9:27 am
    In my opinion, this book is great. I love how some of the parts make my heart race with excitement. Let me tell you this: this book is the opposite of boring.
    • evasch1920
      evasch1920Monday, April 13, 2020 at 7:38 am44 stars
      Would you ever want to work for the police at 11 years old? “Well, how the turntables have turned”- Michael Scott. Eddie Red Undercover: Mystery on Museum Mile By Marcia Wells. Eddie Red goes undercover trying to catch art thieves. This book takes place in the 21 century in NYC around the Manhattan area. Another big area in the book is at Eddie’s house and in his school. Edmund is an 11-year-old boy with a photographic memory and there is a gang of art thieves so Edmund is hired to help the police and he will get paid to still go to his school. Now Edmund is Eddie red. He goes undercover all over Museum Mile trying to find suspects. When Eddie and his best friend Jhona crack the case by themselves, now they have to get the police to believe them. The antagonists in this book are The Picasso Gang. A contrast and contradiction in the book is in Eddie’s school. His friend Johna is getting bullied in the bathroom and Eddie steps in and stands up for his friend when he usually stands down. I would recommend this book for anyone who likes mystery and crime books. This book has some action and it is slow at times but when you get to the middle that’s when it starts to get pretty good. I can get pretty cheesy so if you like a little cheesy than this is a good book for you.
      • neonbook
        neonbookWednesday, October 14, 2015 at 10:14 am
        Sounds good a lot! Well I love reading those kinds of books!! My friends say that I read v not intresting types of books...but I don't mind about it cause that's what I love to read all the time!!! did anyone read mandi. ..if u didn't check it out !!!
        • bookworm890
          bookworm890Wednesday, September 30, 2015 at 7:11 pm
          Like 68 Rooms and Chasing Vermeer, Eddie Red is the next great art sleuth. When Eddie spots a suspect running from a scene and uses his photographic memory and drawing skills to sketch the suspect, the police hire him to consult on an art theft case.
          • happypug12
            happypug12Wednesday, September 30, 2015 at 8:09 am33 stars
            Eddie Red: Undercover starts out classically, but to me it seemed slightly bland. You must read until the very last page or you will find this book miserably tedious, but the art was great. I recommend to those who are just beginning the adventure of mystery books, otherwise, you may want to choose another book, as this one was a bit basic, although the ending was satisfying.
            • inventor60
              inventor60Monday, September 7, 2015 at 10:03 am55 stars
              This book is about Edmund, or Eddie Red according to the secret agency, who helps track down the Picasso Group, who have been suspected to have stolen a painting. Eddie is chosen as a secret weapon, as he uses his skill to draw what sees, e.i. use his photographic memory , to track the thieves on museum mile in NY.
              • sushi321
                sushi321Monday, August 31, 2015 at 2:24 pm44 stars
                This book is really, really good!! I found really enjoyable and think its awesome!! Eddie Red is a detective who has a talent of photographic memory, and can easily draw criminals or anything he sees. There has been a crime in the museum, it is for Eddie Red to find the criminals.
                • fairie
                  fairieSunday, August 2, 2015 at 4:34 pm33 stars
                  This book is great for fans of mystery and magic. Eddie works for a spy agency and now he has to help them track down the greatly feared Picasso Gang. Using his photographic memory and amazing sketching abilities he must track them down and save the museum mile!
                  • llpanda
                    llpandaSaturday, August 1, 2015 at 5:45 pm33 stars
                    This was a good book. Eddie is recruited by the police for his photographic memory to stop a heist. This book is good but sometimes there was not a lot of action.
                    • kitkat1998
                      kitkat1998Friday, July 17, 2015 at 9:18 am44 stars
                      This is a very entertaining book about a kid detective. The setting is a bit cliche, but the characters are different and unique. This is definitely a book worth reading.