Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.368731

Firestar's three grandchildren have learned of the powerful prophecy that foretells their destinies, and the responsibility of deciding the Clans' future weighs heavily on the three apprentices. But each secretly yearns for power: Lionpaw dreams of being undefeatable in battle, while Hollypaw longs to be a great leader and Jaypaw knows only he can see the true past and future for them all. Their strengths are tested when ThunderClan is suddenly attacked—and all four Clans are thrown into a battle unlike any the cats have ever seen.

Then a dark shadow falls across the forest, and a mysterious stranger warns the Clans of more trouble to come. For the first time, it appears that StarClan does not hold the answers the cats need.

All of a sudden, the warrior code is being tested. A crisis of faith threatens to tear the four Clans apart and destroy what the cats have built their lives upon. . . .

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on September 2, 2008 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060892110
ISBN-13: 9780060892111
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • squirrelflight
    squirrelflightThursday, July 16, 2020 at 12:45 pm55 stars
    This. Was. Amazing. The characters were engaging, the plot was intense—what more could you expect from a book? I enjoyed it very much, and I recommend it to anyone who looks for a good book. Lionpaw, Jaypaw, and Hollypaw are making their journey back to the warrior Clans. After helping the Tribe of Rushing Water (a different group of cats) deal with some rogues, their father, Brambleclaw, is being regarded a hero for leading the attack. But a stranger has come to the Clans—a stranger who may not be trustworthy. As this new cat wreaks havoc within one of the Clans, Lionpaw, Jaypaw, and Hollypaw have a choice; should they stay safe and not interfere, or risk everything to save their friends? Lives are at stake. Can the three siblings convince the other Clans to drive away the stranger? Or will all their hard work crumble? Read this book to find out!
    • the_wolf
      the_wolfFriday, July 10, 2020 at 9:46 pm55 stars
      I really love this book. I have about 10 copies since this is about an eclipse
      • warriorsgirl11
        warriorsgirl11Monday, March 16, 2020 at 6:48 pm55 stars
        I think the disappearing sun is an eclipse. And I can't believe Blackstar listened to Sol! Sol will have a reckoning for this, I'm sure, Lionpaw(Lionblaze soon) is too powerful, I think. He nearly killed Crowfeather!! I wonder how Sol knew about the eclipse. He is not an astronomer. Still, I. Hate. Sol. I hope Cinderpaw gets better! She has Cinderpelt's spirit, and StarClan sent Cinderpelt back to become a warrior, not a medicine cat of ThunderClan. I understand Leafpool's anxious feelings for Cinderpaw.
        • leopardstar
          leopardstarTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 3:45 pm
          I dunno what happens I just know there is cat named Sol and three cats named Dovewing, Jayfeather and Lionblaze.
          • burntail
            burntailFriday, September 15, 2017 at 12:27 pm55 stars
            Love Lionblaze ( blush) he is a really nice cat. Jayfeather, oh leave that to my other friend. Hollyleaf. Can't choose between her and Dovewing on taking the rightful place with Jayfeather and Lionblaze. Mabey Hollyleaf because she was alive first.
            • jadynsFriday, February 26, 2016 at 10:12 am
              I love it when there are fierce battles and Lionpaw feels that he can't be defeated. Also when Jaypaw dreams he can see into the future and the past and literally he can see. And Hollypaw thinks she is the thinker.
              • ball8628
                ball8628Friday, May 22, 2015 at 8:34 am55 stars
                This book is amazing. It really engages the reader into the life of a wild cat. VERY GOOD. READ THIS SERIES
                • zimandgir
                  zimandgirThursday, May 7, 2015 at 4:52 pm55 stars
                  I do not like Sol he is evil
                  • frirestarSaturday, February 28, 2015 at 10:55 pm
                    What I do not get is the darckness
                    • the_wolf
                      the_wolfFriday, July 10, 2020 at 9:44 pm55 stars
                      It is an eclipse
                    • surprizergirl
                      surprizergirlSaturday, January 31, 2015 at 4:33 pm55 stars
                      Sol makes me mad!!!