Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8Y4.987970
2016 Newbery Honor Book
New York Times Bestseller

An impassioned, uplifting, and virtuosic tour de force from a treasured storyteller!


Lost and alone in a forbidden forest, Otto meets three mysterious sisters and suddenly finds himself entwined in a puzzling quest involving a prophecy, a promise, and a harmonica.

Decades later, Friedrich in Germany, Mike in Pennsylvania, and Ivy in California each, in turn, become interwoven when the very same harmonica lands in their lives. All the children face daunting challenges: rescuing a father, protecting a brother, holding a family together. And ultimately, pulled by the invisible thread of destiny, their suspenseful solo stories converge in an orchestral crescendo.

Richly imagined and masterfully crafted, Echo pushes the boundaries of genre, form, and storytelling innovation to create a wholly original novel that will resound in your heart long after the last note has been struck.
Paperback, 592 pages
Published on April 30, 2019 by Scholastic Inc
ISBN-10: 9352757289
ISBN-13: 9789352757282
39 Book Reviews
  • thesleepywriter
    thesleepywriterWednesday, April 7, 2021 at 8:43 am55 stars
    it was a really good book my favorite story was the last one and I just love how they all found each other. magic and wonder are always one of mine go to, I really recommend this book!
    • hedgeguin2
      hedgeguin2Monday, August 17, 2020 at 6:33 pm
      Good book! So far it’s about Otto, who mysteriously meets three girls trapped in time and a harmonica. Soon he finds himself entwined in their prophecy, and decades later three people go on the same adventure to save people they love. Echo is also really long, so this will be good for people who don’t have many books to read now!
      • bsc
        bscSaturday, April 11, 2020 at 7:21 pm55 stars
        This book was awesome! One day Otto finds himself alone with 3 women and a harmonica. Decades later, Fredrich in Germany finds the harmonica, then Mike in Penslvannnia and then finally Ivy in California. In this 592 page book, readers will find themselves captured in the mystery and adventure that this book holds. Echo, by Pam Munoz Ryan truley is a wonder.
        • lylah26
          lylah26Monday, February 24, 2020 at 8:14 am55 stars
          i thought it be amazing because it was three different books in one and yeah UwU
          • jolee
            joleeFriday, January 3, 2020 at 2:54 pm44 stars
            This book is awesome it has a really good vibe to it. It is all so really good because it has three parts that don't go together until the last part. I would recommend this book to every one.
            • infinitykid
              infinitykidWednesday, May 23, 2018 at 12:34 pm
              I think this book is amazing overall it has a great storyline. What I would add is more plot twists throughout the book would've made it a 10 out of 10 instead of 9 out of 10 in my personal opinion. This book also relates to the the current time that we're living in like snowybooks said. I also think that they could have added something that everyone can relate too I can relate to the racism and disrespect that happens in todays society but not everyone has to go through that so, I think they could've added something that everyone can relate too including younger readers. Overall this book is amazing and I would recommend it to anyone that is looking for a good book.
              • rawtie
                rawtieWednesday, April 25, 2018 at 5:40 am55 stars
                This is a masterpiece. The author used her words wisely. This is a heartwarming adventure that needs to be read.
                • vikingsfan2008
                  vikingsfan2008Monday, January 22, 2018 at 10:13 am55 stars
                  Dudes this is awesome XD
                  • tacosforlife
                    tacosforlifeSaturday, January 13, 2018 at 5:54 pm55 stars
                    A harmonica. 3 children. The same destiny. From all over the globe, three children have the same harmonica in their hands. Tragedies that question their future and a soul to be warmed. With a musical talent, they will be together forever.
                    • snowybooks
                      snowybooksMonday, November 6, 2017 at 8:36 pm
                      This book is good for readers of older ages because it addresses many issues of the times and how, in life, when there are challenges that you must face, you must work hard to solve the problem. This book also teaches that stereotypes are never true and very offensive.