Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 8n/a6.1100593
Rose has always felt out of place in her family, a wanderer in a bunch of homebodies. So when an enormous white bear mysteriously shows up and asks her to come away with him--in exchange for health and prosperity for her ailing family--she readily agrees. The bear takes Rose to a distant castle, where each night she is confronted with a mystery. In solving that mystery, she loses her heart, discovers her purpose, and realizes her travels have only just begun.
As familiar and moving as "Beauty and the Beast" and yet as fresh and original as only the best fantasy can be, East is a novel retelling of the classic tale "East of the Sun, West of the Moon," a sweeping romantic epic in the tradition of Robin McKinley and Gail Carson Levine.
Paperback, 528 pages
Published on May 1, 2005 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0152052216
ISBN-13: 9780152052218
5 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • raindrop07
    raindrop07Tuesday, May 19, 2020 at 7:24 am55 stars
    In this rendition of the folktale, East of the Sun and West of the Moon, this book tells the story of Rose, a girl born as a Northern child in a family of Eastern homebodies. Rose's mother tries to hide that Rose was actually born as an adventurer, but when an enourmous white bear shows up at Rose's families' cottage, the secret begins to unravel. Rose ventures on a journey tot he land of the north with the white bear as her best companion. This is such an amazing book, barely words can describe it. I throughly LOVED reading it and I think all lovers of friendship, courage and adventure would love it as well!
    • ebbarose
      ebbaroseSunday, October 6, 2013 at 8:33 am55 stars
      This book was amazing! I read it 3 times. Beware, it is a rather long book, about 700 pages, so it will probably take you quite some time to finish it. However, I definately recommend it to everyone, especially if you love mysteries!
      • wallflower01
        wallflower01Friday, February 22, 2013 at 12:48 pm44 stars
        This was a terriffic book I read it twice the first time, it was a little bit confusing but after the second time i figured it all out i recommend this book to everyone please read it!
        • spark
          sparkSunday, August 26, 2012 at 6:15 am55 stars
          Wow! This book is awesome.My favorite charracter is Ebba(or Nyamh) Rose. She is adventurous and inspiring. She is just downright awesome. I totally recommend this book.
          • lovemuggles
            lovemugglesMonday, April 2, 2012 at 1:46 pm55 stars
            What else can I say but WOW! I love love love love love this book it was absolutely amazing. My favorite character was Ebba Rose, AKA Rose or Nyamh