Each Little Bird That Sings (Golden Kite Honors)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.541376
Ten-year-old Comfort Snowberger has attended 247 funerals. But that's not surprising, considering that her family runs the town funeral home. And even though Great-uncle Edisto keeled over with a heart attack and Great-great-aunt Florentine dropped dead--just like that--six months later, Comfort knows how to deal with loss, or so she thinks. She's more concerned with avoiding her crazy cousin Peach and trying to figure out why her best friend, Declaration, suddenly won't talk to her. Life is full of surprises. And the biggest one of all is learning what it takes to handle them.

Deborah Wiles has created a unique, funny, and utterly real cast of characters in this heartfelt, and quintessentially Southern coming-of-age novel. Comfort will charm young readers with her wit, her warmth, and her struggles as she learns about life, loss, and ultimately, triumph.
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on March 1, 2005 by Harcourt Children's Books
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • horseloverTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 7:03 am
    I love this book it is so fun to read I love all the cool names like comfort and dismay
    • horseloverTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 7:03 am
      I love this book it is so fun to read I love all the cool names like comfort and dismay
      • cutiepie124
        cutiepie124Tuesday, December 15, 2015 at 7:30 am55 stars
        This book has been awesome so far. In the beginning it is a little boring but than it starts to pick up a bit when uncle Edisto dies and when peach ruins everything. Right now I am on the part where Comfort and Declaration get into a fight. I am looking forward to see what happens and hoping for a good reading adventure.
        • funnybunny124
          funnybunny124Monday, December 7, 2015 at 8:09 pm55 stars
          This story is great! It expresses an emotional topic in a light and enjoyable way! People should really read this. It teaches us a lot about life.
          • unicorn123
            unicorn123Thursday, September 3, 2015 at 2:10 pm
            this is such a good book it made my teacher cry its so good like i hate reading but these books r really good
            • gabbie7277
              gabbie7277Thursday, April 2, 2015 at 8:46 am55 stars
              i love this book it is very wise if you have a loved one that just passed away read this book it also tells that sometime you have to make hard choices. REALLY GOOD BOOK!!!! :-)
              • wisegirl474
                wisegirl474Saturday, August 9, 2014 at 7:59 pm55 stars
                "Each Little Bird That Sings" is a touching, bittersweet book that quickly worked its way onto my "Favorite Books" list. It's a fantastically-written tale of the friendship, companionship, death, and sadness that are a big part of some of our lives. This book has just the right amount of sorrow and humor. I loved it so much - I would strongly recommend it!
                • ann-ee
                  ann-eeMonday, July 21, 2014 at 9:44 am
                  Great-uncle Edisto, Great-great-aunt Florentine and someone really close to her dies. It made my teacher cry so hard she had to call in a sub. I even dropped a tear, to find out who died. READ THIS BOOK! It is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!
                  • newsdaygal
                    newsdaygalMonday, April 23, 2012 at 1:34 pm55 stars
                    This book is great. It really makes you think. And it has a good amount of humor too. Like the names for example, who would name a akid comfort?
                    • morgan1999
                      morgan1999Sunday, April 22, 2012 at 11:30 am
                      This book is about a girl named Comfort Snowberger (these people have weird names in this book lol) is going through a lot. Her great-aunt dies, her best friend is suddenly mad at her, and her annoying cousin, Peach (Peach is a boy, just to let you know) is bugging her.