Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 4n/a3.537911
With World War II raging and his father fighting overseas in Europe, eleven-year-old Hobie Hanson is determined to do his part to help his family and his country, even if it means giving up his beloved German shepherd, Duke. Hoping to help end the war and bring his dad home faster, Hobie decides to donate Duke to Dogs for Defense, an organization that urges Americans to "loan" their pets to the military to act as sentries, mine sniffers, and patrol dogs. Hobie immediately regrets his decision and tries everything he can to get Duke back, even jeopardizing his friendship with the new boy at school. But when his father is taken prisoner by the Germans, Hobie realizes he must let Duke go and reach deep within himself to be brave. Will Hobie ever see Duke, or his father, again?
With powerful storytelling and gripping emotion, critically acclaimed author Kirby Larson explores the many ways bravery and love help us to weather the most difficult times.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on August 27, 2013 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 054541637X
ISBN-13: 9780545416375
14 Book Reviews
  • readcrazy1
    readcrazy1Tuesday, December 15, 2020 at 6:47 am55 stars
    Omg, this was sad and surprising!
    • InaFriday, December 7, 2018 at 2:12 pm
      Loved your book its great!
      • elliem599
        elliem599Friday, October 13, 2017 at 7:10 pm55 stars
        It was a fantastic story. It really moved me. I loved how it showed him writing notes to Duke. Just overall vary good book.
        • hummingbird1
          hummingbird1Sunday, October 23, 2016 at 5:47 am
          This is an amazing story. I cried a lot.
          • nonstopreader
            nonstopreaderTuesday, February 9, 2016 at 6:04 pm55 stars
            SO GOOD a real page turner. I reccomend it to everyone a great historical fiction book. :-)
            • 4peanut
              4peanutFriday, November 20, 2015 at 7:55 am55 stars
              This is a great book that's a constant page turner and heartfelt I cried every time.This is a must read.
              • 4peanut
                4peanutWednesday, November 11, 2015 at 7:16 am55 stars
                Every time I cry.
                • connormath
                  connormathMonday, October 5, 2015 at 11:36 am55 stars
                  I loved the story between the dog and the boy. Definitely would read it again.
                  • BunnyTuesday, September 15, 2015 at 1:22 pm
                    I can't wait to read this book !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have a dog named Duke and he's the best! : )
                    • lydia_swim
                      lydia_swimTuesday, September 15, 2015 at 11:45 am
                      That sounds like such a good book that is very heart warming. I think I'm going to try to read it this year as well as many other books! I hope I get to it!