Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 4n/a3.537911
With World War II raging and his father fighting overseas in Europe, eleven-year-old Hobie Hanson is determined to do his part to help his family and his country, even if it means giving up his beloved German shepherd, Duke. Hoping to help end the war and bring his dad home faster, Hobie decides to donate Duke to Dogs for Defense, an organization that urges Americans to "loan" their pets to the military to act as sentries, mine sniffers, and patrol dogs. Hobie immediately regrets his decision and tries everything he can to get Duke back, even jeopardizing his friendship with the new boy at school. But when his father is taken prisoner by the Germans, Hobie realizes he must let Duke go and reach deep within himself to be brave. Will Hobie ever see Duke, or his father, again?
With powerful storytelling and gripping emotion, critically acclaimed author Kirby Larson explores the many ways bravery and love help us to weather the most difficult times.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on August 27, 2013 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 054541637X
ISBN-13: 9780545416375
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • InaFriday, December 7, 2018 at 2:12 pm
    Loved your book its great!
    • elliem599
      elliem599Friday, October 13, 2017 at 7:10 pm55 stars
      It was a fantastic story. It really moved me. I loved how it showed him writing notes to Duke. Just overall vary good book.
      • hummingbird1
        hummingbird1Sunday, October 23, 2016 at 5:47 am
        This is an amazing story. I cried a lot.
        • nonstopreader
          nonstopreaderTuesday, February 9, 2016 at 6:04 pm55 stars
          SO GOOD a real page turner. I reccomend it to everyone a great historical fiction book. :-)
          • 4peanut
            4peanutFriday, November 20, 2015 at 7:55 am55 stars
            This is a great book that's a constant page turner and heartfelt I cried every time.This is a must read.
            • 4peanut
              4peanutWednesday, November 11, 2015 at 7:16 am55 stars
              Every time I cry.
              • connormath
                connormathMonday, October 5, 2015 at 11:36 am55 stars
                I loved the story between the dog and the boy. Definitely would read it again.
                • BunnyTuesday, September 15, 2015 at 1:22 pm
                  I can't wait to read this book !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have a dog named Duke and he's the best! : )
                  • lydia_swim
                    lydia_swimTuesday, September 15, 2015 at 11:45 am
                    That sounds like such a good book that is very heart warming. I think I'm going to try to read it this year as well as many other books! I hope I get to it!
                    • corbin15
                      corbin15Monday, September 14, 2015 at 11:57 am44 stars
                      this book is awesome it is sad and happy i recommend this book to people that like dog or war books. its about a boy that has a dog and the boy hobby accidentally signs a sheet for war and the war wants dogs to help so he gets sent to war and hobby wants his dog back so he goes into war. read the book to find out what happens