Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 4 - 10X5.949066
Thirteen-year-old Steven has a totally normal life: he plays drums in the All-Star Jazz band, has a crush on the hottest girl in the school, and is constantly annoyed by his five-year-old brother, Jeffrey. But when Jeffrey is diagnosed with leukemia, Steven's world is turned upside down. He is forced to deal with his brother's illness and his parents' attempts to keep the family in one piece. Salted with humor and peppered with devastating realities, DRUMS, GIRLS, AND DANGEROUS PIE is a heart warming journey through a year in the life of a family in crisis.

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on September 1, 2005 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439755190
ISBN-13: 9780439755191
45 Book Reviews
  • kittyluvskookie
    kittyluvskookieWednesday, June 9, 2021 at 1:14 pm55 stars
    It's about Steven Alpher and his struggles to get good grades and deal with his brother Jeffery's cancer, Leukemia. I would definitely recommend it!
    • catThursday, August 29, 2019 at 4:39 pm
      I've read a couple of pages and already have fallen in love with this book. Definitely recommend reading it.
      • AnonymousMonday, February 25, 2019 at 3:04 pm
        The author actually visited our school and told us a touching story about how he wrote this book for one of his students because she was suffering the same as Steven
        • RissFriday, February 8, 2019 at 6:12 pm
          Who’s Rachel
          • 24krussell
            24krussellFriday, September 21, 2018 at 5:56 am55 stars
            I would definitely recommend this book because it is so emotional yet funny at the same time. It has a ton of sarcasm, but also a lot of sad moments. It shares what having a younger sibling with cancer can scare you and how it can make you feel neglected by your parents.
            • RainbowDJMonday, April 9, 2018 at 9:26 am
              I thought this book was very touching, well-executed, unique, and remarkable. I got nit picky, and thats why this is getting 4 stars. Well done, Mr. Sonnenblick!!!! (:
              • lolMonday, March 12, 2018 at 9:34 am
                I think that this book was really nicely written. The characters, Steven, Jeffery, and everyone else were well developed.
                • sdelf20
                  sdelf20Thursday, October 13, 2016 at 8:57 am
                  this book is on the 6-8th grade OBOB list!!! Still haven't read the whole thing. :)
                  • mayu0327
                    mayu0327Monday, October 10, 2016 at 1:25 pm
                    This book is awesome and heartouching. Steven is a normal kid until his bro is diagnosed with cancer and has to sacrifice popularity to keep his family together.
                    • jb_penguin12
                      jb_penguin12Wednesday, September 14, 2016 at 4:03 pm55 stars
                      Stephen is a normal teenage boy until his family finds out that his younger brother Jeffery is really sick. Although he has many important things that he needs to do in life he finds that he always needs to stay with Jeffery even though it may mean he needs to miss something important.