Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades K - 6Guided Reading: W 5.368278
Moon Shadow is eight years old when he sails from China to join his father, Windrider, in America. Windrider lives in San Francisco and makes his living doing laundry. Father and son have never met.
Hardcover, 317 pages
Published on May 24, 2016 by HOLT MCDOUGAL
ISBN-10: 081243269X
ISBN-13: 9780812432695
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • mamamiaWednesday, April 3, 2019 at 8:11 pm
    we have to read this book in 6th grade, most people in my class like it, but there are only seven people. There's probably only one person who doesn't like.
    • some guyMonday, October 15, 2018 at 10:16 am
      To be honest, the only reason people don't like this book is because they got stuck with it for a book review in 5th grade, the book is great, what people think of it, however, isn't.
      • The GreatestSunday, June 24, 2018 at 5:33 pm
        this book is not awesome it is the worst book ever
        • potatoFriday, April 14, 2017 at 3:32 pm
          starting to like this book
          • Teachers petFriday, March 18, 2016 at 5:57 pm
            This book has much symbolism that does not come out in the book. This book lacks positivity and imagination. This book has a terrible ending nothing is accomplished not a good book for kids
            • booknutjob
              booknutjobFriday, March 18, 2016 at 7:47 am55 stars
              I love this book! Just finished reading it, it's awesome!!!
              • booknutjob
                booknutjobFriday, March 18, 2016 at 7:41 am55 stars
                This is another one of those books that I started out skeptical of, but now I've found it really great. It's about this young Chinese boy who joins his father in San Francisco a little before the great earthquake. The Chinese workers in the city are treated as very inferior, but when the Wright brothers make the front page, the little boy's father, Windrider, still manages to build his own glider and fly in it. They only make it, though, through the help of some devoted friends. This is a great book.
                • babybear2001
                  babybear2001Thursday, February 6, 2014 at 7:44 am55 stars
                  I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!
                  • manda
                    mandaMonday, September 30, 2013 at 5:12 pm55 stars
                    Dragonwings is a book about a young boy, Moon Shadow, who goes to America, leaving his mother and grandmother in China, to work with his father, Windrider. In this book, Moon Shadow helps his father realize and pursue his goal to make a flying machine, Dragonwings. In this book Lawrence Yep has demonstrated the love in a family. In the end, Windrider realizes that he as been foolish pursuing his dream and instead be with his family. After all, dragons do have families.
                    • pinkfluffylamas
                      pinkfluffylamasFriday, January 27, 2012 at 5:04 pm
                      Omg this book is a little advance, but awsome. it takes place during the turn of the 1900

                      Our Apps and Plugins