Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.9104713
Published before THE THIEF LORD in Germany, DRAGON RIDER established Cornelia Funke as a bestselling and critically acclaimed author. Now, this fantastical epic has come to America!

Firedrake, a young dragon, receives a frightening warning one night: Humans are planning to destroy the valley in which he lives! All the dragons must flee. Their only refuge is a place above the clouds called the Rim of Heaven --- which may not even exist. Firedrake boldly volunteers to go ahead first. As he embarks on his journey, he meets Ben, a runaway boy. Together, the boy & dragon make their way toward the Rim of Heaven, all the while running a step ahead of Nettlebrand, a monster who will stop at nothing to hunt down Firedrake. Their quest will truly become an adventure like no other.

Hardcover, 528 pages
Published on September 1, 2004 by Chicken House
ISBN-10: 0439456959
ISBN-13: 9780439456951
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Panda Lover expMonday, November 11, 2019 at 11:02 am
    It was really good. Reading it in third grade is a good thing. Second book is confusing......
    • Reign LightningThursday, February 16, 2017 at 6:07 pm
      This book was absolutely phenomenal! It tells of a fantastic adventure while being followed by an enemy named Nettlebrand. I highly recommend this book to everyone, for this is a book not to be missed.
      • allycat278
        allycat278Wednesday, September 28, 2016 at 8:47 am
        FAVORTITE BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
        • wow257
          wow257Sunday, April 17, 2016 at 6:17 am55 stars
          Funke has made this book a must-read for every dragon lover. A lovely tale that really has a good plot! A really good book for young readers.
          • happyface221
            happyface221Monday, June 16, 2014 at 5:58 pm
            I read a while ago, and i couldn't wait to keep reading it... so ..... ONE IF THE BEST BOOKS EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)
            • 3ac
              3acTuesday, April 1, 2014 at 7:36 am55 stars
              This is a great adventure story with a thrilling conclusion. Ben discovers Firedrake, the dragon in a abandoned warehouse where Firedrake is sleeping, and the quest proceeds in a fun fashion. I recommend this for dragon/ fantasy lovers.
              • edmodo-wyt7vhbpfj
                edmodo-wyt7vhbpfjWednesday, October 9, 2013 at 5:22 pm
                It is a very adventurous book and I am a bid fan of fairy tale books and all. If you see it on the shelves, I highly suggest you pick it up!
                • thumsup
                  thumsupFriday, February 8, 2013 at 3:20 pm55 stars
                  This is a great book with mythical characters that are very rare- or the author probably just made them up. It is about a boy who got reincarnated as the new dragon rider and he has to save the dragons from human destruction.
                  • cpalmer116
                    cpalmer116Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 8:58 am
                    I read this book because my brother read it and said it was good. Its a great book because it has all the parts of a book.
                    • ekrebs
                      ekrebsThursday, November 29, 2012 at 6:31 am
                      I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!! It is one of the best books I have ever read and I really really recommend it.