Ten years after Alex and Aaron Stowe brought peace to Quill and Artimé, their younger twin sisters journey beyond the islands in this first novel of a new sequel series to The Unwanteds, which Kirkus Reviews called “The Hunger Games meets Harry Potter.”

Identical twins Fifer and Thisbe Stowe have amazing yet uncontrollable magical abilities. They’re naturally more gifted than even their brother, Alex, the head mage of Artimé, could hope to be. But when they accidentally use their magic in the jungle of Artimé to strike down a beloved creature, Alex is furious, and threatens to lock them away until they can learn to control their power.

The threat is soon forgotten, though, when Hux, the ice blue dragon, comes to Artimé bearing the horrible news that his siblings have been enslaved by the notoriously evil Revinir, ruler of the dragon land.

Seeking a chance to right their wrong and escape their brother’s wrath, Thisbe, Fifer, and their friend Seth sneak away to rescue the dragons from grave peril. Will their untrained abilities be enough to save the dragons—and themselves—when they come face-to-face with the Revinir?

 

Hardcover, 432 pages
Published on February 7, 2017 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1481456814
ISBN-13: 9781481456814
40 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • jthomas0310
    jthomas0310Tuesday, August 15, 2017 at 5:51 pm
    This is the first book in the Unwanteds Quests series. The book is about two twins that go on a quest to save some dragons. If you like dragons and magic you might like this book. I received this book from DOGOBooks.
    • zacWednesday, July 19, 2017 at 6:19 pm
      i don't like it
      • duckie2085
        duckie2085Wednesday, July 19, 2017 at 2:53 pm22 stars
        I also won this from the giveaway. Fifer and Thisbe are supposed to be the two main characters, but I thought they were very one sided and really just vessels for their uncontrollable magic. Speaking of that, the magic didn't come in as much as I would have liked it to. No spoilers, however. The one character whom I really enjoyed reading about was Alex, but he wasn't mentioned much since there's already an entire series on him. The plot was average, but the ending wasn't good either, at least in my opinion. I thought it was a poor attempt at a cliffhanger. All it did was scream sequel. I understand that I'm slightly above the recommended age level for this book, but I thought I would share what I thought of it.
        • cobrazeus10
          cobrazeus10Saturday, July 1, 2017 at 3:55 pm55 starsFeatured
          I won this book in a giveaway, and it was superb! It picks up about ten years where McMann's last series ended. Twin girls Fifer and Thisbe have extremely powerful magic, but there brother Alex (leader of Artime) won't let them learn how to use it until they learn how to control it. You see their magic has a reputation for being destructive and causing problems. They don't do it on purpose of course, it just slips out accidentally. When one of the dragons (Hux) Alex had made wings for in the previous series comes to Artime seeking help, the twins think this is the perfect opportunity to show Alex just how well they can use their magic for good. Fifer and Thisbe leave the island to help Hux and his siblings, but are met with some unexpected troubles upon arrival. I highly recommend reading this book. A great read for fans of the original Unwanteds series which I would recommend reading before reading this book.
          • than31
            than31Friday, May 19, 2017 at 9:30 am55 stars
            kind a like it
            • than31
              than31Friday, May 19, 2017 at 9:29 am55 stars
              like if you want to know why books end so quickly I will tell you after i have 17 likes -_- so long...
              • nand
                nandSaturday, May 13, 2017 at 8:41 am55 stars
                very good book
                • WowsterMonday, May 8, 2017 at 6:06 pm
                  cool i want it!
                  • mgalMonday, May 8, 2017 at 5:00 pm
                    this is amazing!
                    • brodyjness
                      brodyjnessFriday, May 5, 2017 at 10:38 am55 stars
                      soper cool love it

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      hydythegreat

                      Really good. Love how it switche...
                      A Dog and His Girl Mysteries #1:...

                      hydythegreat

                      I love it so far! A story of two...
                      The Unwanteds

                      thequackster

                      I have all books by this guy min...
                      Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asg...

                      horsegirl2017

                      It isn't as good as the others b...
                      Harry Potter and the Cursed Chil...