Dork Diaries 1: Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life

Book 1 of 13 in the Dork Diaries Books Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.429745

Meet Nikki Maxwell! She’s starting eighth grade at a new school—and her very first diary packed with hilarious stories and art in this SUPER SQUEE updated edition of Book One of the #1 New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series!

Nikki confesses all in her first diary ever: her epic battle with her mom for an iPhone, meeting her new soon-to-be BFFs Chloe and Zoey, falling for adorably sweet crush Brandon, dealing with her zany little sister Brianna’s antics—and the immediate clashes with mean girl Mackenzie, who becomes Nikki’s rival in a schoolwide art competition.

Nearly 30 million books in print worldwide!

Hardcover, 928 pages
Published on October 4, 2011 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442426624
ISBN-13: 9781442426627
1304 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • arcticlaw
    arcticlawTuesday, September 22, 2020 at 9:52 am55 stars
    I have to be honest I have HAD a crush on Andre now I like a real boy
    • MiaMonday, September 21, 2020 at 3:14 am
      It was so good I like that interesting book
      • leaThursday, September 10, 2020 at 9:53 am
        it is amazing so far Ireccomend u to read it. In this nikki is dying for a new phone, read and find out what happens next.......
        • Angeline ZarateThursday, September 10, 2020 at 6:27 am
          wow this book is so fun
          • bookworms4ever
            bookworms4everThursday, September 10, 2020 at 6:16 am55 stars
            This is the start of an amazing series! Read! It!
            • unicornsrock123
              unicornsrock123Thursday, September 3, 2020 at 7:31 am55 stars
              I want to read this book because I really like these types how they are kind of funny kind of romantic.
              • lil-ink-wolfWednesday, September 2, 2020 at 8:19 am
                I like the other ones better but when I read the first book it was like someone else wrote it, but this proves that Rachel Renée Russell improved
                • lovebird06
                  lovebird06Friday, August 21, 2020 at 8:53 am55 stars
                  i love it!!!!
                  • iceagebaby
                    iceagebabyThursday, August 13, 2020 at 9:47 am11 star
                    I'm going to be completely honest and this review is for the whole series. Rachel Renee Russel did a HORRIBLE job writing this book. Excuse me if I sound rude. If we look inside Nikki's head its completely messed up and there is no logic in it. Nikki makes herself look like that she's bullied endlessly and that everyone is against her and that Brandon sees her as a friend and nothing more or even less than that, when the TRUTH is that Nikki has everything she wants and needs. She has a famous band, Actually I Don't Really Know Yet, she has the chance to go to Paris or a Bad Boyz concert, AND she had a expensive party that probably cost more that my phone. The worst part is that she denies that Brandon has a crush on her, like honey its OBVIOUS HE DOES. And the book has the same formula every time. Nikki starts of her diary complaining about something or mooning after Brandon. Finds out how to make a big deal out of it and then starts complaining. Then McKenzie does something bad to Nikki and then Nikki freaks out, a little romance time with Brandon then SOMEHOW everything is OK. Also, another thing to add is that NO eight grader/15 year old acts this way! EVER! A normal eighth grader is WAYYY more chill than this. I get why 3rd-5th graders would read this but if you're younger than this it has some bad examples like to sulk instead of facing your problem and that your problems will never go away which can lead to low self-esteem. And if you're older than that then you need to grow up and realize that life won't always be like Nikki's life. I don't want to sound like my mom but she's a poor role model for little kids and that we should be reading about people facing their problems and taking control of their life. Not this. Thank you if you took your time to read this. I really appreciate it!
                    • vbq0210mu21c
                      vbq0210mu21cSaturday, September 12, 2020 at 10:44 am11 star
                      I agree. Nikki blames pretty much EVERYTHING on Makenzie. If you read closely SHE IS INNOCENT! So yeah pretty BAD book. Sorry if i sound rude but COME ON DUDE! The author feels like she is just trying to get it over with. And she has EVERYTHING! She has to new B.F.FS and also feels like she pretty much dissed her old ones. Never even calls them. NOT ONCE! Does not even say their names. She complains about Brandon but he CLEARLY likes her and has a crush on her. This deserves ONE star only. I will give it zero if possible. >:(
                      • squirrelflight
                        squirrelflightSaturday, September 12, 2020 at 9:01 am11 star
                        I agree with you, @iceagebaby. All my friends recommend Dork Diaries, but I feel like Nikki is sort of immature, and I also don’t like realistic fiction.
                        • roxanne3
                          roxanne3Friday, September 11, 2020 at 9:33 am
                          I have never read this series, but this is honestly a great review!!! I'm glad you stated your opinion like this, that doesn't happen very often on reviews like this :)
                          • imunicornlover1
                            imunicornlover1Wednesday, September 2, 2020 at 3:56 pm
                            hmm know that I think about it kinda true? But I think in the latest books she has changed a bit with more how should I say it... confidence?
                            • iceagebaby
                              iceagebabyFriday, September 11, 2020 at 8:22 am11 star
                              i don't really think so but I respect your opinion.
                              • teagytornado101
                                teagytornado101Friday, September 11, 2020 at 11:03 am11 star
                                I totally agree with you! She did a horrible job on this. (Not trying to be rude). I really think she could of tried harder. Also, I followed you!
                            • iloveaudreylucy
                              iloveaudreylucySaturday, August 29, 2020 at 12:25 pm
                              Finally, someone who agrees with me!
                            • sylvie55555
                              sylvie55555Thursday, August 13, 2020 at 9:32 am55 stars
                              Nikki Maxwell is not excited to be going to a new school. Not only is she a total dork who has no friends, McKenzie, the most popular girl in school seems to hate her! What will Nikki do? Well at least she has two new BFF's Chloe and Zoey. Nikki wants to enter the art contest, but she's too afraid at what McKenzie will do! Will Nikki be able to stick up for herself and enter the contest? Read the book to find out! Happy Reading!