Dork Diaries 8: Tales from a Not-So-Happily Ever After

Book 8 of 13 in the Dork Diaries Books Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.323500

Nikki Maxwell’s favorite fairy tales get dork-tastic twists in the eighth book of the #1 New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series!

After a bump on the head in gym class on April Fool’s Day, Nikki has a wild dream in which she, her BFFs Chloe and Zoey, her crush Brandon, and mean girl Mackenzie all end up playing the roles of some familiar classic fairy tale characters. Of course, the stories don’t go quite as expected—because they each have a very special Dork Diaries spin!

The Dork Diaries series has more than 13 million copies in print worldwide!

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on September 30, 2014 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1481421840
ISBN-13: 9781481421843
250 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • toodorky
    toodorkySunday, July 12, 2020 at 10:15 am55 stars
    This book is kind of weird, but it was good nonetheless. Nikki was just playing dodgeball in her pe class when Mackenzie hits her on the head with a ball. Nikki goes unconscious and enters her brain is a state of panic. Why? Because she ended up in a world of fairy tales! How will she get back home? Or does she not want to?
    • ravenclaw12321
      ravenclaw12321Wednesday, July 1, 2020 at 8:23 am44 stars
      Nikki Maxwell gets hit by a ball in gym class, thrown by her arch enemy, Mackenzie Hollister. She there lands in fairy tale land and must return back home. There she meets a fairy godmother, goldilocks, Red riding Hood, Prince Charming, the evil Witch of the West. But wait, they all look FAMILIAR!!
      • swirlycool
        swirlycoolTuesday, June 9, 2020 at 2:04 pm55 stars
        Nikki's day is not off to a good start. She realizes the stares she gets in the hall are not a good thing, it turns out her sister's sandwich was on her sweater. To make things worse, her sister also drew something on her phone case. In class, Nikki had to write a fairytale. When she gets to P.E., Mackenzie throws a ball at her face really hard, causing her to lose consciousness and fall into a fairytale dream. I recommend this book to people who like the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, or people who enjoy the other Dork Diaries books. I rate this book 5/5.
        • sunshine_sunlig
          sunshine_sunligMonday, June 8, 2020 at 2:52 am44 stars
          I love dork dairys
          • warriorsgirl11
            warriorsgirl11Saturday, June 6, 2020 at 9:22 pm55 stars
            After a bump on the head by a dodgeball thrown by MacKenzie in gym class on April Fool's Day, Nikki Maxwell has a wild dream in which she, her BFFs Chloe Garcia and Zoey Franklin, her crush Brandon Roberts, and mean girl MacKenzie all end up playing the roles of some familiar classic fairy tale characters. I can't believe Mackenzie would do that!
            • Sassy girlTuesday, October 22, 2019 at 1:36 am
              I love this series so much it's the best I love it but I'm just saying who wouldn't like it? Like everybody that has said something must be a fan of these blokes becouse there so good I give a rate 5/5 if I could rate more I would I love these like my comment if u agree♡
              • Reem Thursday, September 19, 2019 at 2:02 pm
                I love this book I usually hates reAding book but this book is different I can’t stop reading this book
                • xeta
                  xetaMonday, August 12, 2019 at 10:06 am44 stars
                  I found this book pretty fun, silly, and it was enjoyable and funny as usual. However, it seemed like a bit of a filler. Still, it's a good book and while some may consider not worth the read, i still consider it pretty good. ~ Xeta <3
                  • dorkydonutMonday, May 27, 2019 at 11:36 am
                    I love this book its so funny great book rate 5 stars
                    • DorkFriday, May 3, 2019 at 3:36 pm
                      Hi I a girl who used to have no friends but when I read the book it was give u 5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐s I 💘 your books