Dork Diaries 8: Tales from a Not-So-Happily Ever After

Book 8 of 13 in the Dork Diaries Books Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.323500

Nikki Maxwell’s favorite fairy tales get dork-tastic twists in the eighth book of the #1 New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series!

After a bump on the head in gym class on April Fool’s Day, Nikki has a wild dream in which she, her BFFs Chloe and Zoey, her crush Brandon, and mean girl Mackenzie all end up playing the roles of some familiar classic fairy tale characters. Of course, the stories don’t go quite as expected—because they each have a very special Dork Diaries spin!

The Dork Diaries series has more than 13 million copies in print worldwide!

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on September 30, 2014 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1481421840
ISBN-13: 9781481421843
258 Book Reviews
  • blasting-banana
    blasting-bananaThursday, February 4, 2021 at 12:50 pm44 stars
    It was good but not the best
    • upside
      upsideWednesday, January 20, 2021 at 12:05 pm
      This is my favourite.
      • ilovetacoslol
        ilovetacoslolFriday, January 8, 2021 at 3:04 pm55 stars
        This book is amazing!
        • peachy_vsco
          peachy_vscoFriday, January 8, 2021 at 9:20 am55 stars
          Love it so much!
          • gemluvssoccer37
            gemluvssoccer37Tuesday, January 5, 2021 at 3:39 pm55 stars
            What a #CRAZY dream!
            • AdorbsFriday, December 4, 2020 at 9:10 pm
              I would love to read this book but I don't have more money!
              • lottiestar
                lottiestarThursday, November 26, 2020 at 7:45 pm55 stars
                this book is awesome!! i totally recommend it !!
                • bsc
                  bscThursday, November 26, 2020 at 8:23 am33 stars
                  I'll be honest....I was skeptical of reading this book. I thought it was going to be mean spirited, and make the reader feel depressed. But I was wrong! This book was funny and the drawings were SO good! Nikki's day hadn't started too good- who wants to get Brianna's missing sandwich on her brand new outfit? But her day turns extra bad when in gym, Mackenzie hits Nikki right in the head, super hard with a dodgeball! Nikki falls into a magical world and sees that the story characters are....her friends and family! Will Nikki get out and get back to the human world? I rate this book 3/5 stars. Happy reading!
                  • magicalmythical
                    magicalmythicalMonday, August 31, 2020 at 6:00 pm55 stars
                    This fairytale that Nikki Maxwell gets into is one of the most fab stories I had ever heard!!!!!!!!!!
                    • sylvie55555
                      sylvie55555Thursday, August 13, 2020 at 9:34 am44 stars
                      This is a book in the Dork Diaries series, and it is super funny! Nikki is bonked in the head... hard! When Mackenzie hits Nikki in the head with a doge-ball, she gets transported into a magical world! How will she get home? Read the book to find out! Happy Reading!