Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 3 - 5n/a4.519879
The sequel to the heartwarming and inspirational movie Dolphin Tale! In theaters September 19, 2014.

Dolphin Tale 2 is another true story inspired by the life of Winter, a dolphin who was badly injured and needed a prosthetic tail to survive. In DT2, Winter gets a co-star named Hope! Hope is a baby dolphin who was rescued by the Clearwater Marine Aquarium in 2010, five years and one day after Winter was rescued.

The same all-star cast returns for DT2, including Harry Connick Jr., Ashley Judd, Morgan Freeman, and Kris Kristofferson. Winter and Hope will play themselves in the movie, too!

Includes an eight-page insert with color photos from the movie.
Paperback, 144 pages
Published on July 29, 2014 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 054568174X
ISBN-13: 9780545681742
9 Book Reviews
  • leiker1414
    leiker1414Sunday, July 12, 2020 at 2:36 pm55 stars
    I totally recommend it. When a baby dolphin is found in shallow waters off the coast of Florida, she is rushed to the Clearwater Marine aquarium for help. Sawyer and hazel welcome the baby, naming her hope, but the young dolphin isn't doing so well in her new home. Her health is in jeopardy, and everyone is uncertain if winter will except her as a friend or foe. Tell me if that makes any sense of not.
    • moonlightwolf
      moonlightwolfTuesday, November 5, 2019 at 8:43 am55 stars
      When a dolphin named Winter loses her tail due to a crab trap, Sawyer thinks it is hopeless. They manage to get a prosthetic tail and she is better than ever. When Winter's mate Panama dies she is so depressed that she doesn't eat, or come out from under a platform that is over her tank. Thankfully Clearwater Aquarium gets a new dolphin. A baby named Hope who can never go back to the wild because she is too young. Hope and Winter at first do not like each other, but after Hope gets used to Winter's prosthetic tail they become the bast of friend. This is a true story of a little dolphin that had a big change.
      • elevatecamp
        elevatecampMonday, November 4, 2019 at 12:41 pm55 stars
        I love this book soooooooooooooooooooooooo much
        • elevatecamp
          elevatecampMonday, November 4, 2019 at 12:31 pm55 stars
          I LOVE DIS BOOKKKKKKKKKKKKK is amazing and its cute and i think it should get a award i even watched both movies!
          • mary_soccer14
            mary_soccer14Tuesday, October 8, 2019 at 7:00 pm55 stars
            Dolphin Tale 2 is about a dolphin named Winter who has a prosthetic tail due to a crab trap getting stuck on her tail. Winter will never be able to go back to the ocean because of her prosthetic, so she will stay in the Clearwater Marine Aquarium. Winter's mate dies leaving her very sad; she wouldn't come out from under the platform in her pool. To add on top of all of that due to regulations if Winter doesn't get a mate she could be taken away. Later, the staff rescues a young dolphin and name her Hope. Hope is so young she hasn't fully developed the skill of catching fish. This means she can't go out to be wild again. Will Hope and Winter be paired? Read the book to find out!
            • jj14
              jj14Thursday, March 30, 2017 at 11:31 am
              Do you remember a dolphin named Winter? In dolphin tale 2 winter gets a new friend for baby Hope! Baby Hope is sick will she survive? The book is really good and is based on a real dolphin! One reason why Dolphins are great swimmers! Dolphins are great swimmers and they are fast swimmers and dolphins can communicate with each other and they can put on shows and they can do many extreme tricks! The second reason Why this story is amazing and upsetting! These novels are great and tricklatng! These are all the things you’ll learn in this story!
              • jj14
                jj14Thursday, March 30, 2017 at 11:29 am
                Do you remember a dolphin named Winter? In dolphin tale 2 winter gets a new friend for baby Hope! Baby Hope is sick will she survive? The book is really good and is based on a real dolphin! One reason why Dolphins are great swimmers! Dolphins are great swimmers and they are fast swimmers and dolphins can communicate with each other and they can put on shows and they can do many extreme tricks! The second reason Why this story is amazing and upsetting! These novels are great and trickling!These are all the things you’ll learn in this story!
                • friend4
                  friend4Thursday, June 18, 2015 at 2:00 pm
                  seems good. i haven't read it though. i've seen the movie so i know the story but i might still read the book some time
                  • gymnast4
                    gymnast4Thursday, June 18, 2015 at 1:46 pm55 stars
                    i love this book! there is so much funny parts and there's a lot of suspense! It's such a great book i recomend you read the book.