Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a4.8105143

This first book in Veronica Roth's #1 New York Times bestselling Divergent trilogy is the novel the inspired the major motion picture starring Shailene Woodley, Theo James, and Kate Winslet. This dystopian series set in a futuristic Chicago has captured the hearts of millions of teen and adult readers.

Perfect for fans of the Hunger Games and Maze Runner series, Divergent and its sequels, Insurgent and Allegiant, are the gripping story of a dystopian world transformed by courage, self-sacrifice, and love. Fans of the Divergent movie will find the book packed with just as much emotional depth and exhilarating action as the film, all told in beautiful, rich language.

One choice can transform you. Beatrice Prior's society is divided into five factions—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). Beatrice must choose between staying with her Abnegation family and transferring factions. Her choice will shock her community and herself. But the newly christened Tris also has a secret, one she's determined to keep hidden, because in this world, what makes you different makes you dangerous.

And don't miss Veronica Roth’s thrilling novel Carve the Mark.

Hardcover
Published on October 22, 2013 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062278789
ISBN-13: 9780062278784
725 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • mercury_dust
    mercury_dustThursday, February 25, 2021 at 9:05 am44 stars
    It was a great book with a lot of plot twists, l was up till 12:00 am reading it and l don't regret it one bit. Tris Prior is a teenage girl living in a dystopian world, where there are five factions: Abnegation, Dauntless, Erudite, Candor, and Amity. Tris chooses Dauntless, who pursue bravery above everything else. But Tris has a secret. She is a Divergent and will never fit into just one faction.
    • ravioli4me77
      ravioli4me77Sunday, February 7, 2021 at 2:58 pm55 stars
      This book is a really good book; I enjoyed it a lot. This is really for older kids because of violence and inappropriate scenes, but if you are allowed to read it, you should. At first, it could be a little confusing, but it starts to really pick up to pace from there. To be honest, I would say this is for 13-15+ because one of the scenes is... well, um... very, very... let's say, interesting. I really admire Beatrice/Tris's bravery, courage, and overall attitude because, "One choice can transform you." She had ups and downs to get through, with a bunch of "friends" such as Four, and "betrayers" such as Peter, but got through it. Perilous journeys, super addicting actions that you can just get away from, and dilemmas that have tricky situations, are all factors to a good book, and DIVERGENT. This book is kind of like the Spurge, so that's already a warning... right?
      • pippin_5
        pippin_5Sunday, February 7, 2021 at 8:55 am55 stars
        This is such a action packed adrenaline rush book written by Veronica Roth! I definitely recommend it! Even though a lot people did not like a lot of the elements of the story, that’s ok, dystopian books aren’t for everyone! But do really recommend rereading this book to understand ALL the details and it does explain a lot of unanswered questions in the next books of the trilogy! Now, the message of this book is: standing up for what you think is right, embracing being different (Divergent)! I’m not gonna put a rating on this book because really depends on the person but, make sure to ask a parent/guardian first because it has a lot of action/violence/blood, some romance etc... overall, this book will keep you reading deep into the night and it’s IMPOSSIBLE to put down! The order of the books go Divergent (#1), Insurgent (#2), Allegiant (#3). The books go slightly down hill in how good they are, but I guarantee you, you’ll enjoy them all the same!! I agree with Roxanne3 too! Like and follow please! Bye!! -Pippin_5
        • roxanne3
          roxanne3Saturday, February 6, 2021 at 10:54 am55 starsFeatured
          I think this is an incredible book. I know not everyone agrees, but I respect your opinions. I think this may be my favorite book, and that's really saying something!! I disagree with @choele on a lot of levels- 1. Tris really isn't a good role model to current teens, yes, but you have to realize that this is a dystopian future novel. Under the circumstances, she did what she thought was best and it really was. 2. Yes, there are very violent scenes, but anyone choosing to read this should know at this point that it is violent. If you want to read this but don't know if you should, maybe ask a parent, older sibling, or librarian if they think it is right for you. Sadly you shouldn't ask me because I don't know you.... 3. Yeah, I mean the vocabulary isn't very advanced, but it's not terrible and sometimes that's not what you need in a book. I think a lot of people might actually be looking for books that don't have that super hard vocab, so that it is easier to read and understand the story. 4. Dauntless fits in because the other factions really do need protection. What ends up happening is not what everyone is expecting but, they are needed because face it: in the real world, police are needed!! Heroes that can jump in whenever needed!! People like police, firefighters, military, etc. They would all be from Dauntless or Abnegation. 5. Ok, I understand what @choele said about Eurdite, but keep in mind that they WERE the bad guys, so that's just expected right? And 6, yes Divergent may be needed but remember that this IS fictional!! This is just a novel and I personally think it is an amazing one. I do recommend this to anyone over 13 or 14, unless you are a super advanced reader 😉 and have parental permission 😉 Thanks for reading my review!! Don't forget to follow me!!! 🥰
          • roxanne3
            roxanne3Saturday, February 6, 2021 at 10:55 am55 stars
            And let me just add that I am kiiiiiiiind of in love with Four....... 😘
            • ravioli4me77
              ravioli4me77Sunday, February 7, 2021 at 6:02 pm55 stars
              Tobias would be very disappointed/cross with you for calling him "Four", LOL
          • Amelia Tuesday, January 26, 2021 at 1:38 am
            It's so amazing
            • kurz
              kurzFriday, January 8, 2021 at 6:33 am11 star
              I loved the entire series
              • Eva Wednesday, December 30, 2020 at 3:31 am
                i Love the whole Book 🤣🤣🤣
                • chocolate168
                  chocolate168Sunday, December 27, 2020 at 3:52 pm33 stars
                  I... Uh... I didn't really enjoy this book that much. I felt that there were certain parts that I enjoyed, but overall, the book just wasn't that good. I don't know why this book is supposed to be one of the best. However, I don't regret reading it. That is all I have to say. Oh, and I (mostly) agree with chloele.
                  • chocolate168
                    chocolate168Sunday, December 27, 2020 at 3:59 pm33 stars
                    I also want to add that perhaps I missed something. I usually don't but it's possible. Maybe my discontentment is the result of not finishing the whole series. Perhaps. I checked out the next two books. Might read them...
                  • disneyfan2020
                    disneyfan2020Tuesday, December 8, 2020 at 10:44 am55 stars
                    One of the best books ever! Very long though. I managed to finish it in a week but take all the time you need.
                    • chloele
                      chloeleMonday, November 30, 2020 at 6:45 pm11 star
                      If I could have given no stars, I would. I do not this book. Tris is a real bad role model. I don't get why people love this book. I DEFINITELY DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS BOOK. There are scenes when things grow really inappropriate and violent. The whole plot should be fit for ages 16 and above, but the vocabulary is fit for 4th graders. Authors should use more vocabulary for books that have these kind of plots. The book also does not have enough details. Why did Beatrice chose Dauntless over Abnegation? Why did she switch her name to Tris? Why not other name? Dauntless also does not fit with the other four groups. Why is Dauntless even allowed in the group? They teach violence while the others teaches harmony, peace, and joy. Dauntless is supposed to be made as a military, that is keeping the people safe. Instead, they attack each other until they are unconscious, jump off buildings, and do more violent things the military should not do. This book also does not make any sense. The others that are not divergent are weak-minded for being good at one thing? More details. Another thing is that the Erudite wanted to get rid of the factionless. Why? Are they so disgusting even though they try their best on making a little food and clothing off their jobs? Do the Erudite want to drive buses and pick up garbage like the factionless? Is that the reason why they want to get rid of the factionless? The factionless work day and night for food and your attitude is to get rid of them? And why is every job fit for one type of group? To be honest, every job requires Divergent. For example, the Dauntless needs Erudite (intelligence) and Abnegation (selflessness) to defend the people. In the book, the Abnegation work in the medical field because they have selflessness, but when you work in the medical field, you also need Erudite (intelligence). This book just does not have any logic.
                      • pippin_5
                        pippin_5Sunday, February 7, 2021 at 9:06 am55 stars
                        Hey Cholele! I do agree that Tris isn’t the best role model, but if you think about it, that why we all root for Tris to the end, because we can see ourselves in her (since all humans don’t always make the best choices)! But, if you would like to have a lot of your unanswered questions answered, I definitely recommend to read the next books! Because Veronica Roth answers almost all those questions in the next ones! Like for example: Why did Tris choose to go to Dauntless instead of staying in Abnegation? Tris chose Dauntless because she thought she was to good for Abnegation and she wanted to live life being free. Bye!! -Pippin_5
                        • kgbradshaw
                          kgbradshawSaturday, December 26, 2020 at 6:13 pm44 stars
                          The book actually explains most of those questions very thoroughly. Maybe you didn't read it well enough...
                          • minimiri
                            minimiriWednesday, December 9, 2020 at 8:20 am44 stars
                            I can see how you would think this is confusing. Yes it is very violent and should probably be a YA book, and yeah, some parts are not the most appropriate. I do agree with you that Tris however is not a good role model. She get's recognition because she had an aptitude test for 4 out of the 5 factions. I have to agree that she is not the best of role models. But I can see how people can agree with her. She is not a hero as most people in books are. That may be why she isn't a good role model. She is not incredibly smart, strong, brave, kind, or anything. She is just an average person. People sometimes read books because they want to get a sense of someone different, and when you come to this book, you find a main character that's just like you or me, but living in a dystopian universe. That's why some people like this book because they see themselves in Tris. I know that sounds super corny but it's true. I also understand the Dauntless situation. Dauntless isn't like the rest of the factions, and Veronica Roth, I think made it that way. She wanted Dauntless to be different. She wanted to show that while there is peace, and harmony in the world, there are also people like the Dauntless, who are violent. That is basically our world now. We are not looking at something that is different than our world today, we are looking at the same thing, just set in a different time. Think about how separated they are. They have a choice of what trait they want to be known as. The selfless, the smart, the brave, the peaceful, the honest. They can make that choice. Why I really like this book, is because of the concept. There are other books like the Hunger Games, which I love but it is a world where you don't make a choice. You are stuck with what your stuck in and theirs rarely something you can do about it. Divergent however you have a choice. You can choose your faction. Tris chose Dauntless, because she wasn't honest enough to be in Candor, she felt that compared to her brother and her parents, she wasn't selfless enough to be in Abnegation, and she didn't want to be in Erudite because of her fathers grudge against them. She didn't see a point in going to Amity. Her main choices were to stay in Abnegation or go to Dauntless. It's a unique idea, that hasn't been placed in a book I have read before. I think that it is a type of book you either hate or love. I don't think Tris is the best role model and I think the story line can get fuzzy, but I think it is a unique concept, and you should read the series. And in my opinion the second 2 are better.