Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 6n/a5.7110354

The explosive conclusion to Veronica Roth's #1 New York Times bestselling Divergent trilogy reveals the secrets of the dystopian world that captivated millions of readers and film fans in Divergent and Insurgent.

One choice will define you. What if your whole world was a lie? What if a single revelation—like a single choice—changed everything? What if love and loyalty made you do things you never expected?

Told from a riveting dual perspective, this third installment in the series follows Tris and Tobias as they battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and their selves—while facing impossible choices of courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

And don't miss Veronica Roth’s thrilling novel Carve the Mark .

Hardcover, 544 pages
Published on October 22, 2013 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 006202406X
ISBN-13: 9780062024060
137 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • girlpower4ever
    girlpower4everMonday, July 6, 2020 at 2:32 pm55 starsFeatured
    In the groundbreaking last installment of the bestselling Divergent trilogy, Tris and Tobias' fates balance on the point of a knife. Evelyn Johnson, Tobias' mother, now rules Chicago along with the rebels, but life is the same as when the factions thrived - possibly worse. Even after Tris risked her life to reveal the truth about the creation of the factions, Evelyn refuses to do anything about it, continuing to lock everyone inside the city at the hands of the rebels. In the midst of riots and confusion, Tris and Tobias join the group of people ready to break out of Chicago called the Allegiant. But they meet several casualties along the way, including immobilization and deaths. And even when the Allegiant cross Chicago's borders, the truth about the world is uglier than they ever imagined. Chicago's factions were simply an experiment by the American government; Divergents are pure-blooded, and everyone else is considered "genetically damaged"; and every single thing the city of Chicago went through was orchestrated, including the Abnegation massacre. From there on, it all begins to deteriorate. Secrets, rumors, and betrayals fly as bonds of love are tested. The Allegiant rises against the all-powerful US government. Friends are imprisoned and die. But in the end, all it takes is one choice. And though Tris is a genetically-pure Divergent, she is far from invincible. A gorgeous, shattered, heartbreaking story, Veronica Roth weaves the last Divergent book with lost kisses and the salt of tears.
    • AbedaTuesday, June 30, 2020 at 12:44 pm
      Love this book...Stunning and awesomely written! Tris, Four, and the rest of their friends have uncovered a horrifying secret—and the world is more dangerous than any of them thought. Can they reveal the truth? Read Allegiant to find out! I didn’t really like the ending of the book, though, because it was really sad, but I would still give this 4.5/5 stars.
      • its_nathan_11
        its_nathan_11Wednesday, May 6, 2020 at 8:03 am
        Just started to read it, awesome!
        • K23A8Monday, January 6, 2020 at 11:29 am
          This was a great series. And then this book came out. And I died. I'm not going to spoil it for all ya'll that haven't read the book, but are you SERIOUS?!?! The whole book was GREAT up until that last part, and I honestly think Veronica Roth could've come up with a better ending. HOWEVER--it was also a really bad situation, and a super hard thing to do, so I think Roth probably deserves some credit. Overall, this was an amazing series if you want a little of this and a little of that, but I personally was disappointed with the ending, if you didn't catch that vibe. --K23A8
          • invincikitty
            invincikittySaturday, December 7, 2019 at 1:54 pm55 stars
            I decided to read this book because I didn't have my mind made up, so you can say that I accidentally stumbled upon this book. I just loved this book because I am a great reader and I thought that this is a very good book. I enjoyed it very much. I hope you enjoy it the same.
            • emmnma
              emmnmaMonday, November 11, 2019 at 6:53 am55 stars
              This book is the third of the Divergent series and I think it is a great way to end the book. It is very sad at the end but all together it is a great book!!!!
              • sylvie55555
                sylvie55555Tuesday, July 16, 2019 at 2:39 pm55 stars
                This is the third book in this trilogy and Tris and Four are discovering that there is a world out there bigger then theirs. But as they discover more things, Tris is faced with a deadly choice. What will she do? Read the book to find out! This is one of my favorite books ever it is so meaningful and it really explores a lot of topics that are really hard to write about in an amazing way. # best book ever # VERONICA ROTH IS THE BEST
                • ccplayzxd
                  ccplayzxdMonday, April 15, 2019 at 11:57 am55 stars
                  This is my third favorite book right next to #1 Divergent, and #2 Insurgent. This whole series is amazing and I'm on my 3rd time around on reading it. Veronica Roth did such an amazing job on developing the characters and I have read some of her other books as well! Amazing work!
                  • wonderwoman113
                    wonderwoman113Thursday, March 7, 2019 at 7:09 am55 stars
                    Best book ever!
                    • ajg16
                      ajg16Tuesday, November 13, 2018 at 8:07 pm33 stars
                      You know I gotta be honest with y'all. This book was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING not just this book though this entire trilogy I couldn't have asked for a better series to find. So glad the name caught my eye at the library! (This is not a very informative review sorry) but I'm just gonna say this - WHY!? JUST WHYYYYYY!? (When you read the books you'll understand) to: those who have read it, am i the only one who hated the end? I'm gonna end this here for the same of no spoilers.. Thanks for reading (this lame) - Ajg15's Reviews