Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 6n/a5.7110354

The explosive conclusion to Veronica Roth's #1 New York Times bestselling Divergent trilogy reveals the secrets of the dystopian world that captivated millions of readers and film fans in Divergent and Insurgent.

One choice will define you. What if your whole world was a lie? What if a single revelation—like a single choice—changed everything? What if love and loyalty made you do things you never expected?

Told from a riveting dual perspective, this third installment in the series follows Tris and Tobias as they battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and their selves—while facing impossible choices of courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

And don't miss Veronica Roth’s thrilling novel Carve the Mark .

Hardcover, 544 pages
Published on October 22, 2013 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 006202406X
ISBN-13: 9780062024060
134 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • K23A8Monday, January 6, 2020 at 11:29 am
    This was a great series. And then this book came out. And I died. I'm not going to spoil it for all ya'll that haven't read the book, but are you SERIOUS?!?! The whole book was GREAT up until that last part, and I honestly think Veronica Roth could've come up with a better ending. HOWEVER--it was also a really bad situation, and a super hard thing to do, so I think Roth probably deserves some credit. Overall, this was an amazing series if you want a little of this and a little of that, but I personally was disappointed with the ending, if you didn't catch that vibe. --K23A8
    • invincikitty
      invincikittySaturday, December 7, 2019 at 1:54 pm55 stars
      I decided to read this book because I didn't have my mind made up, so you can say that I accidentally stumbled upon this book. I just loved this book because I am a great reader and I thought that this is a very good book. I enjoyed it very much. I hope you enjoy it the same.
      • emmnma
        emmnmaMonday, November 11, 2019 at 6:53 am55 stars
        This book is the third of the Divergent series and I think it is a great way to end the book. It is very sad at the end but all together it is a great book!!!!
        • sylvie55555
          sylvie55555Tuesday, July 16, 2019 at 2:39 pm55 stars
          This is the third book in this trilogy and Tris and Four are discovering that there is a world out there bigger then theirs. But as they discover more things, Tris is faced with a deadly choice. What will she do? Read the book to find out! This is one of my favorite books ever it is so meaningful and it really explores a lot of topics that are really hard to write about in an amazing way. # best book ever # VERONICA ROTH IS THE BEST
          • ccplayzxd
            ccplayzxdMonday, April 15, 2019 at 11:57 am55 stars
            This is my third favorite book right next to #1 Divergent, and #2 Insurgent. This whole series is amazing and I'm on my 3rd time around on reading it. Veronica Roth did such an amazing job on developing the characters and I have read some of her other books as well! Amazing work!
            • wonderwoman113
              wonderwoman113Thursday, March 7, 2019 at 7:09 am55 stars
              Best book ever!
              • ajg16
                ajg16Tuesday, November 13, 2018 at 8:07 pm33 stars
                You know I gotta be honest with y'all. This book was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING not just this book though this entire trilogy I couldn't have asked for a better series to find. So glad the name caught my eye at the library! (This is not a very informative review sorry) but I'm just gonna say this - WHY!? JUST WHYYYYYY!? (When you read the books you'll understand) to: those who have read it, am i the only one who hated the end? I'm gonna end this here for the same of no spoilers.. Thanks for reading (this lame) - Ajg15's Reviews
                • olliebob
                  olliebobWednesday, October 24, 2018 at 1:05 pm22 stars
                  I gave this book such a low rating because, to be honest, it really was just okay. And that's not even taking into account the ending, which I HATED. I'm gonna have some spoilers in here, so, you've been warned. Alright, so a small group of rebels called Allegiant make it out of the city and what they find shocks them. It is not the war-torn apocalyptic place that Edith Prior made it out to be. Instead they find a compound and learn that there are more test cities besides theirs. They know they must do something, and, well, let's just say that at one point, everyone's mad at Tobias, so then they make a plan with some other people to tell their whole city the truth and take away the compounds power. Part of their plan is that someone has to go on a suicide mission to get a serum. Caleb volunteers to try to make it up to Tris after he betrayed her. But Tris forces him to let her take on the mission. And here is the part when I freaked out; Tris died. TRIS DIED!!!!! At first I was thinking, this has to be a mistake. How are they going to make her come back to life? And then they told Tobias and I was like, this is permanent?!?!?!?! I've got to give Roth some credit. Actually killing the main character is definitely original and outside the norm. Nevertheless, I hated the ending. With a passion. It's just... Tris and Tobias were such a good couple!!! Anyway, I guess I'd recommend reading the first two books and then imagining and ending rather than reading this book. It will be easier on your tear ducts.
                  • ajg16
                    ajg16Saturday, December 8, 2018 at 2:25 pm33 stars
                    Tris and Tobias was such a good couple. Worst ending ever. :(
                    • ccplayzxd
                      ccplayzxdMonday, April 15, 2019 at 11:58 am55 stars
                      I know I never cry really so it didn't make me cry but I was close :D
                  • ccplayzofficial
                    ccplayzofficialMonday, April 30, 2018 at 12:47 pm55 stars
                    This is a very good book Love it so muuuuuuchhhhh
                    • skyflower121
                      skyflower121Sunday, December 10, 2017 at 12:34 pm55 stars
                      I love this series, from the suspense Tris goes through and then *SPOILER ALERT* dies!!!! I still love this book though!