Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 1 - 3K2.8536

#1 New York Times Bestseller!

This hilarious picture book from the bestselling, acclaimed author-illustrator team of Doreen Cronin and Harry Bliss tells the adventures of a worm through his daily diary entries.

This is the diary of a worm. This worm lives with his parents, plays with his friends, and even goes to school. But unlike you or me, he never has to take a bath, he gets to eat his homework, and because he doesn't have legs, he just can't do the hokey pokey—no matter how hard he tries.

Read the other books in the series: Diary of a Fly and Diary of a Spider!

Hardcover, 40 pages
Published on August 14, 2003 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 006000150X
ISBN-13: 9780060001506
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sophiazhang123
    sophiazhang123Thursday, October 13, 2016 at 2:30 pm44 stars
    This looks funny and weird to me but I think its good to read and I prefer it to those who like to read about someone's diary, this and that
    • thor923
      thor923Tuesday, October 27, 2015 at 11:26 pm
      I haven't read the book but I've heard it's SUPER funny
      • bunnytech
        bunnytechTuesday, October 27, 2015 at 2:34 pm33 stars
        I used to read it when I'm little. LIKED IT!
        • jazzkazz
          jazzkazzTuesday, October 27, 2015 at 2:36 am
          But, this is now so boring. I am 10.
          • jazzkazz
            jazzkazzTuesday, October 27, 2015 at 2:35 am
            Wow!
            • neonbook
              neonbookSaturday, October 24, 2015 at 5:09 am55 stars
              Want to read it..everyone is telling its funny so i love funny stuff 😆
              • neonbook
                neonbookSaturday, October 24, 2015 at 5:02 am55 stars
                Well i guss like sounds intresting!! I want it badly
                • demosthenes
                  demosthenesFriday, October 23, 2015 at 8:42 am55 stars
                  my mother read this book to my younger sister and I began listening. afterwards I read it three more times. I love the worms view of the world, and his life.
                  • neonbook
                    neonbookSaturday, October 24, 2015 at 5:03 am55 stars
                    Really..thats v good to hear that ur mom read that to u and ur sis
                    • demosthenes
                      demosthenesSaturday, October 24, 2015 at 9:08 am55 stars
                      My mother loves to read middle-grade books to us. she read us Suzzan Collins books
                  • storm48
                    storm48Tuesday, October 20, 2015 at 10:17 am
                    Diary of a worm is a book about a worm that has a friend and his friend is not a worm it is a spider and that worm goes to school and does many activitys small things for us are huge things for them in the beigining of the story he has three things to remember but to figure out read the book most of the story is funny .I want to tell you to read this book it is a really good book oh did I say good I mean great book I hope you read this book!!!!!
                    • neonbook
                      neonbookSaturday, October 24, 2015 at 5:05 am55 stars
                      I like ur way of telling what happend frm the story
                    • soccer34
                      soccer34Tuesday, October 20, 2015 at 10:15 am
                      Dairy of a worm by Doreen Cronin is a book about a worm telling all of what happened every month.It's very funny because the worm eats his homework because he forgot his lunch. He thinks digging tunnels helps the earth breathe. This book is great for kids because it's very funny. The worm is the main character he is in all pages. My favorite part was the first two pages it was the funniest. You should read this book it's very good so go to the library and get the book. It's great for all ages.😉