Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10T5.219784
Boys don’t keep diaries—or do they?

The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate to

It’s a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you’re ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.

In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley’s star starts to rise, Greg tries to use his best friend’s newfound popularity to his own advantage, kicking off a chain of events that will test their friendship in hilarious fashion.

Author/illustrator Jeff Kinney recalls the growing pains of school life and introduces a new kind of hero who epitomizes the challenges of being a kid. As Greg says in his diary, “Just don’t expect me to be all ‘Dear Diary’ this and ‘Dear Diary’ that.” Luckily for us, what Greg Heffley says he won’t do and what he actually does are two very different things.

Since its launch in May 2004 on Funbrain.com, the Web version of Diary of a Wimpy Kid has been viewed by 20 million unique online readers. This year, it is averaging 70,000 readers a day.
F&P level: T
Paperback, 224 pages
ISBN-10: 0141324902
ISBN-13: 9780810971493
973 Book Reviews
  • kaitlyn0802
    kaitlyn0802Thursday, July 8, 2021 at 1:14 am55 stars
    It is about Greg’s life and it was fun
    • devinp50
      devinp50Thursday, May 20, 2021 at 8:19 am55 stars
      I like this book
      • kittylover111
        kittylover111Wednesday, May 5, 2021 at 2:23 pm55 stars
        It's middle school for Greg Heffley! He and his best friend Rowley Jefferson are beginning school with problems, girl drama, and boy drama, along with cheese drama?? That's right! The moldy cheese everyone's talking about, that started the era of the cheese touch! Join Greg in his unpredictable journey through the worst years of their life!
        • doubletrouble
          doubletroubleThursday, April 22, 2021 at 1:54 pm55 stars
          It's nice
          • lizardfreak
            lizardfreakTuesday, April 20, 2021 at 7:32 pm55 stars
            sometimes it can serious but can be also hilarious ha! I totally recommend it!
            • jazmine2008
              jazmine2008Thursday, March 25, 2021 at 7:56 am55 stars
              i read this book more then 3 times. and that is one of the books all i had on my bookshelf. but it's amazing
              • Nicceeeeeee!Tuesday, February 9, 2021 at 11:23 pm
                It was amazing.
                • doubletrouble
                  doubletroubleThursday, April 22, 2021 at 1:57 pm55 stars
                  I think so too
                • HiTuesday, February 9, 2021 at 10:15 pm
                  its soo funnnnnmny:)
                  • doubletrouble
                    doubletroubleThursday, April 22, 2021 at 1:59 pm55 stars
                    sooo funny
                  • kenna626
                    kenna626Tuesday, February 9, 2021 at 5:58 pm44 stars
                    this book is really funny
                    • Yoda dogWednesday, January 20, 2021 at 11:16 am
                      I think this book was really funny. One of my favorite part about this book is when on Halloween the teenagers chasing Greg and Rowley around the neighborhood .I highly recommend this book I really liked this book.