Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10T5.219784
Boys don’t keep diaries—or do they?

The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate to

It’s a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you’re ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.

In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley’s star starts to rise, Greg tries to use his best friend’s newfound popularity to his own advantage, kicking off a chain of events that will test their friendship in hilarious fashion.

Author/illustrator Jeff Kinney recalls the growing pains of school life and introduces a new kind of hero who epitomizes the challenges of being a kid. As Greg says in his diary, “Just don’t expect me to be all ‘Dear Diary’ this and ‘Dear Diary’ that.” Luckily for us, what Greg Heffley says he won’t do and what he actually does are two very different things.

Since its launch in May 2004 on Funbrain.com, the Web version of Diary of a Wimpy Kid has been viewed by 20 million unique online readers. This year, it is averaging 70,000 readers a day.
F&P level: T
Paperback, 224 pages
ISBN-10: 0141324902
ISBN-13: 9780810971493
956 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • amers_24
    amers_24Sunday, September 13, 2020 at 6:15 pm55 stars
    I read this book three years ago, but I'm doing a review on it now....... 😂 I liked this book! I liked how the author based it on his life! I type books a lot their short but it's a good start for an eleven year old! Overall, I looked this book!! Good book!!!!!
    • LillySunday, August 16, 2020 at 1:40 pm
      This book is asom I usually read this in school it's fun its really fun read it like this If you think that This book is fun uhm I'm new to this so ye hello like this if you like this book my username is Lilly...^-^ btw maybe you don't care but ye like here .... -------->
      • blossomreader
        blossomreaderSunday, August 16, 2020 at 12:28 pm55 stars
        This is the first book in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, and this was awesome and got me hooked. It's so funny. It's about a boy named Greg who has troubles in middle school. I loved this book so much, he tries to find a girlfriend, find cooler friends, and much more.
        • sylvie55555
          sylvie55555Thursday, August 13, 2020 at 9:32 am44 stars
          This is a book in The Diary of a Wimpy Kid series. I highly recommend this book. This book follows Greg Heffley on his journey in Middle School, and it says a lot about his best friend Rowley and his family. This is a very fun and quick read. Happy Reading!
          • busybee
            busybeeSunday, August 9, 2020 at 10:38 am44 stars
            It's a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you're ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.
            • warriorsgirl11
              warriorsgirl11Monday, August 3, 2020 at 4:41 pm55 stars
              DIARY OF A WIMPY KID (Book 1) It's a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. ... In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. The new school year is hard....
              • buzzkill
                buzzkillSunday, July 26, 2020 at 3:43 pm55 stars
                I Love it so so soo so so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!😁😁
                • Ella bella Sunday, July 19, 2020 at 8:32 am
                  I loved this movie because it is so relatable to me I get bullied a lot but I don't think it is good to be ok to get bullied because you are nice and good it just makes me feel like no one likes me when someone and me get bullied I stand up for every one not bullies
                  • hockey_kid77
                    hockey_kid77Sunday, July 19, 2020 at 4:52 am55 stars
                    I liked this book because it has many adventures. It's about Greg Heffley's first year of middle school. I highly recommend this book to you.
                    • bookfan2008
                      bookfan2008Wednesday, July 1, 2020 at 6:22 am55 stars
                      Amazing! Very good and supper intresting!!