Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10T5.219784
Boys don’t keep diaries—or do they?

The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate to

It’s a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you’re ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.

In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley’s star starts to rise, Greg tries to use his best friend’s newfound popularity to his own advantage, kicking off a chain of events that will test their friendship in hilarious fashion.

Author/illustrator Jeff Kinney recalls the growing pains of school life and introduces a new kind of hero who epitomizes the challenges of being a kid. As Greg says in his diary, “Just don’t expect me to be all ‘Dear Diary’ this and ‘Dear Diary’ that.” Luckily for us, what Greg Heffley says he won’t do and what he actually does are two very different things.

Since its launch in May 2004 on Funbrain.com, the Web version of Diary of a Wimpy Kid has been viewed by 20 million unique online readers. This year, it is averaging 70,000 readers a day.
F&P level: T
Paperback, 224 pages
ISBN-10: 0141324902
ISBN-13: 9780810971493
911 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sheashea
    sheasheaFriday, October 18, 2019 at 4:11 am
    Jeff Kinney relates to middle school students in this humorous book. It is written as a journal of a boy Greg. It relays events and thoughts that many middle school students can identify with.
    • SamTuesday, October 15, 2019 at 8:03 am
      Funny book.
      • TessThursday, October 10, 2019 at 3:22 pm
        I love it
        • Alien wizardWednesday, October 9, 2019 at 1:07 pm
          I've read every book! : )
          • vscogirl
            vscogirlSunday, September 29, 2019 at 8:29 am55 stars
            Its great. Its so funny.
            • battyboo
              battybooSunday, September 1, 2019 at 12:51 pm22 stars
              If you like funny books..........then this is th book for you! I have not read all of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books yet!
              • rw5
                rw5Wednesday, August 21, 2019 at 8:47 am
                because it is the last one I need to read even though I am not reading them in order but when I am don reading this book I will read them in order and then I will know everything about the books an I want to get done with the books before I watch all of the movies before my siblings do and they are my favorite books ever.
                • GregboyTuesday, August 20, 2019 at 11:25 am
                  It is a nice Story
                  • jaden07
                    jaden07Sunday, August 11, 2019 at 8:28 pm11 star
                    Honestly this doesn’t even deserve a star, This is a terrible book. It’s so easy to read and yet it’s so popular. It leads people to lower reading standards. I wouldn’t read this at all. I’d rant on and on but I’ll end it here DON’T READ THIS BOOK
                    • waddlesgmes
                      waddlesgmesFriday, October 18, 2019 at 6:07 am55 stars
                      I disagree. I love the book series, but everyone has different tastes, I guess.
                    • cue
                      cueWednesday, August 7, 2019 at 1:37 pm
                      A very cool book. It made me laugh out loud. I think a lot of people can relate to the story. Everyone will enjoy this book.