Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 10n/a5.619525
Greg Heffley is not willing to be the odd man out.

A dance at Greg's middle school has everyone scrambling to find a partner, and Greg is determined not to be left by the wayside. So he concocts a desperate plan to find someone—anyone!—to go with on the big night.

But Greg's schemes go hilariously awry, and his only option is to attend the dance with his best friend, Rowley Jefferson, and a female classmate as a "group of friends." But the night is long, and anything can happen along the way. Who will arrive at the dance triumphantly, and who will end up being the third wheel?
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on November 13, 2012 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 1419705849
ISBN-13: 9781419705847
587 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ivywolf
    ivywolfFriday, February 5, 2021 at 6:14 am33 stars
    It was a great book! The reason I didn't rate it 5 stars is because lots of things need some work, and not everything was great. Some scenes just weren't the best, in my opinion, they were actually kinda awkward.
    • kenna626
      kenna626Thursday, February 4, 2021 at 2:22 pm44 stars
      This book is very funny, the part when greg finds out his uncle is the dj is my favorite part.
      • b1ng0
        b1ng0Tuesday, January 12, 2021 at 9:36 am55 stars
        Diary of a wimpy kid is amazing
        • ilovetacoslol
          ilovetacoslolThursday, January 7, 2021 at 11:16 am55 stars
          Diary of a wimpy kid is amazing!
          • gold3nglare
            gold3nglareWednesday, December 9, 2020 at 9:01 am44 stars
            I love Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series.
            • keep_breezy77
              keep_breezy77Monday, November 23, 2020 at 6:08 pm44 starsFeatured
              This book was very well written. Just like in the other books in this series, Greg has problems at his middle school, or in general, his life. What happens is that there was a Valentine's dance at his school, and since he tries very, very, hard to get popular, he tries to get a date. But, Rowley comes up and ruins his image, or so he thinks. Does the story end up like a fairy tale, or does it end up like a total nightmare???
              • minecraft10
                minecraft10Wednesday, October 14, 2020 at 2:14 pm44 stars
                I like it because it explains Greg's childhood.
                • blossomreader
                  blossomreaderSunday, August 16, 2020 at 12:34 pm
                  This book is the 7th book in this cool series. I loved it so much. It's about Greg Heffley and his uncle moving into his room with him. He also needs to find a date for Valentines day, but he ends up being a third wheel instead. I liked this book, and I hope you do too.
                  • warriorsgirl11
                    warriorsgirl11Monday, August 3, 2020 at 4:43 pm55 stars
                    “Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Third Wheel” is a young adult novel by Jeff Kinney which follows the misadventures of middle-schooler Greg Heffley as he attempts to adjust to his Uncle Gary moving in, and finding a date for the Valentine's Day Dance. It is the seventh installment in the “Wimpy Kid” series by Kinney. Poor Greg....
                    • buffygirl
                      buffygirlFriday, June 19, 2020 at 5:33 am55 stars
                      this is one of my favorite books.i dont know if you noticed that in the very back on page 227 theres a poem from fregley.i recomend you read it because it always cheers me up. :) in this book gregery remembers everything BEFORE he was born and in his moms stomach. and also in this book chickan pox where going around the time of the dance.you should read it. thanks!!!