Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 10n/a5.619525
Greg Heffley is not willing to be the odd man out.

A dance at Greg's middle school has everyone scrambling to find a partner, and Greg is determined not to be left by the wayside. So he concocts a desperate plan to find someone—anyone!—to go with on the big night.

But Greg's schemes go hilariously awry, and his only option is to attend the dance with his best friend, Rowley Jefferson, and a female classmate as a "group of friends." But the night is long, and anything can happen along the way. Who will arrive at the dance triumphantly, and who will end up being the third wheel?
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on November 13, 2012 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 1419705849
ISBN-13: 9781419705847
581 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • blossomreader
    blossomreaderSunday, August 16, 2020 at 12:34 pm
    This book is the 7th book in this cool series. I loved it so much. It's about Greg Heffley and his uncle moving into his room with him. He also needs to find a date for Valentines day, but he ends up being a third wheel instead. I liked this book, and I hope you do too.
    • warriorsgirl11
      warriorsgirl11Monday, August 3, 2020 at 4:43 pm55 stars
      “Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Third Wheel” is a young adult novel by Jeff Kinney which follows the misadventures of middle-schooler Greg Heffley as he attempts to adjust to his Uncle Gary moving in, and finding a date for the Valentine's Day Dance. It is the seventh installment in the “Wimpy Kid” series by Kinney. Poor Greg....
      • buffygirl
        buffygirlFriday, June 19, 2020 at 5:33 am55 stars
        this is one of my favorite books.i dont know if you noticed that in the very back on page 227 theres a poem from fregley.i recomend you read it because it always cheers me up. :) in this book gregery remembers everything BEFORE he was born and in his moms stomach. and also in this book chickan pox where going around the time of the dance.you should read it. thanks!!!
        • swirlycool
          swirlycoolFriday, June 5, 2020 at 1:01 pm55 stars
          There is a dance coming up at Gregory (Greg) Heffley's school, and Greg needs to find a date. He does not want to be the only one there without a date. However, things don't work out, and it looks like he's going with his best friend, Rowley. However, there is also a girl going with them. Who will be the third wheel? Overall, I thought this book was funny. I recommend this book to people who enjoy other Diary of a Wimpy Kid books, or enjoy the Dork Diaries series. I rate this book 5/5.
          • RyanThursday, June 4, 2020 at 6:30 am
            This book is hilarious no spoilers but it’s about the worst dance he’s ever had!
            • toodorky
              toodorkySunday, May 24, 2020 at 12:01 pm55 stars
              Uncle Gary has moved into Gregs' house. He also will sleep in Greg's room, which in unfair to him. Gary doesn't even deserve to live in their house. He's a gambler and spends all his money at the time he gets it. Even with all of that, Greg's troubles are not over. He needs to find a date to the Valentines day dance, and Rowley has to help him. But what happens when you listen to your Uncle Gary about a dance? Read this book to find out! I loved this book! It was funny!
              • Love everythingFriday, May 22, 2020 at 10:00 am
                In love this book it hilarious
                • cherry-blossom
                  cherry-blossomTuesday, May 19, 2020 at 8:55 pm44 stars
                  This book was very funny and extremely EXTREMELY funny especially at the end of the book, because...well, read it because I am not going to be able to SPOIL it for you, but who will be lucky at the end do YOU think, Rowley or Greg?!
                  • leki
                    lekiSunday, February 2, 2020 at 10:48 pm55 stars
                    Wimpy kid is the one of the best books out there good expantion for readers you have to get it!
                    • StellaWednesday, August 21, 2019 at 11:55 am
                      i thought that this was online reading ._.