Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 4U4.050774

Just before summer begins, 13-year-old Ali finds an odd photograph in the attic. She knows the two children in it are her mother, Claire, and her aunt Dulcie. But who’s the third person, the one who’s been torn out of the picture?

Ali figures she’ll find out while she’s vacationing in Maine with Dulcie and her four-year-old daughter, Emma, in the house where Ali’s mother’s family used to spend summers. All hopes for relaxation are quashed shortly after their arrival, though, when the girls meet Sissy, a kid who’s mean and spiteful and a bad influence on Emma.

Strangest of all, Sissy keeps talking about a girl named Teresa who drowned under mysterious circumstances back when Claire and Dulcie were kids, and whose body was never found. At first Ali thinks Sissy’s just trying to scare her with a ghost story, but soon she discovers the real reason why Sissy is so angry. . . . Mary Downing Hahn is at her chilling best in this new supernatural tale that’s certain to send shivers down her readers’ spines.

Paperback, 192 pages
Published on August 4, 2008 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0547076452
ISBN-13: 9780547076454
38 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • musi
    musiTuesday, March 13, 2018 at 7:37 am55 stars
    I love the way the writer has describe the story. I t is very interesting.
    • MariumTuesday, March 13, 2018 at 7:17 am
      This story was full of curiosity . I love the way the Writer written the story. I think this my best book ever.
      • obviThursday, March 1, 2018 at 10:55 am
        this buk is really gud but it wus not that scary. i luv scary buks . i hop sum of u actualy got scared wen u red it. have fun geting scared! >:3
        • hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiThursday, March 1, 2018 at 10:44 am
          i need to read it
          • hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiThursday, March 1, 2018 at 10:43 am
            i have to read that book
            • emojis_rule_202
              emojis_rule_202Friday, March 17, 2017 at 10:59 am
              I have read this book also and it was the best book I have ever read.
              • GandhjzWednesday, April 20, 2016 at 7:48 am
                Cool. Book.
                • wowFriday, April 15, 2016 at 6:58 am
                  that sound awesome
                  • SkellyWednesday, April 6, 2016 at 7:10 am
                    It's not that scary but it does give you the chills sometimes
                    • mntreasureFriday, March 18, 2016 at 11:36 am
                      i hope that i am saying this right. i'm am in love with scary story but from what i have read u guys t think its that scary so please tell me if its scary and what i would be getting into ;) i all so wanted to ask u guys if you think its a good book i no u have said it and i have read all the reviews so it think this would be a really good book for people like me that love scary movies, books, and story's but please i haven't even read it yet i'm just going from the comments so please tell me if this is a scary book

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      gamer wrote:

                      She is a grate leader
                      Who Was Rosa Parks?

                      mybooksandi

                      Where, oh where should I start w...
                      Cinder

                      reader_red
                      reader_red wrote:

                      This book was a fun one that I f...
                      Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminat...

                      awesomessb
                      awesomessb wrote:

                      This newer and modern adaptation...
                      Journey on a Runaway Train (The ...