Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 12Z4.233298
A thirteen-year-old girl seemingly destined for a modeling career finds she has a deformation of the spine called scoliosis.
Paperback
Published on May 21, 2015 by MACMILLAN CHILDREN'S BOOKS
ISBN-10: 1447286820
ISBN-13: 9781447286820
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • vivisawesome
    vivisawesomeMonday, February 12, 2018 at 4:03 pm
    i wanna read that book.
    • thetriplews
      thetriplewsTuesday, February 13, 2018 at 12:32 pm55 stars
      I have it I can give it to you.
    • thetriplews
      thetriplewsMonday, February 12, 2018 at 1:31 pm55 stars
      very helpful
      • thetriplews
        thetriplewsMonday, February 12, 2018 at 12:49 pm55 stars
        I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!
        • blue511
          blue511Friday, December 1, 2017 at 7:30 am44 starsFeatured
          I read this book because I was intrigued by the theme and concept of this story just by reading the back. This book was about a girl named Deenie, her family wanted her to become a model, but shes never been over the top excited about being one. In this story Deenie develops scoliosis, this book is mostly about Deenie and her family coping and adjusting to such a big change. I thought this book was well written and I like the fact that it is about something unique, not about the common things such as friendship and puppy dogs.
          • skrrttt
            skrrtttWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 7:20 pm44 stars
            This book seems great
            • maggies20
              maggies20Saturday, January 2, 2016 at 12:05 am44 stars
              Deenie is a pretty inspiring book. Deenie grew up in a world where her mother and everyone else gives her high expectations, she was expected to become a great model. However, everything changes when the doctor announces that Deenie has scoliosis, to fix her spine and prevent further dangers, she has to wear a brace. With this brace, Deenie feels insecure and lacks her usual confidence. She has to learn to overcome this challenge and face her life with a positive attitude. This story is really great, I think it teaches 2 lessons. One of them is not living under other's expectations, our life is controlled by our own hands. We should go after our own dreams and not be limited through people's expectations for us. Another lesson is looks can't judge a person. Deenie might not be able to look as glamorous as she was before, however, as long as she has a true heart, it doesn't really matter. So Deenie is a truly great book.
              • lisbeire
                lisbeireTuesday, February 3, 2015 at 11:57 am44 stars
                I recommend this book because it's interesting and if you don't have anything to read you could read this book.
                • edmodo-jtysrbmnd5
                  edmodo-jtysrbmnd5Monday, October 14, 2013 at 5:22 pm11 star
                  it look okay
                  • la_eliza
                    la_elizaFriday, September 20, 2013 at 8:03 am55 stars
                    This is a really simple description; this book is about a thirteen-year-old girl who want to be a model but, then she finds that she has a deformation in her spine called scoliosis. Life isn't as easy as it may seem.
                    • sparkling5
                      sparkling5Sunday, September 8, 2013 at 12:38 pm44 stars
                      i think this is a great book becuase sometimes, it seems like life just doesnt make it the way you want it. In the book, Deenie doesnt want to become a model while here mom keeps on bugging to become one. And then Deenie finds out her spine is not the way it should be which means she has to wear a brace on her back... which gets her mom so angry becuase that means without the perfect posture and stuff, Deenie could most likely never become a model. the good thing is that she makes new friends in the end... I would recommend this book, but this book doesnt have a big plot and a huge climax.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      ilovemyths wrote:

                      i love rick riordans percy jacks...
                      The Serpent's Shadow (Kane Chron...

                      savage_wonder

                      This book is AMAZING! I love the...
                      Savvy

                      savage_wonder

                      AWESOME! If there was a rating 1...
                      Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Lib...

                      savage_wonder

                      AWESOME! KInda like Percy Jackso...
                      Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asg...