Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8Q4.918145

Newbery Medal Winner * Teachers’ Top 100 Books for Children * ALA Notable Children’s Book

Beverly Cleary’s timeless Newbery Medal-winning book explores difficult topics like divorce, insecurity, and bullying through the thoughts and emotions of a sixth-grade boy as he writes to his favorite author, Boyd Henshaw.

After his parents separate, Leigh Botts moves to a new town with his mother. Struggling to make friends and deal with his anger toward his absent father, Leigh loses himself in a class assignment in which he must write to his favorite author. When Mr. Henshaw responds, the two form an unexpected friendship that will change Leigh’s life forever.

From the beloved author of the Henry Huggins, Ramona Quimby, and Ralph S. Mouse series comes an epistolary novel about how to navigate and heal from life’s growing pains.

Paperback, 32 pages
Published on February 2, 2012 by Novel Units, Inc.
ISBN-10: 1561372579
ISBN-13: 9781561372577
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • redapple8787
    redapple8787Thursday, May 3, 2018 at 3:39 pm55 stars
    This is a touching book by Beverly Cleary. The book is about a boy who writes a series of letters to his most favorite author. He also writes many journal entries about his life. What I like about this book is that what Mr. Henshaw writes back is a mystery, so I can imagine what he writes back.
    • lucydisney
      lucydisneyThursday, January 21, 2016 at 3:24 pm33 stars
      Dear Mr. Henshaw was an extrodinary book written by Beverly Cleary. It was very interesting book and was easy to read. If you are in need of a realistic fiction book, this would be a great choice.
      • rebleraven723
        rebleraven723Tuesday, December 9, 2014 at 8:11 pm
        I love this book
        • rozeb
          rozebSunday, May 4, 2014 at 11:23 am33 stars
          This is about a boy who is writing to his favorite author, and all throughout the book he is writing letters. At one point his teacher makes them write reports to their favorite authors and he writes the Mr. Henshaw but Mr. Henshaw writes questions and Leigh does not like that but his mom won't fix the TV and is making him write back the answers to the questions. This book makes absolutely no sense after the first few letters but it is still a good book. This I got from halfway into the book(that's how far I am in it), and I will review it more when I am done with it all. This is going to be a really quick read, I can tell.
          • 203441
            203441Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 11:16 am55 stars
            Dear Mr .Henshaw is about a boy named Leigh Botts who read a book called ways to amuse a dog by Mr .Henshaw and wrote to him that he read his book . As he gets older nothing changes he still writes to Mr .Henshaw for school assignments or just for the fun of it . Now why would Leigh care so much for the one book Mr . Henshaw wrote? More importantly why would he care so much for an author that writes kid books? If you want to know more read the book Dear Mr. Henshaw to see the world from Leigh's point of view and read all about the problems he faces, and how writing to Mr. Henshaw changes everything.
            • sony1234
              sony1234Wednesday, February 20, 2013 at 3:27 pm
              i really like this book and the first time that i read the book i loved it because it talks about all his problems that he is going through and i really recommend this book.
              • curious2know
                curious2knowSaturday, February 16, 2013 at 12:20 pm
                This book is amazing! It is about a boy named Leigh who goes through many difficulty's and finally writes to an author, Mr Henshaw . I would recommend this great book to any age!!!
                • ashleyamy718
                  ashleyamy718Monday, December 10, 2012 at 5:26 pm33 stars
                  This book was a great book. It was interesting how Leigh gets to write to an author he admires.

                  Recent Kids Book Reviews

                  person wrote:

                  ehhh it was ok but kinda not for...
                  Always Never Yours

                  ezernaad
                  ezernaad wrote:

                  Awesome book with a great way of...
                  The Mysterious Benedict Society

                  ninja wrote:

                  it,s reaiy asomessnneess
                  Wonder

                  ninja 2.o0 wrote:

                  never red it
                  Wonder

                  Our Apps and Plugins