Newbery Medal Winner * Teachers’ Top 100 Books for Children * ALA Notable Children’s Book

Beverly Cleary’s timeless Newbery Medal-winning book explores difficult topics like divorce, insecurity, and bullying through the thoughts and emotions of a sixth-grade boy as he writes to his favorite author, Boyd Henshaw.

After his parents separate, Leigh Botts moves to a new town with his mother. Struggling to make friends and deal with his anger toward his absent father, Leigh loses himself in a class assignment in which he must write to his favorite author. When Mr. Henshaw responds, the two form an unexpected friendship that will change Leigh’s life forever.

From the beloved author of the Henry Huggins, Ramona Quimby, and Ralph S. Mouse series comes an epistolary novel about how to navigate and heal from life’s growing pains.

Paperback, 32 pages
Published on February 2, 2012 by Novel Units, Inc.
ISBN-10: 1561372579
ISBN-13: 9781561372577
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • lucydisney
    lucydisneyThursday, January 21, 2016 at 3:24 pm33 stars
    Dear Mr. Henshaw was an extrodinary book written by Beverly Cleary. It was very interesting book and was easy to read. If you are in need of a realistic fiction book, this would be a great choice.
    • rebleraven723
      rebleraven723Tuesday, December 9, 2014 at 8:11 pm
      I love this book
      • rozeb
        rozebSunday, May 4, 2014 at 11:23 am33 stars
        This is about a boy who is writing to his favorite author, and all throughout the book he is writing letters. At one point his teacher makes them write reports to their favorite authors and he writes the Mr. Henshaw but Mr. Henshaw writes questions and Leigh does not like that but his mom won't fix the TV and is making him write back the answers to the questions. This book makes absolutely no sense after the first few letters but it is still a good book. This I got from halfway into the book(that's how far I am in it), and I will review it more when I am done with it all. This is going to be a really quick read, I can tell.
        • 203441
          203441Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 11:16 am55 stars
          Dear Mr .Henshaw is about a boy named Leigh Botts who read a book called ways to amuse a dog by Mr .Henshaw and wrote to him that he read his book . As he gets older nothing changes he still writes to Mr .Henshaw for school assignments or just for the fun of it . Now why would Leigh care so much for the one book Mr . Henshaw wrote? More importantly why would he care so much for an author that writes kid books? If you want to know more read the book Dear Mr. Henshaw to see the world from Leigh's point of view and read all about the problems he faces, and how writing to Mr. Henshaw changes everything.
          • sony1234
            sony1234Wednesday, February 20, 2013 at 3:27 pm
            i really like this book and the first time that i read the book i loved it because it talks about all his problems that he is going through and i really recommend this book.
            • curious2know
              curious2knowSaturday, February 16, 2013 at 12:20 pm
              This book is amazing! It is about a boy named Leigh who goes through many difficulty's and finally writes to an author, Mr Henshaw . I would recommend this great book to any age!!!
              • ashleyamy718
                ashleyamy718Monday, December 10, 2012 at 5:26 pm33 stars
                This book was a great book. It was interesting how Leigh gets to write to an author he admires.

                Recent Kids Book Reviews

                grapefruit
                grapefruit wrote:

                Mia has a beautiful future--a mu...
                If I Stay

                missknowitall

                All the Dork Diaries are awesome...
                Dork Diaries 7: Tales from a Not...

                missknowitall

                All the Dork Diaries are awesome...
                Tales from a Not-So-Talented Pop...

                missknowitall

                All the Dork Diaries are awesome...
                Dork Diaries 5: Tales from a Not...