Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8Q4.918145

Newbery Medal Winner * Teachers’ Top 100 Books for Children * ALA Notable Children’s Book

Beverly Cleary’s timeless Newbery Medal-winning book explores difficult topics like divorce, insecurity, and bullying through the thoughts and emotions of a sixth-grade boy as he writes to his favorite author, Boyd Henshaw.

After his parents separate, Leigh Botts moves to a new town with his mother. Struggling to make friends and deal with his anger toward his absent father, Leigh loses himself in a class assignment in which he must write to his favorite author. When Mr. Henshaw responds, the two form an unexpected friendship that will change Leigh’s life forever.

From the beloved author of the Henry Huggins, Ramona Quimby, and Ralph S. Mouse series comes an epistolary novel about how to navigate and heal from life’s growing pains.

Paperback, 32 pages
Published on February 2, 2012 by Novel Units, Inc.
ISBN-10: 1561372579
ISBN-13: 9781561372577
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Hi Monday, March 18, 2019 at 10:45 pm
    A great book 📚
    • Rudra Sunday, February 24, 2019 at 4:05 pm
      This book totally gives you a real solid story! I like all the feeling!
      • ANTMANTuesday, December 11, 2018 at 8:07 am
        It was a interesting book and was about a kid that wrote in His diary 🔰🔰📘📗
        • Hity576Tuesday, December 11, 2018 at 8:04 am
          It was not that fun but it was a good book it was sorta boring but funny my favorite character was bandit because he was cute
          • redapple8787
            redapple8787Thursday, May 3, 2018 at 3:39 pm55 stars
            This is a touching book by Beverly Cleary. The book is about a boy who writes a series of letters to his most favorite author. He also writes many journal entries about his life. What I like about this book is that what Mr. Henshaw writes back is a mystery, so I can imagine what he writes back.
            • lucydisney
              lucydisneyThursday, January 21, 2016 at 3:24 pm33 stars
              Dear Mr. Henshaw was an extrodinary book written by Beverly Cleary. It was very interesting book and was easy to read. If you are in need of a realistic fiction book, this would be a great choice.
              • rebleraven723
                rebleraven723Tuesday, December 9, 2014 at 8:11 pm
                I love this book
                • rozeb
                  rozebSunday, May 4, 2014 at 11:23 am33 stars
                  This is about a boy who is writing to his favorite author, and all throughout the book he is writing letters. At one point his teacher makes them write reports to their favorite authors and he writes the Mr. Henshaw but Mr. Henshaw writes questions and Leigh does not like that but his mom won't fix the TV and is making him write back the answers to the questions. This book makes absolutely no sense after the first few letters but it is still a good book. This I got from halfway into the book(that's how far I am in it), and I will review it more when I am done with it all. This is going to be a really quick read, I can tell.
                  • 203441
                    203441Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 11:16 am55 stars
                    Dear Mr .Henshaw is about a boy named Leigh Botts who read a book called ways to amuse a dog by Mr .Henshaw and wrote to him that he read his book . As he gets older nothing changes he still writes to Mr .Henshaw for school assignments or just for the fun of it . Now why would Leigh care so much for the one book Mr . Henshaw wrote? More importantly why would he care so much for an author that writes kid books? If you want to know more read the book Dear Mr. Henshaw to see the world from Leigh's point of view and read all about the problems he faces, and how writing to Mr. Henshaw changes everything.
                    • sony1234
                      sony1234Wednesday, February 20, 2013 at 3:27 pm
                      i really like this book and the first time that i read the book i loved it because it talks about all his problems that he is going through and i really recommend this book.