Dear Mr Henshaw Newbery Medal Winner
Paperback
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • buby
    bubySunday, September 15, 2019 at 10:21 pm55 stars
    I read it soooo much.It kind of reminds me of 2nd grade because of Leigh's parents.But back to the book.I understand why Leigh would write so many times to the author.(Not tellin' ya'll who.).Yes this book is great.
    • inmemoryofcpr
      inmemoryofcprSunday, June 23, 2019 at 8:14 pm44 stars
      For some reason this book reminds me of Love That Dog, probably becuase both of the boys are expressing their thoughts and feelings through writing. Both have a person encouraging them and both want to be a writer one day. I really enjoyed this book but I think they wasted too much paper, like Love That Dog.
      • nac
        nacWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 6:04 am55 stars
        The boy in this book wanted two things. A father and to be an author. This heartfelt book is about the letters that Leigh Botts, a sixth grader, writes to an author named Mr Henshaw. It also includes the pages from his Journel. I suggest for fans of Beverly clearly's Ramona series, or one who has any interest in family-type books.
        • applemango
          applemangoWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 5:21 pm55 stars
          This is a book about Leigh and he has a project that starts him writing to the real Mr. Henshaw and just the one in his journal. There he pours out his feeling of his parents divorcing and many other problems.
          • applemango
            applemangoSaturday, March 16, 2019 at 9:11 pm55 stars
            This book is a heart warming adventure between the life of Leigh Botts's family. His parents are divorced and he lives with his mom. It happens that Leigh begins to exchange letters with Mr. Henshaw (because of a school project) and he pours his feelings into his letters. This book is very inspiring and it gives you the message " No matter how hard times are you can have the passion and heart to continue on the road." I give this book 5 stars.
            • JeffMonday, March 19, 2018 at 11:57 am
              It is very Funny!
              • idklearnin
                idklearninThursday, September 10, 2015 at 11:33 am55 stars
                Dear Mr. Henshaw is a pretty good book because it was the first book I read that taught me a lot about what it's really like to have divorced parents
                • 20ospink
                  20ospinkTuesday, December 11, 2012 at 12:41 pm55 stars
                  ADD ON TO FIRST BOOK REVIEW: I liked this book because it is told in all letters to Mr.Henshaw.
                  • 20ospink
                    20ospinkTuesday, December 11, 2012 at 12:40 pm55 stars
                    Dear Mr.Henshaw is a great Newbery Honor Book! It is about a boy named Leigh Botts. Leigh writes to his favorite author, Boyd Henshaw. He writes to him like he is his second Dad! In Dear Mr.Henshaw,I learned that it's okay to be yourself.
                    • kelso3200000
                      kelso3200000Monday, December 10, 2012 at 5:11 pm44 stars
                      I think that Dear Mr. Henshaw is a great book. I honestly don't like reading but this book kept my interest! READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!