The hilarious, colorful #1 New York Times bestselling phenomenon that every kid wants! Gift a copy to someone you love today.

Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: His crayons have had enough! They quit! Beige Crayon is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown Crayon. Black wants to be used for more than just outlining. Blue needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water. And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking—each believes he is the true color of the sun.

What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best?

Kids will be imagining their own humorous conversations with crayons and coloring a blue streak after sharing laughs with Drew Daywalt and New York Times bestseller Oliver Jeffers. This story is perfect as a back-to-school gift, for all budding artists, for fans of humorous books such as Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith, and for fans of Oliver Jeffers' Stuck, The Incredible Book Eating Boy, Lost and Found, and This Moose Belongs to Me.


Praise for The Day the Crayons Quit

Amazon’s 2013 Best Picture Book of the Year

A Barnes & Noble Best Book of 2013

Goodreads’ 2013 Best Picture Book of the Year

Winner of the E.B. White Read-Aloud Award

* “Hilarious . . . Move over, Click, Clack, Moo; we’ve got a new contender for the most successful picture-book strike.” –BCCB, starred review

“Jeffers . . . elevates crayon drawing to remarkable heights.” –Booklist

“Fresh and funny.” –The Wall Street Journal

"This book will have children asking to have it read again and again.” –Library Media Connection

* “This colorful title should make for an uproarious storytime.” –School Library Journal, starred review

* “These memorable personalities will leave readers glancing apprehensively at their own crayon boxes.” –Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Utterly original.” –San Francisco Chronicle
Hardcover, 40 pages
Published on June 27, 2013 by Philomel Books
ISBN-10: 0399255370
ISBN-13: 9780399255373
34 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • ahsgfw123345456Thursday, March 2, 2017 at 6:32 am
    sUPER AWESOME i like peach crayon
    • neon48Tuesday, February 21, 2017 at 6:10 am
      I loved this book. It was so funny how all the crayons wrote a message to the boy.
      • hollowitz
        hollowitzWednesday, April 13, 2016 at 6:27 pm44 stars
        Funny! So adorable!
        • thebeldam_970
          thebeldam_970Wednesday, March 23, 2016 at 5:00 pm
          GREAT AND VEARY FUNNY!!! I like this book. My favorite part is when peach crayon complains. Lol =D
          • Silverfoot wolfSaturday, December 5, 2015 at 8:02 am
            This book is awesome!!! (sort of) All the crayons are complaining. :)
            • BarracudaTaylorSaturday, December 5, 2015 at 7:04 am
              The Day the Crayons Quit is a good book in this the crayons tried to persuade Duncan to make smaller pictures. Gray crayon wants Duncan to draw a penguin instead of an elephant and a hippo and rhinoceros. And some crayons get into a fight yellow crayon and orange got into a fight.
              • pinky1616
                pinky1616Wednesday, November 25, 2015 at 8:31 am
                it is really funny!! haha! laughing lots!
                • rapguy
                  rapguySaturday, November 21, 2015 at 12:39 pm55 starsFeatured
                  This asome book is about Duncan. Duncan is having a problem with his crayons. Each crayon writes a letter to Duncan. We enjoyed this book because it's hilarious! One of our favorite parts is when the shy peach crayon does not want to get out of the box! Read the book to see why. Also, we like the part when orange and yellow crayons are having an argument because it is funny! We think you should read this book because it will make you laugh.The Day the Crayons Quit is an amazing and radical book for kids of all ages! 3 Reply
                  • pikachu06
                    pikachu06Monday, June 22, 2015 at 7:23 pm55 stars
                    This was a fun and quick book to read. I love all the colors and how the complain about different things.
                    • princess09
                      princess09Monday, June 22, 2015 at 7:15 pm55 stars
                      This book was a fun book to read with my whole family. I like how the crayons come to life.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Parismilli wrote:

                      I have not read it but I think I...
                      Double Down

                      antwal1718
                      antwal1718 wrote:

                      i think the book was very good i...
                      Wormwood Mire

                      robin13
                      robin13 wrote:

                      me+like=agree
                      The Losers Club

                      robin13
                      robin13 wrote:

                      ok so my sister told me this was...
                      The Losers Club