Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades P - 2Grades 3 - 5n/a3.8999
The hilarious, colorful #1 New York Times bestselling phenomenon that every kid wants! Gift a copy to someone you love today.

Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: His crayons have had enough! They quit! Beige Crayon is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown Crayon. Black wants to be used for more than just outlining. Blue needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water. And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking—each believes he is the true color of the sun.

What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best?

Kids will be imagining their own humorous conversations with crayons and coloring a blue streak after sharing laughs with Drew Daywalt and New York Times bestseller Oliver Jeffers. This story is perfect as a back-to-school gift, for all budding artists, for fans of humorous books such as Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith, and for fans of Oliver Jeffers' Stuck, The Incredible Book Eating Boy, Lost and Found, and This Moose Belongs to Me.


Praise for The Day the Crayons Quit

Amazon’s 2013 Best Picture Book of the Year

A Barnes & Noble Best Book of 2013

Goodreads’ 2013 Best Picture Book of the Year

Winner of the E.B. White Read-Aloud Award

* “Hilarious . . . Move over, Click, Clack, Moo; we’ve got a new contender for the most successful picture-book strike.” –BCCB, starred review

“Jeffers . . . elevates crayon drawing to remarkable heights.” –Booklist

“Fresh and funny.” –The Wall Street Journal

"This book will have children asking to have it read again and again.” –Library Media Connection

* “This colorful title should make for an uproarious storytime.” –School Library Journal, starred review

* “These memorable personalities will leave readers glancing apprehensively at their own crayon boxes.” –Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Utterly original.” –San Francisco Chronicle
Hardcover
ISBN-10: 0007513755
ISBN-13: 9780007513758
37 Book Reviews
  • Kaite over 1 year
    l loved it ❤
    • belle252
      belle252almost 2 years44 stars
      The Day the Crayons Quit is an amazing book that reflects emotions of crayons and brings a laugh to everyone reading. Usually, you do not expect crayons to write a letter to you and say that they are retiring. Blue is tired of coloring skies and water, orange and yellow can not decide on which of them is the color of the sun, and poor peach is too shy to come out of the box. With so much happening, Drew is shocked and must settle the crayons somehow before it gets worse. If you have heard that this book is amazing, you have heard right!
      • Savannah about 2 years
        I loved it
        • ahsgfw123345456about 5 years
          sUPER AWESOME i like peach crayon
          • neon48over 5 years
            I loved this book. It was so funny how all the crayons wrote a message to the boy.
            • hollowitz
              hollowitzabout 6 years44 stars
              Funny! So adorable!
              • thebeldam_970
                thebeldam_970about 6 years
                GREAT AND VEARY FUNNY!!! I like this book. My favorite part is when peach crayon complains. Lol =D
                • Silverfoot wolfover 6 years
                  This book is awesome!!! (sort of) All the crayons are complaining. :)
                  • BarracudaTaylorover 6 years
                    The Day the Crayons Quit is a good book in this the crayons tried to persuade Duncan to make smaller pictures. Gray crayon wants Duncan to draw a penguin instead of an elephant and a hippo and rhinoceros. And some crayons get into a fight yellow crayon and orange got into a fight.
                    • pinky1616
                      pinky1616over 6 years
                      it is really funny!! haha! laughing lots!