Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 4n/a3.943118
Although Mitsi Kashino and her family are swept up in the wave of anti-Japanese sentiment following the attack on Pearl Harbor, Mitsi never expects to lose her home -- or her beloved dog, Dash. But, as World War II rages and people of Japanese descent are forced into incarceration camps, Mitsi is separated from Dash, her classmates, and life as she knows it. The camp is a crowded and unfamiliar place, whose dusty floors, seemingly endless lines, and barbed wire fences begin to unravel the strong Kashino family ties. With the help of a friendly neighbor back home, Mitsi remains connected to Dash in spite of the hard times, holding on to the hope that the war will end soon and life will return to normal. Though they've lost their home, will the Kashino family also lose their sense of family? And will Mitsi and Dash ever be reunited?
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on August 26, 2014 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545416353
ISBN-13: 9780545416351
7 Book Reviews
  • CharThursday, December 6, 2018 at 3:15 pm
    It such a good book but it’s also sad it’s one of the best books ever
    • locker33453
      locker33453Friday, December 16, 2016 at 7:07 am33 stars
      I am reading this for BOB, and it's really sad. Mitsi is japanese, and after pearl harbor, she is made fun of and written mean notes. She gets sent to a camp, and has to leave her dog, dash, behind. Will Mitsi get Dash back? Read today to find out!
      • lollypopies
        lollypopiesSaturday, December 10, 2016 at 10:00 pm
        I really love this book because even though Ted steals, Debbie's dad is gone, Dash can't stay with Mitzi, and many more hardships are faced, the ending really ties the events together, and the hardships disappear in the happiness.
        • hummingbird1
          hummingbird1Saturday, October 15, 2016 at 10:03 am
          This is a five star book. I am in love with dogs and had a great relationship with my dog before she died. I felt excited when Mitsi was excited and cried when she said goodbye to Dash in the beginning. Please read it!
          • joeycollin13
            joeycollin13Friday, June 3, 2016 at 11:26 am55 stars
            I love this book!
            • 4otter
              4otterWednesday, October 28, 2015 at 11:47 am55 stars
              A great book! If you like duke then you might like the book dash. It's the same thing but it's about a girl and her dog, not a boy.she has to go to a camp, but she can't take her dog with her. Then she gets on a train to the guarded camp where she will stay. Read to find out if she gets to see her dog ever again, and how camp will go for her!
              • blabla22
                blabla22Tuesday, June 9, 2015 at 5:07 pm
                I decided to read this book because I like books about what between friends and family.This book is about a girl named Mitzi that is Japanese and has to move away because of Pearl Harbor attacking.The sad thing is she had a dog she loved,and dogs weren't aloud to come to the camp!Mitzi has to learn how to live without friends.