Three accidental heroes encounter one legendary villain in an epic dragon-filled adventure just right for young fans of Terry Pratchett, J.R.R. Tolkien, and How to Train Your Dragon!

13-year old piper Patch Brightwater is a boy in disgrace. Thrown in jail for playing a forbidden spell, he is no one’s idea of a hero. But then he discovers a deadly truth – the evil Piper of Hamelyn is on the loose.

With the help of Wren, a girl cursed to live as a rat, and Barver, a fire-breathing dracogriff, Patch must stop the Piper from sparking the biggest battle of them all.

S.A. Patrick’s debut children’s novel is a vivid retelling of one of the darkest legends of all time – the Piper of Hamelyn. Combining fairy tale lore with the very best of modern storytelling and empowerment, A Darkening of Dragons takes fantasy fans on a journey filled with adventure, magic, and the delight of finding friends in unexpected places. Perfect for fans of The Hobbit, Terry Pratchett’s Tiffany Aching books, and How to Train Your Dragon.

A Carnegie Medal nominee.

Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on April 1, 2022 by Peachtree Publishing Company
ISBN-10: 1682633764
ISBN-13: 9781682633762
5 Book Reviews
  • foreverregancorn
    foreverregancornabout 1 month55 stars
    i love it sofar. where i am at, wren is helping patch try to get out of jail. the reason patch is in jale is because he played a forbiddin song on his pipe. Sentances tooverr 100 years, what will he ever do
    • amzing
      amzingabout 2 months55 stars
      great book
      • foreverregancorn
        foreverregancornabout 2 months55 stars
        so far i love it its like the fairy tail the pied piper of hamlen
        • mattchien
          mattchien3 months
          looks great!
          • gman
            gman3 months44 stars
            Yay! a dragon adventure