The three children of Squirrelflight and Brambleclaw, grandchildren of the great leader Firestar, have thrived in their apprenticeships: Lionpaw's strength and energy serve him well as a warrior in training, Hollypaw hones her understanding of the warrior code, and Jaypaw explores his mysterious powers and connection to StarClan as the medicine cat apprentice.

With more experience comes both power and danger: Lionpaw makes a friendship—and a discovery—that must be kept hidden; Jaypaw learns a secret that could benefit ThunderClan by damaging others; and Hollypaw knows something that could avert a battle, if she could convince the rest of her Clan.

The three are torn apart as each discovers darkness: in themselves, in the Clans, and in the past. And, as conflict begins over what it means to be a warrior, rising tensions threaten to overflow, washing away the peace that has existed for many moons.

Paperback, 368 pages
Published on June 30, 2015 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062367099
ISBN-13: 9780062367099
19 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • kiddo123
    kiddo123Monday, May 1, 2017 at 6:12 am
    i luv warrior cats!
    • kajackson8
      kajackson8Friday, August 19, 2016 at 9:07 am55 stars
      this book is very interesting i recommend it to any cat love that wonders what the family cat thinks of
      • jadynsSunday, January 24, 2016 at 12:30 pm
        I loved how intense the scene was when they found the kits and were trying to find a way out before they drown. Thanks to fallen leaves and rock they figured out there was a way out and they were going to survive. After they were able to stop the battle. Jay paw, lion paw,holly paw, heather paw, and breeze paw have truly shown that they were worthy of being made warriors.
        • ball8628
          ball8628Friday, May 22, 2015 at 8:34 am55 stars
          This book is amazing. It really engages the reader into the life of a wild cat. VERY GOOD. READ THIS SERIES
          • roriocooky
            roriocookyWednesday, May 20, 2015 at 9:10 am55 stars
            This was an awesome book and I love all the characters and how they got together and helped there clan against the other cats in the clans and how Lionpaw had a secret clan with heatherpaw (A Windclan apprentice) in the hidden tunnels under there territories.
            • zimandgir
              zimandgirThursday, May 7, 2015 at 4:50 pm55 stars
              Awesome book 5 stars
              • gracek
                gracekMonday, November 3, 2014 at 4:15 pm44 stars
                I liked learning about jaypaw
                • doctorwhorocks
                  doctorwhorocksSunday, August 25, 2013 at 7:36 pm55 stars
                  Reading this book Erin hunter best writer ever
                  • sweettart23
                    sweettart23Wednesday, December 26, 2012 at 4:18 pm55 stars
                    Dark River is a very good book. Warriors is a series, so you should read all the other books, too. I recommend these series to anybody that likes cats and action.
                    • cvv
                      cvvThursday, October 25, 2012 at 11:01 am55 stars
                      Heatherpaw and Lionpaw are PERFECT for each other!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Parismilli wrote:

                      I have not read it but I think I...
                      Double Down

                      antwal1718
                      antwal1718 wrote:

                      i think the book was very good i...
                      Wormwood Mire

                      robin13
                      robin13 wrote:

                      me+like=agree
                      The Losers Club

                      robin13
                      robin13 wrote:

                      ok so my sister told me this was...
                      The Losers Club