Curiosity House: The Screaming Statue

In this second book in the New York Times bestselling Curiosity House series by exceptional author Lauren Oliver and shadowy recluse H. C. Chester, four extraordinary children must avenge their friend’s death, try to save their home, and unravel the secrets of their past . . . before their past unravels them.

Pippa, Sam, Thomas, and Max are happy to be out of harm’s way now that the notorious villain Nicholas Rattigan is halfway across the country in Chicago. But unfortunately their home, Dumfreys’s Dime Museum of Freaks, Oddities, and Wonders, is in danger of closing its doors forever.

But their troubles only get worse. The four friends are shocked when their beloved friend, famous sculptor Siegfried Eckleberger, is murdered. As they investigate, they find clues that his death may be tied to the murder of a rich and powerful New York heiress, as well as to their own pasts.

This is the second book in the series and so boasts many wondrous and mysterious things inside, such as:

· Howie, the “Human Owl,” whose head turns just about all the way around

· A mean but important house cat

· Some perfectly ghastly wax sculptures

· A very thin boy named Chubby

· An awful mechanical leg

It continues not to have:

· A cautionary tale about running with scissors

· A list of time-consuming chores

· Nutritious and decidedly not delicious vegetables

· A perfectly sweet bedtime story about a wayward bunny

· Two wet kisses on the cheek from your aunt Mildred

Learn more about the series online at

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on May 3, 2016 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062270842
ISBN-13: 9780062270849
2 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • tazzie
    tazzieTuesday, November 12, 2019 at 2:12 pm55 stars
    it was so awesome, I gave it to my best friend to borrow!
    • tazzie
      tazzieTuesday, October 15, 2019 at 3:08 pm55 stars
      it was very cool and mysterious. i really enjoyed it.