Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a6.1114494

She is the greatest assassin her world has ever known.
But where will her conscience, and her heart, lead her?

After a year of hard labor in the Salt Mines of Endovier, eighteen-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien has won the king's contest to become the new royal assassin. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown – a secret she hides from even her most intimate confidantes.Keeping up the deadly charade-while pretending to do the king's bidding-will test her in frightening new ways, especially when she's given a task that could jeopardize everything she's come to care for. And there are far more dangerous forces gathering on the horizon -- forces that threaten to destroy her entire world, and will surely force Celaena to make a choice. Where do the assassin's loyalties lie, and who is she willing to fight for?

Hardcover, 432 pages
Published on August 27, 2013 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN-10: 1619630621
ISBN-13: 9781619630628
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • comment1
    comment1Thursday, November 30, 2017 at 6:30 pm44 starsFeatured
    In general, I love the book. I love how Celaena did not go through the who am i thing when she realized she was Aelin Galathynius, and the wyrdkeys and wyrdmarks. Most of the time, the main character was at a level of perfect, and i couldn't put myself in their shoes but Celaena is normal, and wasn't afraid to make mistakes. My big problem with the book: and a reason for a star deduction, was the romance between Chaol and Celaena. Don't get me wrong here, I love them together and think they are much better suited for each other than her and Dorian(ugh). But I really disliked how easily Celaena was manipulated and how quickly she shunned Chaol. All over something that was a reasonable action for him to take, completely in character. The stuff from Chaol's perspective was heartbreaking. It wasn't like he wanted to make life hard for her. He simply did what he has always done and she completely blames him for everything. I felt she was really fickle here and that annoyed me to no end. Nothing that happened was Chaol's fault. Also, she was really mean to Dorian.
    • happypug12
      happypug12Wednesday, May 31, 2017 at 6:04 pm44 starsFeatured
      I'm a bit late for this review, since I've already finished chugging through every entrancing page of Queen of Shadows and am soon going to be on to Empire of Storms. You'd think I'd have forgotten all 448 pages of Crown of Midnight, but no. Crown of Midnight continues weaving the enticing web that Ms. Maas begun spinning in the first installment of this series (which I highly recommend you dive into if you haven't already). Celaena is now freed from her toiling in Endovier, but she's still a slave to the vile King. Well, a disobedient slave. She's dancing on a fine line between life and death by sparing and then smuggling her targets out of Rifthold. But her own isn't the only life at risk. When something shocking and horrible comes to pass, Celaena's world is torn apart. As Celaena's bloodlust grows, something else grows with it. Something dark. Since I'm almost done with this whole series, I can promise you that Crown of Midnight is only the beginning of a wondrous, charming, bitter, tear-wrenching series, but as a whole, it will shock you. You're not going to be able to let go long enough to stop reading. Definitely not for elementary age range because of language and sexual innuendo, but teens will LOVE. You've been warned—and encouraged.
      • krayk
        kraykTuesday, April 19, 2016 at 11:51 am44 stars
        it has some bad words in it but its really great. i like it because is intense.
        • kasia11
          kasia11Sunday, December 27, 2015 at 3:57 pm55 stars
          I'm an avid reader, all sorts of books. This book, was amazing. "Why are you crying?" "Because," she whispered, her voice shaking, "you remind me of what the world ought to be. What the world can be.” ~Sarah J. Mass, Crown of Midnight “I don't think you realize who you're dealing with." The man clicked his tongue, "If you were that good, you would be more than just Captain of the Guard." Chaol let out a low, breathy laugh. "I wasn't talking about me." "She's just one girl." Though his guts were twisting at the thought of her in this place, with these people, though he was considering every possible way to get himself and Celaena out of here alive, he gave the man a grin. "Then you're really in for a big surprise.” ~Sarah J. Maas, Crown of Midnight *This book DOES contain cussing, of sorts and sexual refrences* I read this book once it came out, I adored it. Celeana, has won the champion competition. Yet, she is having an (love) affair with Prince Dorian. She battles between her heart, whether it shall be Chaol or Dorian. Though, she is one female, who will not back down. As she powers through all the men, dissing her, and hating her she goes through much development! *Spoilers ahead!* Chaol, sends Celeana off, to a land of fae's which killed me. *End of spoilers!* This series has made me so.... happy. It's just a bunch of joy I love. ~Kasia
          • kasia11
            kasia11Sunday, December 27, 2015 at 3:57 pm55 stars
            I'm really sorry, I thought I could indent. :(
          • eap7895
            eap7895Wednesday, September 2, 2015 at 2:05 pm
            Love this book! Think that you should be at least 13 before reading though.
            • fany13
              fany13Sunday, June 14, 2015 at 12:00 pm33 stars
              Set just a few months after Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight follows Celaena Sardothien, now the king's champion, as she discovers a plot to overthrow the tyrannical king that rules almost half of the continent of Erilea. When she is sent to kill a man she once knew, Celaena discovers that both he and her best friend, the princess of Eyllwe, are part of a dangerous plot, she discovers more than she wanted. Although I did not like this book as much the following one in the series, Heir of Fire, I still love how the author portrays her characters, and how her books are written in such a way that the pages fly by. I do really recommend this series.
              • ness33
                ness33Monday, January 19, 2015 at 7:27 pm44 stars
                A really good book! You should definitely try it