Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy (Gallagher Girls)

Book 2 of 6 in the Gallagher Girls Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 4 - 10W6.154706

After the excitement of the fall, all Cammie Morgan wants is peaceful semester at school. But that’s easier said than done when you’re a CIA legacy and go to the premier school in the world...for spies.

Despite Cammie's best intentions, trouble crops up quickly. Cammie, Bex, and Liz learn that the Gallagher Academy is hosting guests from another spy school -- a school that is known to the world as the Ethan Frome Academy--a secret spy school for boys. After her fiasco with Josh last fall, Cammie isn't sure she's ready for daily encounters with boy spies – especially after she meets Zach -- an incorrigibe cutie who everyone thinks is just perfect.

Cammie is right to be worried about their new guests. Soon after the boys’ arrival, she's blamed for a series of security breaches that leave the school's top-secret status at risk. And the perfectly crushable Zach is her prime suspect.

The Gallagher Girls will need to use all their skills to investigate the Frome Boys. Even though they're confident about their guy-spying (as if they haven't done it before!), the playing field is level this time, and the stakes for Cammie’s heart—and her beloved school— are higher than ever.


Kindle Edition, 260 pages
Published on June 10, 2009 by Disney Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423132025
ISBN-13: 9781423132028
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • racoon3711
    racoon3711Friday, October 21, 2016 at 12:56 pm55 stars
    I loved this book and I highly recommend it. The second installment in the Gallagher Girls series is action packed, interesting, and funny. First of all Cammie Morgan is a spy. This spy just had to end her relationship with a non-spy boy named Josh, and it made her fairly upset. Now, her all girls spy school is hosting 15 boys from another boys' spy school called the Blackthorne Institute. Among these boys is Zach, a spy who will not leave Cammie alone. Both Cammie and Zach seem to like each other, but Cammie isn't sure. None of the girls, including Cammie's best friends Bex, Liz, and Macey, are sure if they can trust the boys. Finally towards the end of the story very classified and important information is stolen from Cammie's academy. The girls have to work with the boys to get back the information, but can they trust them? You will have to read the book to find out.
    • np156830
      np156830Wednesday, October 29, 2014 at 8:11 am55 stars
      Best book ever
      • princess_jas
        princess_jasMonday, March 25, 2013 at 1:46 pm
        i read this book just today and I hope you like dramas romance breakups and mysteries because that is what this book has. To give you a clue a very important thing is stolen and it is up to blackthorn and the their academy to find out who did it before time runs out and that person leaves. who do you think is is and do you think that they will get away with it????
        • po23
          po23Thursday, March 7, 2013 at 2:48 pm55 stars
          I LOVE THIS BOOK! Actually I love all of theses books SOO much! I like read it over and over agian!
          • evharte
            evharteSunday, November 25, 2012 at 4:39 pm44 starsFeatured
            In this second installment of the Gallagher Grils series, Cammie meets yet another boy. A spy boy, the most dangerous breed known to girl. His name is Zach. And when the school holds a ballroom dance with Zach's school, their relationship begins to blossom. But wait. There's more. Could Zach be a deceptive double agent? Is Cammie just falling into his trap? Read Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy to find out.
            • Gallagher girlWednesday, November 7, 2012 at 3:32 pm
              OMG I luved this book in fact I love the series. It is about this girl who is a spy and has a boyfriend she cant date but later on there is a cuter guy and the book is funny and romantic
              • nudgeroxs
                nudgeroxsMonday, November 5, 2012 at 8:05 pm55 stars
                I loved this series. It was really exciting, and I never wanted to put down the book
                • imdabomb
                  imdabombMonday, November 5, 2012 at 7:27 pm55 starsFeatured
                  I loved this book...so the main character, Cammie Morgan is attending school at Gallagher Academy for becoming a spy. Her mom, Ms. Morgan is currently the headmistress of the school, when the Gallagher Academy does an exchange program with the Blackthorne spy school for boys. So 15 boys come over to the Academy for the program, and then Cammie meets Zach. 'Dr. Steve' the principal of Blackthorne and the headmistress Ms. Morgan set up some dangerous courses for the spy students that seem real for the spy world. I recommend this book to people who love humor, romance, and action!!
                  • yorkie99
                    yorkie99Monday, October 22, 2012 at 8:45 am55 stars
                    this is an amazing book that is part of an amazing series. i also read dont judge a girl by her cover in this series.
                    • cfelt
                      cfeltThursday, October 11, 2012 at 6:50 am33 stars
                      This book is really cool i got my coppy from a mom who had lots of tween and teen books and gave some out at teen reading orgram:)