Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a6.0138246

The #1 New York Times Bestselling Series!

In this third book in Marissa Meyer's bestselling Lunar Chronicles series, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they're plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and prevent her army from invading Earth.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl trapped on a satellite since childhood who's only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she's being forced to work for Queen Levana, and she's just received orders to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is splintered. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a higher price than she'd ever expected. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai, especially the cyborg mechanic. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

Hardcover, 560 pages
Published on February 4, 2014 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 0312642970
ISBN-13: 9780312642976
36 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kkgautamm
    kkgautammWednesday, July 8, 2020 at 1:47 pm55 stars
    this is the third book in the lunar chronicles series, one of my favorite sci-fi/ dystopian series of all time! this is probably my favorite book because i love cress and thorne
    • 13iamgroot
      13iamgrootFriday, December 27, 2019 at 3:02 pm55 starsFeatured
      This third installation to Marissa Meyer's Lunar Chronicles did not disappoint. Unlike most book series in which the books get worse as the series continues, all of the books in the Lunar Chronicles are just as good, if not better, than the previous ones. And just like its previous books, Cress is a wonderfully written, futuristic, sci-fi, retelling of a classic fairy tale. As you can probably guess by the title, Cress is based on Rapunzel, and just like Rapunzel, the main character Crescent (Cress for short) has been trapped up high for a long time. But unlike Rapunzel who was trapped in a tower, Cress' prison is much higher. Cress is trapped in a satellite orbiting the moon high up in space. Being trapped in a satellite for so long has resulted in Cress being an excellent hacker, just the thing that the fugitive crew traveling together on the Rampion would need. And yes, Cinder does know about Cress because she is the one on the other side of the D-Comm chip that Cinder found in the Prince's android. The Rampion Crew (Cinder, Scarlet, Wolf, and Thorne) attempt to rescue Cress, but in the process they lose some members of their crew, and gain some new ones. The crew is trying to stop Kai from marrying Queen Levana and get Cinder on the Lunar throne as Princess Selene, the rightful heir. There is also a tiny hint of romance in this book between Cress and Captain Thorne, but Cress is nervous it might be going only one way, because she has done a lot of research on him, but he doesn't seem to know anything about her. She thought that he was a wonderful hero, but when she learns the whole truth from him rather than what she found on the internet, it turns out that he may be what everyone thinks he is, a sarcastic fugitive with a big ego. But even after learning this, Cress cannot get rid of her feelings for him. This book has so many hidden connections to Scarlet and Cinder, and they do a great job of tying the whole story together, and keeping you turning pages. I would totally recommend this to teens who like sci-fi, romance, and fantasy added to the classic fairy tale. I hadn't even finished the second book before I knew that this was one of my favorite series, so I would encourage other teens to try it too.
      • celia_berry13
        celia_berry13Friday, May 31, 2019 at 2:45 pm55 stars
        I really enjoyed this book! This is the third book in the Lunar Chronicles Series. I suggest this book to kids grades 4th and up. It is a good book for people who enjoy fantasy and adventure.
        • kkgautamm
          kkgautammThursday, May 30, 2019 at 9:57 am55 stars
          another great novel by marissa meyer. the story continues and it just keeps getting better and better. cress is such a lovable character, and honestly, i would have loved to be her friend irl.
          • kkgautamm
            kkgautammWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 10:42 am55 stars
            another great novel by marissa meyer. the story continues and it get better and better.
            • littledragon211
              littledragon211Sunday, March 3, 2019 at 8:52 pm55 stars
              I love the story of Cress and Thorne. Cinder is amazing in this book.
              • queen_luna
                queen_lunaMonday, November 26, 2018 at 5:12 pm55 stars
                I loved this book! Cress is an adorable and lovable character with unique quirks and a resilient spirit that is truly inspiring. The mix of humor and adventure is superb and leaves you hungry for more!
                • kittykat101
                  kittykat101Thursday, June 28, 2018 at 1:20 pm44 stars
                  I just finished the book, and it was pretty good...I wasn't expecting Cinder to go off and kidnap Kai though. In many ways, Cress is actually quite different from the other two books, Scarlet, and Cinder. Cinder seems to be less out of it, and more in control and aware, like she finally accepted that she is Lunar and wanted, and Princess Selene. I love how Meyer makes the title he name of the new character she introduces. It seems unique and special.
                  • septembergirl
                    septembergirlTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 6:45 pm55 stars
                    This is such a great series such a good idea. I just started this one and so far I love it!!
                    • cress_cinder_fa
                      cress_cinder_faWednesday, April 25, 2018 at 4:42 pm55 stars
                      it is amazing book