Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5S3.825361

In her first novel since The One and Only Ivan, winner of the Newbery Medal, Katherine Applegate delivers an unforgettable and magical story about family, friendship, and resilience.

Jackson and his family have fallen on hard times. There's no more money for rent. And not much for food, either. His parents, his little sister, and their dog may have to live in their minivan. Again.

Crenshaw is a cat. He's large, he's outspoken, and he's imaginary. He has come back into Jackson's life to help him. But is an imaginary friend enough to save this family from losing everything?

Beloved author Katherine Applegate proves in unexpected ways that friends matter, whether real or imaginary. This title has Common Core connections.


Paperback, 272 pages
Published on September 26, 2017 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 1250091667
ISBN-13: 9781250091666
61 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • stellaluna
    stellalunaSaturday, November 24, 2018 at 8:36 am55 stars
    It can be a heartbreaking book. His sister is just trying to adjust to the change, and his parents are just struggling. Living in a car would be hard with a family that is quite big for fitting in a car. It makes me smile when Crenshaw is there. HE may not be real, but he can guide you through your brain. HE can help with realizing that your life is not as hard as others. I thank Jackson for realizing that! Thank you Katherine Applegate for making such an amazing book!
    • Will SmithMonday, November 12, 2018 at 5:45 pm
      It’s really boring
      • stellaluna
        stellalunaSaturday, November 24, 2018 at 8:32 am55 stars
        Well it is if you do not connect to it!
      • sofiablanco
        sofiablancoMonday, September 24, 2018 at 12:12 pm
        I like how it tells about how a boy has never had an imaginary friend and probably the saddest part is that his mom and dad are having trouble paying for food and a house then they end up living in there own car that part made me realize i am lucky to have a home and food so thanks mom and dad.
        • payton_flusche
          payton_fluscheMonday, April 23, 2018 at 8:52 am44 stars
          i liked it but i don't know if will read it again. :(
          • CoolWednesday, March 21, 2018 at 6:13 pm
            I love it! Its a amazing book!
            • WWELOVER1243Wednesday, March 21, 2018 at 12:08 pm
              i dont know if i should continue with this book only bcause as i rfead more and more i get less intreasdead i dont if that happend to any of you guys at all.
              • anonymouslambo Wednesday, March 7, 2018 at 9:47 am
                Crenshaw by: Katherine Applegate, published 2015. Characters: Jackson, Robin, Mom, Dad, Aretha, and Crenshaw. The book is about Jackson and his family falling on hard times and they have financial problems and not much money for food. Jackson’s family and dog have to move into their minivan again. Crenshaw is an imaginary cat that came to life to help Jackson but Jackson doesn’t want anybody to know about and Jackson wants to get rid of him. Crenshaw is outspoken and large. I like this book because it’s very suspenseful and you never know if they’re going to figure out the problem. This book is recommended to 4th or 5th grade boys that likes suspense.
                • lovebug101
                  lovebug101Thursday, February 15, 2018 at 4:53 pm55 stars
                  This is one of my favorite books. It is about a boy named Jackson and he is very poor. Jackson has a wild imagination. His imaginary friend is named Crenshaw. Crenshaw helps Jackson trough hard times. In the first chapter Crenshaw is a surfboarding cat. Cool right. Jackson and his little sister throw cereal in a cap and eat it. I felt bad for Jackson and his family. I loved this book so much that I bought it right after I read it. He has to live in his minivan again because he is poor. His parents even gave away the guitars they named Jackson and his sister after. That was the saddest part. I recommend this book to anybody with an imaginary friend! I hope you read this book!!! :)
                  • pig_ethan
                    pig_ethanSaturday, December 16, 2017 at 1:02 pm
                    it is soooo cool and interening
                    • messiSunday, November 12, 2017 at 2:53 pm
                      it is so good

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      olliebob
                      olliebob wrote:

                      Once is a heartbreaking, beautif...
                      Once (Once Series)

                      Racer95 wrote:

                      OMG THIS IS SO AWESOME!!
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid - Double Down

                      rainawave
                      rainawave wrote:

                      When I read an amazing book, the...
                      One White Dolphin

                      Tess wrote:

                      You should read Ellies story
                      Molly's Story: A Dog's Purpose N...

                      Our Apps and Plugins