In her first novel since The One and Only Ivan, winner of the Newbery Medal, Katherine Applegate delivers an unforgettable and magical story about family, friendship, and resilience.

Jackson and his family have fallen on hard times. There's no more money for rent. And not much for food, either. His parents, his little sister, and their dog may have to live in their minivan. Again.

Crenshaw is a cat. He's large, he's outspoken, and he's imaginary. He has come back into Jackson's life to help him. But is an imaginary friend enough to save this family from losing everything?

Beloved author Katherine Applegate proves in unexpected ways that friends matter, whether real or imaginary. This title has Common Core connections.


Paperback, 272 pages
Published on September 26, 2017 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 1250091667
ISBN-13: 9781250091666
52 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • pig_ethan
    pig_ethanSaturday, December 16, 2017 at 1:02 pm
    it is soooo cool and interening
    • messiSunday, November 12, 2017 at 2:53 pm
      it is so good
      • angela~lolTuesday, October 10, 2017 at 1:04 pm
        this book Crenshaw is is really amazing the author Kathrine Applegate made this book very imaginable
        • I dont knowThursday, September 21, 2017 at 2:56 pm
          I loved this book it was amazeing i love katherine applegates books im reading right now the one and only ivan plus i want to read more of the 📚 i loved crenshaw because it was an awsome bookkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
          • BellaMonday, May 29, 2017 at 8:23 am
            I loved this book . I used to have an imaginary friend. It was a great book.
            • HilinaiThursday, February 23, 2017 at 10:26 pm
              I read this story and it was really good. I like that he is an imaginary friend. I wish I had one that would be very cool to have a friend by me all the time. I'm just saying it was good.
              • luckycharm12
                luckycharm12Friday, February 17, 2017 at 7:38 am
                Follow kitten7260!! She loves this book!!!!!
                • GracieTuesday, December 20, 2016 at 7:40 am
                  Crenshaw- Book Review- By Gracie- In the book “Crenshaw”, by Katherine Applegate, We follow a main character named Jackson. Jackson has always been one for facts. He never really had an imagination. He thought that the only thing that mattered was pure fact. Needless to say, it surprises him when his imaginary friend, Crenshaw, comes back. He hadn’t seen Crenshaw since first grade- so to see him in 6th grade was strange. Jackson has had a hard life- his family unable to pay rent or for food most of the time, despite his mother having three part-time jobs and his father having two. Despite this, he doesn’t blame his parents for anything. He knows they are trying their absolute best. Crenshaw takes place in modern day, in Swanlake Village. Swanlake Village is a nice place. The people are kind and respectful. They have a school, Swanlake Elementary, which is where Jackson and Marisol go. You see, Marisol is Jack’s friend. They have been together since Crenshaw first disappeared- As soon as you think life is going good, it hits you. It isn’t getting better. As the rent and taxes gather up, Jackson fears that he may have to return to his family’s minivan to live at. Will Crenshaw be able to help him and his family? I don’t know, you’ll have to find out.
                  • bluemaster2005
                    bluemaster2005Monday, December 19, 2016 at 12:19 pm55 stars
                    Have you ever wondered what it would be like to have an imaginary friend? When this friend tries to help you conquer the problems you have at home. When you don’t have food or enough money for paying the bills at home? Well this boy named, Jackson with his family they can’t live in the minivan again. They have to find a way how to try to pay the bills and get more food. This is when Jackson’s friend comes, Crenshaw. “Crenshaw is a cat. He's large, he's outspoken, and he's imaginary. He has come back into Jackson's life to help him. But is an imaginary friend enough to save this family from losing everything?” “In her first novel since winning the Newbery award, Katherine Applegate delivers an unforgettable and magical story about family, friendship, and resilience.” Katherine Applegate is fiction writer for kids. She is best known as the author of the Animorphs, Remnants, Everworld, and other book series. She has won the Newbery Award in 2012 for the book The One And Only Ivan. She is a successful author for children. Applegate's most popular books are science fiction, fantasy, and adventure novels. “She won the Best New Children's Book Series Award in 1997 in Publishers Weekly. Her book Home of the Brave has won two awards. She has recently written an early chapters series called Roscoe Riley Rules.” This book is a fantastic book with all the challenges Jackson family goes through. I would recommend this book to people who likes adventure or fantasy. This book teaches us that most people actually go through the things that Jackson goes through in his lifetime with his little sister, Robin and his parents, Tom and Sarah. This story also shows us to never let go any of the friends that you've taken away from your life.
                    • sundancewarrior
                      sundancewarriorSaturday, December 17, 2016 at 3:23 pm55 stars
                      The book called Crenshaw is about about a boy named Jackson he has a sister called Robin .There a poor family,at least they have Crenshaw ,also I am reading it at home and I am almost done!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      iikitty
                      iikitty wrote:

                      For me, it IS the best series! G...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...

                      iikitty
                      iikitty wrote:

                      Oh my God, Snape's memories alwa...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...

                      iikitty
                      iikitty wrote:

                      Cady cat, that is exactly what h...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...