Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5S3.825361

In her first novel since The One and Only Ivan, winner of the Newbery Medal, Katherine Applegate delivers an unforgettable and magical story about family, friendship, and resilience.

Jackson and his family have fallen on hard times. There's no more money for rent. And not much for food, either. His parents, his little sister, and their dog may have to live in their minivan. Again.

Crenshaw is a cat. He's large, he's outspoken, and he's imaginary. He has come back into Jackson's life to help him. But is an imaginary friend enough to save this family from losing everything?

Beloved author Katherine Applegate proves in unexpected ways that friends matter, whether real or imaginary. This title has Common Core connections.


Paperback, 272 pages
Published on September 26, 2017 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 1250091667
ISBN-13: 9781250091666
57 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • payton_flusche
    payton_fluscheMonday, April 23, 2018 at 8:52 am44 stars
    i liked it but i don't know if will read it again. :(
    • CoolWednesday, March 21, 2018 at 6:13 pm
      I love it! Its a amazing book!
      • WWELOVER1243Wednesday, March 21, 2018 at 12:08 pm
        i dont know if i should continue with this book only bcause as i rfead more and more i get less intreasdead i dont if that happend to any of you guys at all.
        • anonymouslambo Wednesday, March 7, 2018 at 9:47 am
          Crenshaw by: Katherine Applegate, published 2015. Characters: Jackson, Robin, Mom, Dad, Aretha, and Crenshaw. The book is about Jackson and his family falling on hard times and they have financial problems and not much money for food. Jackson’s family and dog have to move into their minivan again. Crenshaw is an imaginary cat that came to life to help Jackson but Jackson doesn’t want anybody to know about and Jackson wants to get rid of him. Crenshaw is outspoken and large. I like this book because it’s very suspenseful and you never know if they’re going to figure out the problem. This book is recommended to 4th or 5th grade boys that likes suspense.
          • lovebug101
            lovebug101Thursday, February 15, 2018 at 4:53 pm55 stars
            This is one of my favorite books. It is about a boy named Jackson and he is very poor. Jackson has a wild imagination. His imaginary friend is named Crenshaw. Crenshaw helps Jackson trough hard times. In the first chapter Crenshaw is a surfboarding cat. Cool right. Jackson and his little sister throw cereal in a cap and eat it. I felt bad for Jackson and his family. I loved this book so much that I bought it right after I read it. He has to live in his minivan again because he is poor. His parents even gave away the guitars they named Jackson and his sister after. That was the saddest part. I recommend this book to anybody with an imaginary friend! I hope you read this book!!! :)
            • pig_ethan
              pig_ethanSaturday, December 16, 2017 at 1:02 pm
              it is soooo cool and interening
              • messiSunday, November 12, 2017 at 2:53 pm
                it is so good
                • angela~lolTuesday, October 10, 2017 at 1:04 pm
                  this book Crenshaw is is really amazing the author Kathrine Applegate made this book very imaginable
                  • I dont knowThursday, September 21, 2017 at 2:56 pm
                    I loved this book it was amazeing i love katherine applegates books im reading right now the one and only ivan plus i want to read more of the 📚 i loved crenshaw because it was an awsome bookkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
                    • BellaMonday, May 29, 2017 at 8:23 am
                      I loved this book . I used to have an imaginary friend. It was a great book.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Hermione_Weasly wrote:

                      I love the book so far! just sta...
                      Harry Potter And The Goblet Of F...

                      Bailey wrote:

                      never read it
                      Red Pizzas for a Blue Count (Ger...

                      slytherinfan

                      I read this book a couple of yea...
                      Savvy

                      Our Apps and Plugins