Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5S3.825361

In her first novel since The One and Only Ivan, winner of the Newbery Medal, Katherine Applegate delivers an unforgettable and magical story about family, friendship, and resilience.

Jackson and his family have fallen on hard times. There's no more money for rent. And not much for food, either. His parents, his little sister, and their dog may have to live in their minivan. Again.

Crenshaw is a cat. He's large, he's outspoken, and he's imaginary. He has come back into Jackson's life to help him. But is an imaginary friend enough to save this family from losing everything?

Beloved author Katherine Applegate proves in unexpected ways that friends matter, whether real or imaginary. This title has Common Core connections.


Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on September 22, 2015 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 1250043239
ISBN-13: 9781250043238
77 Book Reviews
  • pacerota-156993536260
    pacerota-156993536260Thursday, March 4, 2021 at 8:39 am55 stars
    it is the best book in the world
    • book_lover250
      book_lover250Thursday, January 28, 2021 at 7:33 am
      It's my favorite book of all. It's cute, funny, and sad all at the same time. 10/20 definitely recommend.
      • bluetiger
        bluetigerTuesday, January 12, 2021 at 7:35 am55 stars
        It was sssssssssoooooooo good
        • devbaiba
          devbaibaThursday, September 24, 2020 at 11:05 am55 stars
          This was a amazing book.It was mind blowing for a book.
          • beaners18
            beaners18Tuesday, September 22, 2020 at 11:47 am55 stars
            this was a really liked it
            • NAHIKARI Friday, March 13, 2020 at 2:08 pm
              Its AMAZING
              • yeah_imian
                yeah_imianFriday, March 13, 2020 at 11:10 am55 stars
                I rate this book 5 stars here is why. This book reminds me of the book Wonder a boy who is experiencing something he never has before that's why it is similar to this book. This book is about a boy with an imaginary cat friend named Crenshaw. Crenshaw appeared on the beach one day and began to follow Jackson ,the main character. The boy's parents begin to fight and start to consider divorce. This book reminds me of when I was younger and had an imaginary friend.
                • jijumiry-157805874722
                  jijumiry-157805874722Thursday, January 16, 2020 at 7:10 am
                  Crenshaw is about this family that is very poor and the family has and daughter and a son. The boys imaginary friend comes back and he tries to figure out why. I really liked this book. One reason I like this book is because the imaginary friend is very funny another reason is because I like books with talking animals and the last reason is because there are is a lot of challenges they have to go through since they they do not have that much money and I like reading about them solving those problems. My favorite part was when the imaginary friend was taking a bubble bath while everyone in the house was sleeping. You might like this book if you like fantasy books and talking animals. You should read this book because it is not a super long book, it is funny, there are talking animals.
                  • tilufive-157805874758
                    tilufive-157805874758Tuesday, January 7, 2020 at 8:05 am55 stars
                    In my opinion, I really liked this book. One reason why is he had a imaginary cat friend and he did stuff that made it like he was real. Another reason why is the cat took a shower. The last reason why is the dog could also see the cat but everyone else could not see him. My favorite part is when the cat takes a shower in the middle of the night. You might like this book if you like make believe creatures. You should read this book because it is kid friendly and it has facts. It is also fantasy.
                    • makian
                      makianSunday, November 24, 2019 at 6:11 am
                      Some one in my class is reading this book.