Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5S3.825361

In her first novel since The One and Only Ivan, winner of the Newbery Medal, Katherine Applegate delivers an unforgettable and magical story about family, friendship, and resilience.

Jackson and his family have fallen on hard times. There's no more money for rent. And not much for food, either. His parents, his little sister, and their dog may have to live in their minivan. Again.

Crenshaw is a cat. He's large, he's outspoken, and he's imaginary. He has come back into Jackson's life to help him. But is an imaginary friend enough to save this family from losing everything?

Beloved author Katherine Applegate proves in unexpected ways that friends matter, whether real or imaginary. This title has Common Core connections.


Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on September 22, 2015 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 1250043239
ISBN-13: 9781250043238
72 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • NAHIKARI Friday, March 13, 2020 at 2:08 pm
    Its AMAZING
    • yeah_imian
      yeah_imianFriday, March 13, 2020 at 11:10 am55 stars
      I rate this book 5 stars here is why. This book reminds me of the book Wonder a boy who is experiencing something he never has before that's why it is similar to this book. This book is about a boy with an imaginary cat friend named Crenshaw. Crenshaw appeared on the beach one day and began to follow Jackson ,the main character. The boy's parents begin to fight and start to consider divorce. This book reminds me of when I was younger and had an imaginary friend.
      • jijumiry-157805874722
        jijumiry-157805874722Thursday, January 16, 2020 at 7:10 am
        Crenshaw is about this family that is very poor and the family has and daughter and a son. The boys imaginary friend comes back and he tries to figure out why. I really liked this book. One reason I like this book is because the imaginary friend is very funny another reason is because I like books with talking animals and the last reason is because there are is a lot of challenges they have to go through since they they do not have that much money and I like reading about them solving those problems. My favorite part was when the imaginary friend was taking a bubble bath while everyone in the house was sleeping. You might like this book if you like fantasy books and talking animals. You should read this book because it is not a super long book, it is funny, there are talking animals.
        • tilufive-157805874758
          tilufive-157805874758Tuesday, January 7, 2020 at 8:05 am55 stars
          In my opinion, I really liked this book. One reason why is he had a imaginary cat friend and he did stuff that made it like he was real. Another reason why is the cat took a shower. The last reason why is the dog could also see the cat but everyone else could not see him. My favorite part is when the cat takes a shower in the middle of the night. You might like this book if you like make believe creatures. You should read this book because it is kid friendly and it has facts. It is also fantasy.
          • makian
            makianSunday, November 24, 2019 at 6:11 am
            Some one in my class is reading this book.
            • MaddieWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 11:37 am
              I think the book is awesome and I love all the detail in it i think it will be one of my favorite books 😛
              • MaxyMonday, May 20, 2019 at 4:31 pm
                uh i havent finished it and i really want to so pls help me out!
                • nicholasMonday, March 11, 2019 at 7:29 am
                  i loved this book
                  • LyndaThursday, March 7, 2019 at 4:43 pm
                    I loved this book. My language teacher recommended it to me and I thought it was a great book. It was a little under my level (8th grade) but I thought the plot line was awesome. I just sat for like 1 and a half hours just reading because I loved it so much. If you like fiction, I definitely recommend!
                    • dizzyjelly
                      dizzyjellySaturday, January 26, 2019 at 12:57 pm44 stars
                      This is a really good book! In Crenshaw, 5th grade Jackson reunites with his old imaginary friend, Crenshaw, a huge kitten with big green eyes and a like for purple jellybeans, just like Jackson, who first met Jackson when he finished 1st grade. Now, a 5th grader, Crenshaw is spotted surfing on the beach, holding up an umbrella. That's really not the point of surfing. Later, When Jackson sees Crenshaw taking a bath, he's like- What are you doing here? This is what Jackson learns from Crenshaw: Imaginary friends are always with their real friends, They're just waiting for the right time to come back, assuming there is. It's like they're just sitting on a couch, waiting for the phone to ring. It rang. (That was kind of a metaphor, I don't know. Plus, I'm not even up to that part yet. I skipped.)