Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2441 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • yc428498
    yc428498Monday, February 22, 2021 at 3:37 pm55 stars
    One of the best dystopian books I have read. Ever. You gotta try it. :)
    • annafantastic
      annafantasticSunday, February 21, 2021 at 7:07 am55 stars
      This is a really good book!
      • mercury_dust
        mercury_dustFriday, February 19, 2021 at 3:01 pm55 stars
        I totally recommend this to anyone in 6th grade or up, l have read it multiple times and it's still just as interesting. if you like action packed books with a lot of adventure, l really suggest reading it.
        • catnip_everdeen
          catnip_everdeenTuesday, February 16, 2021 at 11:39 am55 stars
          I love Hunger Games, the books can be very, er, scary, depressing and graphic, it is very good.
          • go_pottah_1980
            go_pottah_1980Tuesday, February 16, 2021 at 11:27 am55 stars
            I love this book!!
            • Mia Tuesday, February 9, 2021 at 2:52 pm
              i really like it its scary for some parts but its a really good book like- Im in love with it im still trying to finish the series but yea i love it!
              • thesmessywriter
                thesmessywriterSaturday, February 6, 2021 at 3:55 pm55 stars
                amazing!
                • themessywriterFriday, February 5, 2021 at 9:40 am
                  such a good book, love Katniss and her bravery
                  • DaveTuesday, February 2, 2021 at 11:30 am
                    Was a good book
                    • SkylarTuesday, February 2, 2021 at 10:37 am
                      It is cool

                      Join Class

                      If you are a student and would like to join this class, type in the Class Code below and click 'Join Class'.

                      Students