Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.3101564
Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has won the annual Hunger Games with fellow district tribute Peeta Mellark. But it was a victory won by defiance of the Capitol and their harsh rules. Katniss and Peeta should be happy. After all, they have just won for themselves and their families a life of safety and plenty. But there are rumors of rebellion among the subjects, and Katniss and Peeta, to their horror, are the faces of that rebellion. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge.
Hardcover, 391 pages
Published on September 1, 2009 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023491
ISBN-13: 9780439023498
760 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • alelav2021
    alelav2021Tuesday, January 26, 2021 at 8:17 am55 stars
    Imagine being picked to be put into a man made wilderness where everything can happen. Your main goal is to kill all the other people chosen. Then imagine being chosen again. Katniss Everdeen the main character of the book “Catching fire” The sequel to “The Hunger Games” written by Suzanne Collins had to go through that. It takes place in dystopian US where they are ruled by the capitol who takes all their resources leaving them to starve. When she is picked the second time she is picked with people from past games, who along with having more experience, they also have bonds. The other people are friends, but Katniss starts making friends with them. I would recommend this book to anyone who is fine with a little gore. But just as a warning please do not read this book if you are in 6 grade or below.
    • kittiesmama
      kittiesmamaMonday, January 4, 2021 at 8:36 am55 stars
      This book is awesome it really is an adventure this is what happened katniss and gale hunt but they had to go to the hunger games with someone she knows but has never talked to and feels like she owes him it is.... Peeta . Enjoy!
      • unipug2
        unipug2Saturday, December 12, 2020 at 4:23 pm
        I have already read the first book so I am gonna try this. The first book was really good. I took an AR test on it. It was awesome.
        • chloele
          chloeleThursday, November 26, 2020 at 7:53 pm55 stars
          great book!
          • jkbear
            jkbearThursday, November 19, 2020 at 3:26 pm55 stars
            this a great book
            • Rarael Wednesday, November 11, 2020 at 12:44 am
              This book amazing
              • night21
                night21Wednesday, November 11, 2020 at 12:16 am44 stars
                Suzzane Collins does an amazing job getting inside katniss’s head in this book. Katniss struggles with her traumatic past, and her confusion with peta, her hatred of snow, and mixed-up feelings are very entertaining to watch play out, even with most of the book inside her own head!
                • violingirl82
                  violingirl82Tuesday, October 20, 2020 at 1:39 pm55 stars
                  I am about one fifth the way through this fantastic novel. As far as i can tell, i eould probably only read for ages 11+
                  • kkgautamm
                    kkgautammFriday, August 14, 2020 at 2:31 pm55 stars
                    this was by far my favorite hunger games book. it's perfect, and we really get to see the characters develop. its not fair that president snow is so evil and reaped the tributes from the previous years' victors. i fell in love with finnick,(esp considering annie and his love for mags) but the ending absolutely broke my heart.
                    • jojo424
                      jojo424Sunday, August 9, 2020 at 3:35 pm55 stars
                      This is an amazing book! You should definitely read all of them. Two have won the games. To the Capitol, it was an act of love. To the districts, it was an act of rebellion. To Katniss, it was confusing--was it love? rebellion? To Peeta it was the luck of love. As the Star-Crossed Lovers from District 12 go on their Victory Tour, it ends up being a disaster. As they return home, Gale and Katniss break their relationship with occasional mentions of Peeta. As they return home, a new Peacekeeper has come and changes 12 forever. And all Katniss can think about is the coming of the Hunger Games. How it will be a Quarter Quell (the recipe for horror). And how she and Peeta will be Mentors. And the relationship between them compared to Gale. And confusion. That would be a word to explain it all. But as they continue on in life, they find out all Peeta and Katniss have been doing was adding to the flame of rebellion But as they here what the 75th Hunger Games will be like, they find out that for this Quarter Quell, "as a reminder to the victors that even the strongest can not overcome the capitol, this year we will be pulling our Tributes from the existing pool of Victors." KATNISS IS GOING BACK INTO THE ARENA! (also we all know who's going to be the boy tribute...) It seems so perfect! For all the rebellion that is going on! A lot of things happen. Deaths of those we (as in the readers) love! Choosing Allies for the games! (The strategy for this game is to be like Career tributes.) An act of rebellion happens multiple times throughout the events before the Games, and it's clearly getting out of control. As they fight again for survival, Katniss's plan this time is to keep Peeta alive. But for this game... will anyone even survive? We all know the Capitol (President Snow especially!) want revenge. So maybe this game wasn't even supposed to have a champion of champions! Or maybe something else will happen... who knows? You read Catching Fire right now. Because along with the name, the rebellion is catching fire and adding to the flame!

                      Join Class

                      If you are a student and would like to join this class, type in the Class Code below and click 'Join Class'.

                      Students