Cassidy Blake's parents are The Inspectres, a (somewhat inept) ghost-hunting team. But Cass herself can REALLY see ghosts. In fact, her best friend, Jacob, just happens to be one.
When The Inspectres head to ultra-haunted Edinburgh, Scotland, for their new TV show, Cass -- and Jacob -- come along. In Scotland, Cass is surrounded by ghosts, not all of them friendly. Then she meets Lara, a girl who can also see the dead. But Lara tells Cassidy that as an In-betweener, their job is to send ghosts permanently beyond the Veil. Cass isn't sure about her new mission, but she does know the sinister Red Raven haunting the city doesn't belong in her world. Cassidy's powers will draw her into an epic fight that stretches through the worlds of the living and the dead, in order to save herself.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on September 3, 2019 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 1338111027
ISBN-13: 9781338111026
8 Book Reviews
  • thesleepywriter
    thesleepywriterWednesday, May 19, 2021 at 9:17 am55 stars
    can you see ghosts? don't worry you're not alone! Cassidy can also see ghosts in fact her best friend if one. as Cass and Jacob explore Scotland, they run into loyal friends and dangerous enemies. while the ghost of red try to end the life of the girl who can see ghosts mysteries and secrets unwinded
    • thesleepywriter
      thesleepywriterMonday, May 17, 2021 at 4:28 pm55 stars
      I love this book! the characters are so loveable and realistic, Victoria did an amazing job! this book is also clean ( has no cuss words ) and is appropriate, although it isn't vivid on horror, violence, or gore it should be read by kids who are 12+
      • 20k_madi
        20k_madiFriday, May 7, 2021 at 9:35 am44 stars
        hi I like this books its kinda scary but its okay too me
        • super_catninja
          super_catninjaThursday, January 30, 2020 at 8:50 am55 stars
          This is an amazing book! The characters are well described and all play an important role in the story. The plot has many twists and turns but in the end, it leads up to the final, most intense scene. I would have never expected what happened to Cass (Sorry, no spoilers)! The settings are all haunted and the author's choice of words will make you shiver. Cass is the main character and "almost drowned" but was pulled back by a ghost. Ever since she has been able to cross to the "ghost world". But as she learns more about what she can do, a mysterious character is determined to steal her life. This is definitely a book I will read again!!
          • super_catninja
            super_catninjaThursday, January 30, 2020 at 8:41 am55 stars
            This is an amazing book!! All the characters and described well and play an important roll in the story. The plot has many twists and turns but leads up to the final, most intense scene!! The settings of the haunted places will make you shiver. This book is definitely a book I will read again!
            • moonlightwolf
              moonlightwolfTuesday, November 5, 2019 at 8:54 am55 stars
              this looks like such a good book
              • 13iamgroot
                13iamgrootMonday, November 4, 2019 at 4:46 pm55 stars
                This is a very engaging book that sends chills up your spine. I have read it multiple times and loved every minute of it, even when it creeped me out a little bit. The main character is named Cassidy and her best friend is a ghost.....no she is not crazy.....Jacob is a real ghost. Ever since Cassidy drowned and Jacob saved her life she has been able to cross between the world of the living and the world of the dead. She calls this 'the veil' because in order to cross over she pulls on a curtain in the air and enters the ghost world. Whenever a ghost is in the veil she hears a tap-tap-tap and is pulled towards it in order to pull back the curtain. Jacob does not like it when Cassidy does this, and neither does she, but 'the veil' calls to her and makes her wonder if there is something she should be doing in the mysterious place. To make matters worse, her parents decide to host a TV show on the most haunted places in the world, and they head off to Scotland, instead of the nice beach vacation that Cassidy had planned. She learns that Scotland is filled with ghosts and sometimes the pull of 'the veil' is too strong for her to resist and it sucks her into the land of the dead without her pulling on the curtain. Jacob gets dragged along, much to his irritation, and Cassidy meets another girl with her same talent, who Jacob doesn't like one bit. She realizes that she has much to learn about 'the veil' and that it is more dangerous than she initially thought. The girl informs her that she has a job to do instead of lugging her precious old-fashioned camera around and taking pictures in the hopes that one will turn out with ghost pictures instead of blurry shadows. This book keeps you turning pages so that you never want to stop. "The City of Ghosts" can get pretty scary, but not too bad, after all, I don't usually like scary books but this one surprised me and I love it a lot. I would recommend this book to middle schoolers who enjoy realistic fantasy with a little twist.
                • billybob1
                  billybob1Saturday, May 8, 2021 at 6:54 pm55 stars
                  Wow you are good at book reviews!!