Discover this first installment of the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series and “prepare to be hooked” (Entertainment Weekly).

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder—much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing—not even a smear of blood—to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know...

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

Paperback, 544 pages
Published on December 22, 2015 by Margaret K. McElderry Books
ISBN-10: 1481470302
ISBN-13: 9781481470308
72 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • riley22m
    riley22mTuesday, March 7, 2017 at 7:25 pm55 stars
    This book was awesome. It wasn't one of those books where the girl was a damsel in distress at all points of the story. It is very mysterious but also very adventurous full of demons half angel humans who fight to survive. It's thrilling and if you are into supernatural then this is your book.
    • savycat
      savycatTuesday, January 17, 2017 at 12:37 pm55 stars
      i have read this books series twice,it is awesome
      • mortalnstrument
        mortalnstrumentSunday, October 30, 2016 at 1:03 pm55 stars
        I love how Cassandra created the story line and thought of all these amazing ideas. If you haven't read this series you need to go to a library or a book store and get this book now.
        • wannaone
          wannaoneWednesday, August 24, 2016 at 6:51 am55 stars
          I think it is a great book full of action, fantasy, & romance. I loved this book and I think if you are a fantasy and romance lover you will like this book. I enjoyed reading this I hope you will to!
          • aisan_life
            aisan_lifeSunday, July 31, 2016 at 11:59 pm55 stars
            ive started reading this book and it got real intense, as i reached part 2 it got real! I recommend this book for sci-fi /fantasy lovers its really awesome
            • jonseymarchmlg
              jonseymarchmlgFriday, July 22, 2016 at 10:49 pm
              I've only read the first one its great!!!!!
              • sportsgirl5537
                sportsgirl5537Friday, June 24, 2016 at 9:17 am55 stars
                AMAZING SERIES. I love it!!
                • babybunny02
                  babybunny02Monday, June 20, 2016 at 3:36 pm
                  I LOVED THIS BOOK! It took me a while to get into it because I thought the beginning was kind of slow but as soon as she finds out WHAT she is, it amazingly written.
                  • thebooknerd37
                    thebooknerd37Monday, June 13, 2016 at 4:29 pm55 stars
                    This collection is amazing. It's just what I love to read. 5 stars for me!!
                    • olivia38526661
                      olivia38526661Sunday, June 12, 2016 at 9:53 pm55 stars
                      If you are into vampires, werewolves and demons, this is the perfect read for you. Follow Clary Fray on an epic adventure to recover her past and create her future, with the help of Jace, Alec, Simon and Isabelle. You will fall in love with The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Parismilli wrote:

                      I have not read it but I think I...
                      Double Down

                      antwal1718
                      antwal1718 wrote:

                      i think the book was very good i...
                      Wormwood Mire

                      robin13
                      robin13 wrote:

                      me+like=agree
                      The Losers Club

                      robin13
                      robin13 wrote:

                      ok so my sister told me this was...
                      The Losers Club