Discover this first installment of the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series and “prepare to be hooked” (Entertainment Weekly).

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder—much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing—not even a smear of blood—to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know...

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

Paperback, 544 pages
Published on December 22, 2015 by Margaret K. McElderry Books
ISBN-10: 1481470302
ISBN-13: 9781481470308
75 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • majise
    majiseFriday, November 10, 2017 at 9:14 am55 stars
    Awesome book i love it!!!!
    • dheb2
      dheb2Thursday, November 9, 2017 at 6:33 am55 stars
      this was a fun thrill ride that all would love
      • darkangeldria12
        darkangeldria12Thursday, October 26, 2017 at 1:15 pm55 stars
        I absolutely love this series I have read it about a thousand times and know everything by heart I definitely do recommend these books for people to read :D
        • riley22m
          riley22mTuesday, March 7, 2017 at 7:25 pm55 stars
          This book was awesome. It wasn't one of those books where the girl was a damsel in distress at all points of the story. It is very mysterious but also very adventurous full of demons half angel humans who fight to survive. It's thrilling and if you are into supernatural then this is your book.
          • savycat
            savycatTuesday, January 17, 2017 at 12:37 pm55 stars
            i have read this books series twice,it is awesome
            • mortalnstrument
              mortalnstrumentSunday, October 30, 2016 at 1:03 pm55 stars
              I love how Cassandra created the story line and thought of all these amazing ideas. If you haven't read this series you need to go to a library or a book store and get this book now.
              • wannaone
                wannaoneWednesday, August 24, 2016 at 6:51 am55 stars
                I think it is a great book full of action, fantasy, & romance. I loved this book and I think if you are a fantasy and romance lover you will like this book. I enjoyed reading this I hope you will to!
                • aisan_life
                  aisan_lifeSunday, July 31, 2016 at 11:59 pm55 stars
                  ive started reading this book and it got real intense, as i reached part 2 it got real! I recommend this book for sci-fi /fantasy lovers its really awesome
                  • jonseymarchmlg
                    jonseymarchmlgFriday, July 22, 2016 at 10:49 pm
                    I've only read the first one its great!!!!!
                    • sportsgirl5537
                      sportsgirl5537Friday, June 24, 2016 at 9:17 am55 stars
                      AMAZING SERIES. I love it!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      thenoobquax

                      Final battle is Dark Forest vs L...
                      Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour (W...

                      thenoobquax

                      Rusty walks around finding Grayp...
                      Warriors: Into the Wild

                      thenoobquax

                      How do you actually like Firesta...
                      The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...

                      thenoobquax

                      Finally Erin Hunter finally got ...
                      The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...