Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades K - 4H3.31141
Chrysanthemum is a funny and honest school story about teasing, self-esteem, and acceptance to share all year round. Chrysanthemum thinks her name is absolutely perfect until her first day of school. ""You're named after a flower!"" teases Victoria. ""Let's smell her,"" says Jo. Chrysanthemum wilts. What will it take to make her blossom again?.
Hardcover, 32 pages
ISBN-10: 0340727934
ISBN-13: 9780340727935
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Dinah4136120Monday, October 24, 2016 at 8:16 am
    I have no words its sooooooo cool and cute I read it in preschool with my book buddy Jenna
    • AmeliaFriday, October 14, 2016 at 7:08 am
      In my opinion the book chrysanthemum by Kevin Henkes is a great book. I like it because chrysanthemum is a nice girl.I don't like it because kids are bulging chrysanthemum.One of the reasons is a kids sed this “a chrysanthemum is a flower “you should get this book.
      • cameronf
        cameronfThursday, October 29, 2015 at 6:05 am55 stars
        love the book
        • daniel11
          daniel11Thursday, April 23, 2015 at 2:23 pm55 stars
          An amazing classic about the golden rule. I read it ever since I started school, an unbeatable story.
          • luke2234Thursday, April 23, 2015 at 1:12 pm
            chrysanthemum is about a mouse who thinks her name is the best until she goes to school. Rita,Joe,and Victoria make fun of Chrysanthemum's name. Do you think things will get better read to find out my favorite part is when Chrysanthemum is in the tree and her dad calls her for dinner. I would recommend this book to any kindergartner who has a long name because the kid in kindergarten can relate to Chrysanthemum.
            • kandaceTuesday, April 21, 2015 at 5:44 pm
              I like this book because its on the mane page of this websit
              • ashtonMonday, April 20, 2015 at 3:53 pm
                this is a good book because my class got a editors pick on here and its the only one that has a editors pick and its on the mane page of this websit! its a really good to me and my class. this book is enjoyable because its a good book to people that have long names
                • Taylor Monday, April 20, 2015 at 10:36 am
                  I read this book in like Kindergarten and it was so cute, and I still remember it. When I saw this book i had to comment on how it is such a great book. You should read it to your little sister or brother and or if you are a teacher and you teach Pre-K-nd grade this is a great book!
                  • worley2
                    Mrs. WorleyMonday, April 20, 2015 at 6:48 amFeatured
                    "Chrysanthemum" is a story about a little mouse who thinks her name is perfect until she goes to school. All of the other mice made fun of her name because it was different. Chrysanthemum went home and told her parents she was sad. She even dreamed that she changed her name to Jane! Will things get better? Read to find out. Our class liked the part in this book when Chrysanthemum's parents gave her her special name. We thought it was funny when the other mice gave themselves flower names. Our class would recommend this book to any kid with a long name. We think that they could relate to Chrysanthemum and her long name.
                    • vivian2002
                      vivian2002Wednesday, February 19, 2014 at 7:55 am55 stars
                      This book is so wonderful! From this book, I learned to be happy and proud with my name. Chrysanthemum is ashamed of her name at first, but she learns to ignore others who make fun of her. This story really touched my heart.