Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.540792
Title: Chitty Chitty Bang Bang Flies Again <>Binding: Hardcover <>Author: FrankCottrellBoyce <>Publisher: CandlewickPress(MA)
Hardcover
Published on March 1, 2012 by Candlewick Press (MA)
ISBN-10: 0763659614
ISBN-13: 9780763659615
27 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • inventor60
    inventor60Wednesday, September 23, 2015 at 5:50 am33 stars
    This book was about a 1966 camper that is rebuilt by Mr. Tooting and his son Jem. Unfortunately, not all the parts are found and the engine is replaced by an airplane's. Once that is done, the family realizes that Chitty- Chitty Bang Bang, the name they now call the machine, is controlling herself. As the camper swings into action, the family is followed by a bank robber eager to steal the machine.
    • deacon
      deaconThursday, September 17, 2015 at 7:50 am55 stars
      My mom and I read this book together, she said she read it when she was a kid, so I wanted to read it with her.
      • maddykate
        maddykateThursday, July 30, 2015 at 6:16 pm11 star
        it is a very good book for chitty chitty bang bang lovers but it just was not the right book for me, i don't think i really understood
        • readwriter
          readwriterFriday, July 24, 2015 at 3:08 pm55 stars
          This was a funny book that I really enjoyed. It is nothing like the movie-not to me anyway. I like everything about this book. I like how the Tooting family has a word for every day, more than one actually. I like how Lucy is so dramatic. Very well done.
          • casgirl
            casgirlMonday, July 13, 2015 at 9:24 am55 stars
            I really think they should make a next one! I had to buy this one because it was so ,very good!!! And you should really reed it.
            • genius1326
              genius1326Thursday, July 2, 2015 at 8:58 am33 stars
              Liked it. It was better than the movie, but movies are hard to make as same as some books, but I think it was an overall exciting book.
              • sushi321
                sushi321Wednesday, July 1, 2015 at 3:24 pm
                I'm just saying but the book was a lot better than the movie. The movie was weird and missed and added parts. Or at least the first movie was like that. This book is a sequel and is good
                • chrystal13
                  chrystal13Monday, June 22, 2015 at 12:57 pm44 stars
                  I absolutely loved this book! It had an interesting plot, pulled me in, and the character development made me feel as it Jem and Lucy were my friends. It was a little slow at times, but otherwise I would give it 5 stars. I remember staying up until 3:00 in the morning reading this book! Overall, I would recommend this book to kids ages 7 - 12.
                  • england4
                    england4Monday, June 22, 2015 at 11:02 am
                    i loved the book it has major suspense and i love the book it is so good. best book ever
                    • goofy127
                      goofy127Wednesday, June 17, 2015 at 5:32 pm44 starsFeatured
                      Mr. Tooting, or Dad has some Very Big News. He has been sacked. Hooray! But now he needs something to occupy his free time and so he sets about improving their home - from a door that opens automatically and is hooked up to the tea kettle to brightening up Lucy’s black room and robot stuffed animals, the three kids’ ‘Hooray’s soon turn into ‘Oh no, somebody keep him occupied’s. So Mum brings home a 1966 camper van with 23 windows that looks like it is smiling… and falls apart at a touch. Dad sets about restoring it to its former glory with the help of his son, Jem. (Remember, Jem, not Jeremy. He hates being called Jeremy). It’s like a giant puzzle for Jem and Mr. Tooting can’t wait to take his family everywhere they’ve ever wanted to go. Unfortunately for them, Mr. Tooting does end up fully restoring the van and adding an old aeroplane engine to it as well. They name the van Chitty Chitty Bang Bang because of the sound of the engine and soon realize that they aren’t controlling it at all! Chitty is controlling herself, busting out her wings and flying them all over the world (where they had thought they wanted to go, but really it’s all her) to get back her lost parts. It’s only after a super-rich, not-really-tiny, out-to-steal-Chitty bank-robber comes after them that they realize what an adventure they are in for and how special Chitty really is. Even though I haven’t read the original Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, I think is a really fun book. It’s full of humour, adventure, family, underestimated goth girls, a bossy van and evil villians. I think kids of all ages, especially fans of Dr. Cuthbert Soup will really enjoy it.