Chinese Cinderella: The true story of an unwanted daughter

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 5 - 10n/a5.749573
A riveting memoir of a girl's painful coming-of-age in a wealthy Chinese family during the 1940s.

A Chinese proverb says, "Falling leaves return to their roots." In Chinese Cinderella, Adeline Yen Mah returns to her roots to tell the story of her painful childhood and her ultimate triumph and courage in the face of despair. Adeline's affluent, powerful family considers her bad luck after her mother dies giving birth to her. Life does not get any easier when her father remarries. She and her siblings are subjected to the disdain of her stepmother, while her stepbrother and stepsister are spoiled. Although Adeline wins prizes at school, they are not enough to compensate for what she really yearns for -- the love and understanding of her family.

Following the success of the critically acclaimed adult bestseller Falling Leaves, this memoir is a moving telling of the classic Cinderella story, with Adeline Yen Mah providing her own courageous voice.
Paperback, 240 pages
Published on September 14, 2010 by Ember
ISBN-10: 0385740077
ISBN-13: 9780385740074
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Book CriticSaturday, July 14, 2018 at 9:20 pm
    This is a very good and intriguing book that I think everyone should read at some point. It will make you realize many good life lessons; some being that you have to be grateful of who and what you are, being thankful and grateful for your parents, and to create your own destiny. It will be a very good book for our current generation as they can realize that things shouldn't always be taken for granted. Anyone can enjoy this book, whether you are 5 or 80.
    • enyac
      enyacMonday, May 30, 2016 at 6:24 pm
      I really like this book because, this teach me about how lucky I wad born in this family. This book is talking about, Adeline and her siblings are subjected to the disdain of her stepmother, while her stepbrother and stepsister are spoiled. Although Adeline wins prizes at school, they are not enough to compensate for what she really yearns for the love and understanding of her family.
      • enyac
        enyacWednesday, December 2, 2015 at 2:32 am
        I think Adeline stepmom is so mean, I don't get why Adeline stepmom is always so mean to her. I think this book is very sad because Adeline have a terrible family that don't trust her, take care about her. I feel sad and unfair for Adeline, because her stepsister is spolid and she is not. This book let me knows about how lucky I am.
        • tiya25
          Ms. UsuWednesday, June 10, 2015 at 11:04 pm44 stars
          This is horrific story.Everyone should read it.I'll make sure not to spoil anything.But it's a true story.
          • caitlynr
            caitlynrThursday, March 12, 2015 at 5:44 pm55 stars
            This is a very sad book. This is a very great book
            • mirsings14
              mirsings14Sunday, March 1, 2015 at 5:00 pm
              This is one of the best books I've ever read. It's autobiography which I love and is written as if you were in the situation. I recommend anyone who loves autobiographys to read this book it's absolutely amazing.
              • strawberrycake
                strawberrycakeSaturday, September 6, 2014 at 2:54 pm55 stars
                Best book
                • strawberrycake
                  strawberrycakeSaturday, September 6, 2014 at 2:53 pm55 stars
                  This book is the best book I've read in a long time
                  • linsa
                    linsaMonday, September 30, 2013 at 1:53 pm44 stars
                    This book is about the life of a little girl that grows up to be a wise woman. Throughout her life she experiences both happiness and pain. This book is a great book to read, but I would recommend this book mainly for girls.
                    • bossTuesday, May 14, 2013 at 4:04 pm
                      It was really good it emotion and great story line.