Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Not Reading (Charlie Joe Jackson Series)

Book 1 of 6 in the Charlie Joe Jackson Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.431573

Charlie Joe Jackson may be the most reluctant reader ever born. And so far, he's managed to get through life without ever reading an entire book from cover to cover. But now that he's in middle school, avoiding reading isn't as easy as it used to be. And when his friend Timmy McGibney decides that he's tired of covering for him, Charlie Joe finds himself resorting to desperate measures to keep his perfect record intact.

Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Not Reading by Tommy Greenwald is the hilarious story of an avid non-reader and the extreme lengths to which he'll go to get out of reading a book.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on July 5, 2011 by Roaring Brook Press
ISBN-10: 1596436913
ISBN-13: 9781596436916
89 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • aunthtoo8896lol
    aunthtoo8896lolFriday, September 30, 2016 at 6:39 am
    this is super good
    • cutiepatuty
      cutiepatutyFriday, July 1, 2016 at 4:36 pm
      its funny because u have to read to learn how to not read
      • hc3
        hc3Sunday, May 15, 2016 at 3:53 pm
        I loved this book, although I love to read.
        • air_7
          air_7Thursday, December 17, 2015 at 9:19 am
          I can connect to this guy because I don't like reading but do it anyway
          • 11037
            11037Friday, December 11, 2015 at 8:50 am
            I just find the title ironic. It sounds awesome
            • zink_playz
              zink_playzThursday, October 15, 2015 at 11:04 am
              this is a funny book because it gives you way to not read but you have to read so you know t he stepsπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘Œ
              • MitchellSunday, October 11, 2015 at 2:03 pm
                I don't like book but I do like this one
                • surai2pretty
                  surai2prettySunday, October 11, 2015 at 6:22 am
                  I know I'm a bookworm but I really like this book!
                  • inventor60
                    inventor60Wednesday, September 23, 2015 at 6:18 am33 stars
                    I really enjoyed this book and recommend to everyone, bookworm or not. It is about the famous character Charlie Joe as he attempts to avoid reading in middle school, but when his best friend refuses to cover for him, Charlie is submerged in a world of despair.
                    • hullo
                      hulloMonday, September 21, 2015 at 2:41 pm
                      This book is pretty good. It is about a kid name Charlie Joe Jackson who absolutely hates reading. I enjoyed this book because I can see how people, who don't like books think like.