Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.275475
Book by Laurie Halse Anderson about slavery in America.
Paperback, 316 pages
Published on January 5, 2010 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416905863
ISBN-13: 9781416905868
26 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • violetpanda
    violetpandaThursday, November 5, 2020 at 3:55 pm55 stars
    I love how this book shows people how horrible slavery was! It's so interesting, and things never stop happening! It makes you feel like you are inside Isabel's head. I just got the other books in the series and I'm SO EXCITED to read them! 😆
    • willow123goma
      willow123gomaTuesday, July 21, 2020 at 5:06 am55 stars
      This is a amazing book about the evils of slavery(especially cruel slavery that included terrible masters and unfair and tyrannical treatment to slaves.) I loved this book and hope to read the rest of the series.
      • totoro32
        totoro32Saturday, February 29, 2020 at 8:28 am55 stars
        I just read this book for English. It is amazing. Some parts where a bit gross and violent, and I was very mad because of the cliffhanger, but I really felt like I was in Isabels head. It was cool how I felt like I was back in the revolutionary war. Overall, this may be my be my favorite historical fiction book, though it felt like nonfiction!
        • she_is_a_ruby
          she_is_a_rubySaturday, August 31, 2019 at 1:05 pm55 stars
          Chains is one of my favorite books, the author allows her readers to understand where the characters are coming from. In my opinion the book is a bit depressing, that's what makes the book good. We have the chance to experience what the main character is feeling and how she deals with being inslaved. The book goes from her with her family to being in a very difficult decision which nobody at that age should have too. I recommend reading this book it was a eye opener for me and I'm pretty sure it would be the same for you.
          • aly_spoon675
            aly_spoon675Wednesday, May 15, 2019 at 1:32 pm44 starsFeatured
            How would you feel if you were promised freedom only to be brutally sent off to another slave master? This is what happened to Isabel, a 13 year old slave and her sister, Ruth. Being the only two left in their family, they had no one to turn to, and no one would defend them when they said they were free. Isabel and Ruth were soon sent to Madam Lockton's home, where they were beaten regularly. During this time Isabel is also offered her freedom in exchange to spy on Mr. Lockton since he was a loyalist, for a rebel. Chains is a powerful story about a slave in the starting of the revolutionary war yearning for freedom. Isabel suffers through immense pain for herself, her sister, and her freedom; never stopping once to think twice. Her story inspired me and it will surely inspire you, which is why I highly recommend you read it!
            • atrama
              atramaFriday, December 14, 2018 at 5:10 pm55 stars
              This is an amazing book. Full of character and a bit scary sometimes.
              • BookGirlMonday, August 7, 2017 at 6:17 pm
                Chains was an engrossing, hair-raising tale told with many details. It was hard for me to stop reading the book! It teaches us a lesson of working hard to accomplish your dream, to be loyal and trust your friends , and the importance of family. It will make you feel grateful for your lifestyle and your family. This emotional roller coaster you go on while reading the book is worth it. This is the best book ever!!!!
                • tikiman
                  tikimanFriday, March 17, 2017 at 8:50 am
                  The best book
                  • ailen boyFriday, March 17, 2017 at 8:49 am
                    AWSOME but sad
                    • isabell20
                      isabell20Wednesday, December 2, 2015 at 3:56 am44 stars
                      I really enjoyed this book and it was kinda interesting to me. This book was telling me some what I never heard before. First I chose this book because I just saw the character of this book was called “Isabel” and also we need to read a book about real hero. I kinda liked the character’s name called “Isabel” what it is same as me. This book is very realistic what about the slaves and fighting for freedom. It is really common story, but it was really impressive. The Ruth, who is the hero of Isabel he was also cool for me. But the story is a little boring at the front part.