Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 3n/a2.58686

A funny graphic-novel series by New York Times bestselling author Aaron Reynolds!

His grandpa invented fire. His dad invented the wheel. How will Caveboy Dave leave his mark?

Dave Unga-Bunga has always been more scrawny than brawny. This is a major problem when your village expects you to become a meat-bringer. At age twelve, all young cave-people must stalk through the eerie mushroom forests for a prehistoric beast the village can feast on. Dave would much rather invent stuff for a better life, though—like underwear to make loincloths less itchy and cutlery to make eating less filthy. Can Dave save his group by inventing the perfect defense against a bloodthirsty pokeyhorn? Or will he MEET HIS DOOM?

First in a new series, More Scrawny Than Brawny delivers irresistible characters, big thrills, and even bigger laughs.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on November 1, 2016 by Viking Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 045147547X
ISBN-13: 9780451475473
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • adele marekoThursday, November 29, 2018 at 2:41 pm
    nice book but the thing is that i cant see it probaly
    • ??????Thursday, November 29, 2018 at 2:34 pm
      this is interesting but not that much.
      • yo gurl kylaThursday, November 1, 2018 at 9:49 am
        cool
        • iwanttowin
          iwanttowinTuesday, October 31, 2017 at 6:10 pm55 stars
          Best book! I had the author came into my class and talked about it. Rate it 5 stars!
          • markiplyier
            markiplyierWednesday, August 23, 2017 at 11:48 am
            5 stars I love it
            • arielmosho
              arielmoshoWednesday, August 9, 2017 at 10:16 am
              i have this book at home!!!!!
              • Goodgirl758536Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at 12:39 am
                I luv it
                • lucasb2007
                  lucasb2007Thursday, January 19, 2017 at 5:18 pm55 stars
                  I really loved everything about this book. The author was able to put goofiness into the story by making it a cave boy using the stuff of today. I also like how the illustrator drew the characters throughout the book. It's comic book style and the characters are fun and goofy looking. It's mostly about a boy who has to participate in a group activity with his community.
                  • djkj
                    djkjWednesday, January 18, 2017 at 12:44 pm55 stars
                    I like this book because it had a lot of pictures to go with the writing. Sometimes too much writing can bore me. This is one of my favorite books. Dave protects his friends. The same way i protect my friends.
                    • super10
                      super10Friday, January 6, 2017 at 6:35 pm55 stars
                      When I first saw this book, I thought it was your average, run of the mill, prehistoric fiction book. But when I finished it, I knew that this was a book that I would reread over and over again! In this book, Caveboy Dave, dreams to be a big time engineer. But when he and his friends are thrown into the wild, expected to kill 6 deadly beasts, he is hesitant to go. Will he come back victorious? Or will he suffer dreaded defeat? You'll have to read to find out! I would definitely recommend this book to a friend who loves engineering, or one who just loves a good laugh. This was a book I loved, and I'm sure you'll love it too!