Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.265501
Jonah and Katherine come face to face with Albert Einstein in the fifth book of the New York Times bestselling The Missing series.

Jonah and Katherine are accustomed to traveling through time, but when learn they next have to return Albert Einstein’s daughter to history, they think it’s a joke—they’ve only heard of his sons. But it turns out that Albert Einstein really did have a daughter, Lieserl, whose 1902 birth and subsequent disappearance was shrouded in mystery. Lieserl was presumed to have died of scarlet fever as an infant. But when Jonah and Katherine return to the early 1900s to fix history, one of Lieserl’s parents seems to understand entirely too much about time travel and what Jonah and Katherine are doing. It’s not Lieserl’s father, either—it’s her mother, Mileva. And Mileva has no intention of letting her daughter disappear.
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on September 4, 2012 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 141698982X
ISBN-13: 9781416989820
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • eybook2018
    eybook2018Friday, May 24, 2019 at 1:55 pm
    This book mixes in with history and action stirred up with mystery. Through the times when you could do nothing the story of a brother sister and a friend starts a big paradox of tiime travel.
    • hellen13
      hellen13Monday, December 22, 2014 at 10:58 am55 stars
      This book was very awesome!. Its about Einstein making things wrong (I don't really know but JB said that in the book). I wonder how time didn't flow in the time Hollow or shall i say that there wasn't any time dimension in the Time Hollow. Why didn't JB tell the other time travelers that he was the son of Mileva (Einstein's wife). I can't wait when the next book in the series will come.
      • waterfalls
        waterfallsMonday, November 24, 2014 at 2:48 pm55 stars
        Jonah and Katherine are accustomed to traveling through time, but when learn they next have to return Albert Einstein’s daughter to history, they think it’s a joke—they’ve only heard of his sons. But it turns out that Albert Einstein really did have a daughter, Lieserl, whose 1902 birth and subsequent disappearance was shrouded in mystery. Lieserl was presumed to have died of scarlet fever as an infant. But when Jonah and Katherine return to the early 1900s to fix history, one of Lieserl’s parents seems to understand entirely too much about time travel and what Jonah and Katherine are doing. It’s not Lieserl’s father, either—it’s her mother, Mileva. And Mileva has no intention of letting her daughter disappear
        • narutoplaysmc
          narutoplaysmcMonday, October 13, 2014 at 9:18 pm
          Im starting this book soon
          • leviackerman
            leviackermanWednesday, September 3, 2014 at 7:39 am55 stars
            its awesome how timetravel works in this book
            • jmpanda14
              jmpanda14Monday, May 26, 2014 at 9:15 am44 stars
              This book is a really excellent mystery! This book is about kids who were kidnapped from the past going back to when Albert Einstein was still alive. I recommend this book to people who love mysteries!
              • xxpish
                xxpishTuesday, March 26, 2013 at 1:39 pm55 stars
                When time freezes in Jonah’s 7th grade science class, he knows something’s wrong. Five minutes later, Jonah and Katherine are speeding through time. They are in the year 1903, right next to Albert and Mileva Einstein themselves. When Mileva sees the Elucidator floating in thin air, she grabs it and shoves it in her pocket. She goes on a long journey to see her eighteen-month old child, Lieserl with Jonah and Katherine following her, and she realizes that they are there. They have gotten caught. With Mileva now having the knowledge of time-travel, will Jonah and Katherine be able to save history? And with a thirteen year old Lieserl in place of the eighteen-month old one, will they be able to keep Lieserl secret, and Mileva’s mouth shut? In an epic pageturner with shocking information revealed, Will history be in ruins, or will they be able to save the mess they made? What I thought about it: I did not want to read Caught. After I read Torn, I did not want to continue the series. But, I wanted to give Margaret Peterson Haddix another chance, so I continued the series. And I’m glad I did. I really enjoyed Caught. It might’ve been because it involved the Einsteins, and it was cool reading about their early life, as well as their later life in the Author’s Note. I love the Author’s Note in all of the books, it just gives you the fascinating history behind the story. I also really like the idea of time freezing; it sounds like a made-up thing, but this book makes it seem real. Then there’s the part where Mileva sees her daughter eleven years older than she was a second before. Imagine that happening to you; I think you would at least have a heart attack. There are so many interesting concepts in this book that it makes you think. Haddix is a very great author and I am glad she has redeemed herself with this novel that is hard to stop reading. So, find out if history collapses and read this book!
                • doctorwhofan9
                  doctorwhofan9Wednesday, February 12, 2014 at 4:18 pm55 stars
                  Wow don't tell the whole book dude. Spoiler Alert! Although I have read the book already