Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 3 - 5U4.566948
Another brilliantly evocative portrait of modern life from the mega bestseller Jacqueline Wilson.

Floss’s parents split up when she was younger and she now has to split up her week, spending five days with her mum, her mum’s new boyfriend and her new baby half-sister. The other two days Floss spends with her dad, helping him to run his greasy spoon café. But then their simple arrangement is thrown into disarray when Floss’s mum decides to move to Australia. Floss has to choose whether to go with her or stay with her dad. She picks her dad and embarks on a new, exciting life with him, joining a travelling fair and running a candy-floss stand.

Candy Floss is another gripping and emotionally involving slice of family life from the award-winning, bestselling author and now, the new Children’s Laureate, Jacqueline Wilson.
Paperback, 352 pages
Published on September 2, 2008 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 0312384181
ISBN-13: 9780312384180
12 Book Reviews
  • x.cvia.xThursday, February 11, 2021 at 4:20 am
    I absolutely love this book! It’s really interesting since it’s about a girl called Floss. Her parents split up. She lives with her brother Tiger and her Mum and her mums boyfriend and her Dad lives alone. One day her mums boyfriend gets a job in Australia and they have to live there for 6 months but Floss doesn’t want to go because she doesn’t want to leave her best friend Rhiannon behind and her Dad because she knew she’ll miss him and he’s lonely whereas her Mum has Tiger and her boyfriend. Sadly her dads poor and loads of things go downhill. Many unexpected events. Really recommend this book!
    • cats44
      cats44Tuesday, January 29, 2019 at 12:41 am55 stars
      It was a great book. Floss starts buy living with her mum and then her stepdad gets a job in Australia so they have to go there but floss wants to stay with her dad. Read the book to find out more.
      • ogrhinoqueen
        ogrhinoqueenFriday, June 8, 2018 at 6:28 pm44 stars
        I love this book it is quite sad in some bits though, every time i read it it makes me want more! 4.5 stars.
        • mooty
          mootyThursday, August 28, 2014 at 6:17 pm55 stars
          I absolutely loved this book! It has some awesoe vocab and it it alltogether thrilling! It just leaves you hanging and makes you want to carry on and read more!
          • wow777
            wow777Saturday, February 1, 2014 at 1:02 am33 stars
            I read this book a long time ago but I could never forget it! It's about a girl with divorced parents. She loves the funfair and candy floss! I loved this book and recommend it to ages 10-14. It's a great book and hope u all enjoy it!
            • safrani
              safraniFriday, August 16, 2013 at 1:31 pm55 stars
              This is a really cool book but I'm not going to give too much away...
              • zeb
                zebFriday, May 31, 2013 at 12:50 am
                its such a cool book I think this is the best book I've ever read from Jacqueline Wilson
                • missminimonster
                  missminimonsterSaturday, October 27, 2012 at 12:04 pm
                  its great to see how much people sometimes love their dads. I would of went with my mum. It was a great book
                  • rara
                    raraMonday, September 17, 2012 at 11:01 am55 stars
                    i actually was eating candyfloss while i was reading!!! :)
                    • charles_tialene_bubz
                      charles_tialene_bubzTuesday, November 15, 2011 at 8:58 pm
                      I love this book while reading it, Candyfloss has to decide who to go with her dad or mum she decides to stay with her dad and run the cafe with him until......................