Calling My Name, by debut author Liara Tamani, is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self—ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros.

This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, Texas, and deftly and beautifully explores the universal struggles of growing up, battling family expectations, discovering a sense of self, and finding a unique voice and purpose.

Told in fifty-three short, episodic, moving, and iridescent chapters, Calling My Name follows Taja on her journey from middle school to high school. Literary and noteworthy, this is a beauty of a novel that deftly captures the multifaceted struggle of finding where you belong and why you matter.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on October 24, 2017 by Greenwillow Books
ISBN-10: 0062656864
ISBN-13: 9780062656865
2 Book Reviews
  • carebear0518
    carebear05189 months55 stars
    Amazing book about a girl who feels insecure in her first year of middle school but you get to read how she turned to a amazing young lady
    • lilabug
      lilabugabout 2 years55 stars
      Great book but it is definitely for older kids like teens maybe. It is a beautiful story and it is beautifully written and has beautiful poems in between each section of the book.