Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 4n/a3.959830
A classic boy-and-dog tale in the tradition of Old Yeller

Tyrone "Li'l T" Roberts meets Buddy when his family's car accidentally hits the stray dog on their way to church. Buddy turns out to be the dog Li'l T's always wished for--until Hurricane Katrina comes to New Orleans and he must leave Buddy behind. After the storm, Li'l T and his father return home to find a community struggling to rebuild their lives--and Buddy gone. But Li'l T refuses to give up his quest to find his best friend. From the author of the BBYA Top Ten selection The Great Wide Sea comes a powerful story of hope, courage, and knowing when to let go.
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on September 13, 2012 by Viking Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0670014036
ISBN-13: 9780670014033
8 Book Reviews
  • BeCaringWednesday, January 23, 2019 at 12:37 pm
    it sounds good.I want to read it now!!!
    • Lol24Monday, September 24, 2018 at 11:07 am
      I liked this book it was a good book I thought it was sad though cause the dog had a broken leg.
      • lol12Wednesday, April 27, 2016 at 10:50 am
        i have this book and have read it and is one of my favorite books i was about to cry at the end of it but i held myself back
        • straywolf33
          straywolf33Wednesday, March 9, 2016 at 9:13 am
          Buddy is a beautiful & heartwarming book about how far a boy will go for the dog he loves. This book is amazing and i think you would loved to read it. THANK YOU
          • 10039744
            10039744Wednesday, March 2, 2016 at 9:29 am55 stars
            I love this book i cried in the ending i love dogs. Some parts were funny. i love lil't he was so funny.
            • smileyman
              smileymanWednesday, December 16, 2015 at 6:23 am
              five stars
              • smileyman
                smileymanWednesday, December 16, 2015 at 6:22 am
                i like this book i recomend this book
                • macrol
                  macrolTuesday, December 15, 2015 at 7:17 am55 starsFeatured
                  This book is much more real life and relatable than any other dog book. In my book Buddy a kid named Lil’T who already has a rough life, goes through some more rough time when he decides to get a dog of his own. The dog's name is Buddy. This book takes place in New Orleans, Louisiana. A conflict that he faces is Hurricane Katrina and having to leave his dog behind. When he goes back after the hurricane Buddy is missing! Lil'T really wants to go and look for Buddy but his family thinks that they should first find shelter and a place to live. In this book the antagonist is definitely the hurricane but also Lil'Ts family keeps switching between protagonist and antagonist from different situations. The protagonists are Lil'T and Buddy. Another conflict is that Lil'T has to make a life changing decision for both him and Buddy. Overall I really liked and enjoyed this book. I have read it so many times because of how much I enjoy the story. I really recommend this book and it is a great free read and independent book to enjoy.